Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 30, 2014
A lovely hotel with a private white sandy beach and clear blue sea. An unusual aspect is the fact you are allocated your own umbrella and sun beds on the beach so no fighting for a place to relax. The food is lovely and plentiful you will not go hungry and half board is an absolute must. They will let you swap your evening meal for lunch if you want to go into alghero for an evening which again is a must. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is to much hassle for them. The only negative is this hotel holds weddings and you have no chance of getting to sleep before 1am and we were unlucky that 2 weddings were performed in our 5 night stay .It did spoil our stay to a point but this is our only negative about this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Not a true 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
When booking, please be aware that there is not much else in the vicinity of this hotel except for pine forest. Your meals will need to be had at the hotel unless you hire a car and drive into town. Compared to other hotels in the area, this hotel is ok and hence they class themselves as a 4 star. However, if you book expecting it to be a true 4 star with a luxurious feel to it then you will surely be disappointed. I would suggest you don't book in for a standard room as you will be horrified at the size of the room and how basic it is. I booked a standard twin room at nearly £200 per night and was horrified at the kind of room we were given. I spent 1.5 hours on the phone to expedia to try get a decent room arranged. Beware that the hotel will ask you for a minimum of £50 extra per night if you ask for a room change. The £200 a night is way more than I would be prepared to pay for the room we ended up with - i would pay £80 for a room like that. The hotel staff are friendly but not really helpful. The swimming pool is pretty small and conveniently located near a rickety metal bridge and fire exit stairs - not particularly pretty to look at! I would also like to point out that this is not a true all inclusive like on a resort - you will only get your 3 meals - nothing extra. Overall, pretty disappointing and the reviews are misleading. Beware!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry to read you did not have an unforgettable experience in our hotel. However, we need to point out he following: Room: the room you booked was the smaller one and it was the economy room. We offer bigger rooms of course, but have a different price. Location: we are right on the beach, Le Bombarde beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches here in Alghero. Near the hotel you'll find some beach bars or a pizzeria. Should you need more restaurants we suggest to go to Alghero old town, 9 kms away from here. You have the public bus stop right in front of the hotel to go to Alghero. All inclusive: kindly note that we are not an all inclusive hotel. We offer every kind of service according to guest's preferences and needs. We offer buffet breakfast, lunch in the main reastaurant with daily menù and à a la carte, and dinner. Beverages are always excluded. Thank you anyway for sharing your experience with us. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Caron hannafrom northern Ireland

holiday to Sardinia

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Recently spent a week in hotel dei pini near alghero. Location of hotel on beach was beautiful. Staff all very friendly. Breakfast in the mornings was very good, although finished quite early at 10am. The hotel itself was out of the town quite a bit. Definitely needed a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Yes, if you want to discover the incredible surroundings around the hotel and Alghero, we suggest hiring a car. Otherwise public bus can be used, but please read before buses timetables, so that you know if it's wothwhile or if it's better to rent a car. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Hotel Is a DUMP! Small rooms, upcharges galore.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: nothing.
Cons: customer service, provide towels,
Location: we went to alghero and enjoyed the sites there.
Nowhere on the site does it say this hotel is in Fertlilia, not even in Alghero. Upon arrival we were given a very small outdated room but we had no choice but to take it. When we went to check out in the am (at 6am) as we wanted to get the heck out, they wanted to charge us an extra 120 euros becuase our son (8) was with us. He did not get a bed nor a breakfast and we checked in at 6pm and checked out 12 hours later. Also there check out is 10am which is pretty early. they then told us beach towels are 4 euros each (the only 4star hotel to propose such a charge) and when we tried to lay at the beach they told us the first row is reservered and we couldn't sit there. everything was an upcharge and super cheesy. they advertise live music so we thought what the heck we'll go see it. that was a mistake-- it was an italian lady, singing karoke to a bad rendition of obla di obla da by the beatles. Americans will not consider this a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very sorry you did not have a good experience in our hotel. Hotel dei Pini is located at Località Le Bombarde, Alghero, italy, as you might have read before booking your holiday. We are 9 kms away from Alghero old town and from Alghero airport. In our hotel double rooms and triple rooms have a different price and that's why you were asked to pay a difference. We do give all our guests a bed and of course a rich buffet breakfast, so your sonslept in one of our beds and had breakfast. We like to welcome people and try to make them feel at home. As regards evening entertainment yes, we have differnt artists and one of the ladies is italian and sings national and international songs. We thank you for sharing your experinece with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rossfrom Notts, UK

Excellent place to relax

Posted Jun 29, 2014
A lovely place right on it's own private beach You will need a car as it is a bit secluded but the hotel is very clean, the staff are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. We traveled a little on the main land then came here for a few days to relax before going home and it was idylic
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Danfrom London

Perfect location for a beautiful beach

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a perfect location for La Bombarde beach, looking directly across the water to the city of Alghero and mountains in the distance, which is especially beautiful during a sunset dinner from the beachside restaurant. The water is beautiful and the sand is very nice. However, without a car, you're basically locked into staying there at the resort without access to anything else outside of the hotel, including a different place to eat, except for the tiny snack bars on the beach, which seem to serve less-than-fresh light food. The beach is beautiful, no doubt about it, and the service was very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms are small, but meet their needs. Tiny showers, but again, not a major complaint. The decor is a bit plain, but really is fine and again, you're there for the setting, and that can't be beat with it's location right on the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay of a few days, as its faults or downsides are just small matters compared to the positives of its location right on the beach. However, a longer stay might not have such a high recommendation, as the food was not as good as what is available in town and because it's tough to reach anything else in the area, you're stuck there for the duration of your stay without a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Dear guest thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read you had a nice stay. As regards food we serve fresh food and you have different options in our main restaurant facing the sea: daily menù o à al carte menù. Otherwise you can visit some of the beach restaurants or the pizzeria which is 200m far from our hotel. We are 9 kms away from Alghero old town, which can be easily reached by taxi, by car (the car rental company delivers cars in the hotel) or with the public bus which has the bus stop right in front of the hotel. Last but not least you could reach Alghero with one of our electric bikes :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moderate hotel with staff with attitude...

Posted May 2, 2014
It was very disappointing to experience that the hotel manager had a very bad attitude to customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
wow, we are surprised to read such a review. We offer attentive service and Our goal is offer unforgettable and positive, of course, experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I do not recommend this hotel at all

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: On a beach
Cons: Everything else
Location: Not ideal
I do not normally review, but very disappointed in this hotel. Such that the reviews on this site I do not feel are reflective at all. Pros Beach is really excellent Cons Overpriced and frankly below average food Hotel is very dated, and has not been updated in decades Service is poor and clueless, we weren't informed of any excursions despite asking for ways to explore the island (limited public transport), until on the last day when a local tour operator who worked with the hotel asked us. Unfortnately, by this point it was too late to do anything. Location is very poor for seeing the island, middle of nowhere. Very poor value for money compared to other hotels in Europe Rooms are very small
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are really sorry to read you did not enjoyed your stay at all. We are happy if our guest is happy. However I do not agree with several Things you wrote: 1Service: our aim is to see happy guests and we work at Hotel dei Pini to help guest to make the most of their stay. Not only staff will inform you about excursions. But also, you will find written information about the magical places you can explore around. Maybe you did not see the information which is right in front of the reception? 2You came in August which is high season and public transport is not limited. Public buses passes at least 3/4 times in the morning and 3/4 times in the evening with the bus stop right in front of the hotel since Hotel dei Pini is located in Bombarde Beach, which is one of the most renowned and visited Beaches in Alghero. Finally we are not in the middle of nowhere. We are 9 kms away from Alghero's airport and from alghero old town. Alghero is one of the most visited cities in the island that is why we have so many national and international flights. Anyway, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonyfrom London, UK

Very enjoyable week at del Pini

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Fantastic location: You walk down a few steps from the terrace onto a private beach: white sand, calm, warm waters etc. Very friendly, helpful staff; good buffet breakfast. Dinners were a bit expensive although the quality was excellent. You need a car to get into Alghero, sites and restaurants etc, but it's easy just to chill out at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thanking you for sharing your happy experience at Hotel dei Pini :) We are delighted to know you had a great time. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizfrom Germany

Nice hotel on a beautiful beach.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Hotel has a private beach that is excellent. Your lounge chair are reserved for your entire stay. Dinner at the hotel was not good, I arrived late in the afternoon and decided just to eat at the hotel restaurant. Food wasn't great and service was rushed. However there is a great restaurant 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Hotel is about 10 minute from town and the public transportation is kind be a nightmare. Bus arrives on time from the hotel but when trying to catch one from the city, it leaves late or doesn't arrive. Overall this was a nice place to stay, the private beach was wonderful. Good place to relax and enjoy the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Romina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read you did not like food it is a pity since we have so much choice and varierty with the daily and à la carte menù. And in the rare case you should not find something you like our chefs might try to prepare one of you favourite dishes. We regret also you had a bad experience with public transportation which generally works well.