Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom SW France

Beautiful location, food unexceptional

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Wonderful location, comfortable room. Dinner on the first night good, on the second night my fish was so small, my husband shared his dinner with me. (I do not have a large appetite) The owners ignored us totally - to the extent of passing on the stairs with no acknowledgement. We wondered whether we had offended them in some way? But I can't imagine how. The staff were exceptionally helpful and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds uk

Out of the way but ideally located

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: It's situation overlooking steep valleys covered in vineyards, including it's own! Incidentally it's own wine was excellent.
Cons: Couldn't fault it
Location: Ideally situated for visiting the Douro Valley, 20 minutes away at Pinhao, a charming little town, where boat trips are available
Bit of a struggle to find the hotel but once there the overall experience was very pleasing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bremen

Ein traumhaftes Plätzchen mitten in den Weinbergen

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Der persönliche Service
Location: Mitten in den Weinbergen des Dourotals. Man kann die umliegenden Orte besichtigen, Wandern und Flussfahrten unternehmen.
Wir hatten sehr erholsame Tage im Hotel Rural Quinta do Silval. Es hätte nicht schöner sein können.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfekt

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Tyvärr hade inte Hotel.com meddelat vår ankomst till Quinta do silval, men det fanns ju plats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice quiet base from which to explore the area. The owner was lovely and the staff worked hard. This may be good or bad, depending on your perspective, but the wifi is not available in the rooms farther from the restaurant/reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decevant!

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Vue imprenable sur le vignoble du Douro, mais c'est tout. On se croit dans un hotel fantôme. Service inexistant, personne a qui demander un seul cafe même. Bar fermé en plein mois d'aout! Mais le pire, c' est la cuisine: pour un prix irrationel, on reste vraiment sur sa faim. Décevant, surtout après tous ces commentaires élogieux! Really disappointing: poor sevice ( two staff members for about 20 clients), extremely expensive dinner, and very ordinary. Nice view and plesasant pool though, but not worth driving all the time up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by hlarkfrom Sweden

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel at Castello Sao Jorge. Try getting a room facing the alley (e.g. rooms 6 and 7) as the castle peacocks (yes, there are guardian peacocks...) can be a bit loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dominicfrom Montréal

Emplacement exceptionnel

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service attentionné, superbe vue, repas excellents
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annefrom Denmark

Fantastic place! We are def. returning!

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a wonderful stay! Idyllic, a view like u have never seen before, great facilities and rooms, good authentic food, extremely nice and accomodating staff as well as Oo yeah it's a **** vineyard! Thank you Quinta! See you for the harvest one day.