Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dave from Hornell

Convenient, good rate

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here one night after skiing at Holiday Valley. The hotel was fine and provided what I needed. The room was clean, the bathroom dated but clean. Hot water worked but took awhile - not a big deal with a little patience. Dining room was closed that night. Chinese or pizza were nearby options and ordered for delivery. I'd stay again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Deb Haire from Erie

Dudley Great Ski Stay

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It would have been nice to have the breakfast that occurs on weekends; however, the staff recommended a local place that was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hutchison from Florida

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great bed and restaurant service. Room could have been cleaner...cobwebs on walls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Pam from Salamanca

Dudley

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Has a shuttle to the casino
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Brad from Pa

Close to casino

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice historic hotel,right price for the room,and no frills
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Dumpley" would be a more appropriate name

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly clerk who tried to address our concerns - towels and clogged sink. Proximity to Holiday Valley - less than 15 minute drive
Cons: Just about everything else. Particularly cleanliness
Location: Not much in Salamanca unless you like to gamble. There's a casino nearby and a shuttle from the hotel that runs all night.
Arrived for a one-evening stay for skiing at Holiday Valley with my two kids and a friend. Friendly nighttime manager. Other girls (employees or friends of the manager) were hanging in the lobby and smoking outside the front door. Older budget hotel that looks the part. Wouldn't expect to pay more than $50 for a place like this but the proximity to Holiday Valley and holiday week were probably responsible for pushing the rate to $120 including taxes. Hallways and non-smoking rooms smelled like smoke, but this is pretty normal for a hotel this age. Upon entering the room things really fell apart. The room was decent sized, but... - carpets were very dirty - cigarette burns on bedspread - Lamp bulbs burned out - Bathroom sink was completely clogged - Heating controls didn't work and the room was 82 degrees - HAIRS ON and IN BEDDING - don't even want to talk about what kind they looked like I realize that cheaper hotels cannot live up to newer, more expensive hotels in terms of amenities, but there is no excuse for a room and bedding to be so filthy, or for a sink to be clogged - regardless of price. Next time I'll shell out the $$ to stay in Holiday Valley
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelly from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel...Dated, but charmng

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The yesteryear charm
Cons: Some updates could be done to the rooms and stained carpeting needed to be replaced because it made the room feel dirty.
Location: We are planning to come stay again to see what more ther is to do besides the casino for concerts. We look forward to exploring Salamanca!
We stayed one night at the Dudley Hotel and I have to say this; It is a very old building and doesn't catch your eye from the exterior, but once you enter the doors you are greeted by friendly accommodating staff and a charm from days gone by. The rooms are dated, but that adds to the over all charm of the hotel. I would say this though... The room we stayed in had a HUGE stain in the carpet that I would have probably had replaced before it was put into service. Other than that I have to say it was an overall nice stay. The breakfast was very good, but the day we were there the heat in the main floor wasn't working and it was very cold in the restaurant. Good job y'all on keeping the history of your hotel alive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Buffalo NY

Unique, Warm, and Inviting!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast buffet was tremendous value for the price, and served with a smile in a quaintly decorated mock-up of a railroad car from yesteryear.
Cons: There were so many nice touches, but in time, I'd like to see even more artistic expression - so much potential here!
Location: Skiing; great old buildings; located just down road from Casino (convenient shuttle) which has nice cheap day spa; grocery, drug, coffee nearby.
A heartfelt thank you to the proud owner of The Dudley Hotel for going over and beyond to make our experience pleasurable! The welcoming lobby is adorable and offers 'round-the-clock coffee and interesting browsing - we immediately felt at home. We pulled right up to the front door, and a manageable-sized luggage cart & convenient elevator were ready to assist. The ambience was more like a funky bed & breakfast, but without the senior citizen feel to it. Tables & chairs in the hallways gave me a nice spot to Sudoku in the mornings in my pajamas without waking my roommate. Our King-bed room was quite large, with enough furniture to make ourselves at home. The bed was firm and comfortable, with clean linens and warm blankets. We had a view from our two huge windows of the old train station across the way. The shower was piping hot with excellent water pressure. A power strip next to the desk assured our charging needs, and wifi was available. Towels were clean and in great condition. All of the basics were covered, but in addition to that, there was a history you could really feel. This place has so many stories to tell. It's so nice to be a part of your surroundings when you travel, rather than be squirrelled away in a tourist-trap-y high-rise or a stinky & overpriced smoke-filled casino room. The TLC here was obvious, in both the holiday decorations and employee demeanor. We only regret we weren't able to stay for the fish fry or enjoy the on-site pub.