Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Convient

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Convient Location. Close to the highway.
Location: The reason for the trip was a graduation at Alfred State College. There's really nothing going on in Alfred, NY.
The Hotel was not far from Alfred State College as we were there for my niece's graduation. We booked for two nights but only stayed one night as my niece had to clear out of her room. We didn't find out until the night before, so we didn't give prior notification that we were leaving the day before. Is there anyway that we could get a refund for the second day? I would appreciate a respond to this question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joseph from Upstate NY

Overnight stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed overnight for a quick visit to Alfred University. Hotel room including bathroom was clean, well-heated and staff was very friendly. Suggestions would be to add other items to breakfast bar such as yogurt and decaf coffee. Good place to stay for an overnight trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Was just an overnight. Room was extremely cold when we got there. The heat was completely off. It took a while to warm up. When I called the desk no one answred.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maureen from New Rochelle

0 Stars - DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
We were fearful, disgusted, and hugely disappointed. I booked a non-smoking double room with 2 beds and a flatscreen TV for my daughter and me for a weekend at an equestrian show at Alfred U. Based on prior reviews, my expectations were not high. However . . . Upon arriving, we were told they had overbooked, so we'd been "upgraded" to a "suite" at "no extra charge." What we got for our "upgrade" was a filthy, smoker-smelly efficiency apartment. The floors were dirty (apparently the mop that was left by the front door had not been used), there were glass rings and ashes on the bed stand, the telephone was covered in grime, there was only one bed, and the big old non-flatscreen TV had very fuzzy reception on every single channel. The towels and sheets appeared to be clean so we didn't leave because they had nothing better to offer (nor would they send anyone to clean) and we had no other options (but to sleep in the car). Our sleepless night couldn't end soon enough. Horrible experience. And no refund offered, yet!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oneonta, NY

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Front desk and breakfast
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Nothing there.....we were there for a horse show at Alfred U.
The people in the office were pleasant and the morning breakfast was decent, but the room was very outdated and dirty. We wouldn't stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Raymond

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Not recommended!

Posted Feb 3, 2015
We got there and the computers were down. After the 10 minute wait I had while the girl was on the phone. We got to put into a smoking room that was not what we asked for. They then moved us to another room. When the room was painted the curtains were clearly left up and got painted too. The shower hot water lasted for about 6 minutes and we had 2 of us in the room. Very disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christopher from New Jersey

Hornell Econolodge

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is an old property in need of updating, but the area economy wouldn't support the expenditure. It is adequate for a place to sleep and the free breakfast offers oatmeal and waffles for hot food. There are few restaurant options but the ones nearby are fairly good.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tim from Fairfield CT

steer clear!

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
do not stay there! Apparently there has been problems with vagrants breaking into and using rooms, as evident by the used toilet in our so called clean room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CELINE from france

juste pour une nuit d escale

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Chambre trės spacieuse, calme, pour le petit déjeuner il ne faut pas traîner ou il n y a plus rien à manger. Il n y a rien à voir autour.