Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Location good
Cons: New beds, showers, staff and turn the heating down. Also the food in the restaurant was average and breakfast bring same old average food every day.
Location: Good location, pretty spot and central to go to Newcastle and Hadrians Wall.
The staff on the whole, with the exception of a lovely lady in the bar were uncaring and a bit surly. It was very hot everywhere to the extent we felt sick and had to go outside to cool down. We managed to turn the heating off in the bedroom and open the windows to make it bearable. The bed was small and very uncomfortable, lumpy and old although the bedding was new and good. The carpets in the main rooms all looked a bit old and tired and that was how I felt the hotel was as a whole, tired old and had had enough. The shower had no power and reminded me if hotels I had visitd in the 70s. We stayed for 4 nights and despite ringing ahead and booking in our dog when we got there they had to change our room as they hadn't taken note of this. We were very disappointed with the visit and would definitely not recommend or go there again. We had thought Best western had a certain reasonable standard, obviously We were wrong!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wa11

1 night stay

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Great hotel. Very clean, modern and spacious would defo recommed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow, Scotland

Relaxing hotel with pool close to Beamish

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Stayed in great room with 2 double beds. Full breakfast available. Swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna on site. Child friendly hotel. It would also be a lovely setting for a wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Nice hotel in beautiful setting...very pleasant and comfortable stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrisfrom North East of England

Great rural escape

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, decoration, food, spa next door
Cons: Rooms are not very well isolated (draft from windows and you can hear nearly every spoken words next door).
Location: Great escape: Derwant Resservoir is nice to walk around and Consett is woth a visit as well.
Nice peolple Cosy rooms and atmosphere is the hotel Lovely pub with good food (hat the house burger, very delicious) Big function rooms so a lot of guests in the hotel on weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jakefrom Aberdeenshire

Much improved on 2013 visit.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Was a bit worried about returning to this hotel after a mediocre stay last year. I am pleased to say that on this occasion it was much improved and a very enjoyable experience. There was an obvious improvement in both the food, service and accommodation. I will certainly return when next in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fit for purpose!

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Generally a pleasant stay in a comfortable large room but slightly tainted by a grubby bar area with average bar food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for a short stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Location: Sort of close to Hadrians wall country
Supper was good from he bar. The bathroom was very dated as was the rest of the décor. No flatscreen TV in the room only an old large box that was difficult to see from the bed,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geofffrom Wellingborough

excellent hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very satisfied with the hotel and the facilities. Our granddaughters thoroughly enjoyed to pool. The only criticism was that in our room (115) during the night when all was quiet we could hear people in the room above using their toilet - not nice!!!