Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from North East of England

Great rural escape

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Staff, decoration, food, spa next door
Cons: Rooms are not very well isolated (draft from windows and you can hear nearly every spoken words next door).
Location: Great escape: Derwant Resservoir is nice to walk around and Consett is woth a visit as well.
Nice peolple Cosy rooms and atmosphere is the hotel Lovely pub with good food (hat the house burger, very delicious) Big function rooms so a lot of guests in the hotel on weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jake from Aberdeenshire

Much improved on 2013 visit.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Was a bit worried about returning to this hotel after a mediocre stay last year. I am pleased to say that on this occasion it was much improved and a very enjoyable experience. There was an obvious improvement in both the food, service and accommodation. I will certainly return when next in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fit for purpose!

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Generally a pleasant stay in a comfortable large room but slightly tainted by a grubby bar area with average bar food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for a short stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Location: Sort of close to Hadrians wall country
Supper was good from he bar. The bathroom was very dated as was the rest of the d├ęcor. No flatscreen TV in the room only an old large box that was difficult to see from the bed,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geoff from Wellingborough

excellent hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very satisfied with the hotel and the facilities. Our granddaughters thoroughly enjoyed to pool. The only criticism was that in our room (115) during the night when all was quiet we could hear people in the room above using their toilet - not nice!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Northants

Exceptional service

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although this hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere, it is very close to all the sights you need to see. Service is paramount in this hotel and they excel at this. The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. The food is of a very high standard. Well worth visiting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Swindon

The hotel is in a good location but needs updating

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Location for us
Cons: See cons
Location: Beamish was great. South Shields beach and fair was great.
Pro's Good location Staff are friendly Breakfast quality of food was good Checkout was quick Rooms were big for a family Con's Rooms need updating Hot water in showers didnt work Staff were not always ready at breakfast Porter was not available for assistance with the bags
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hairs in the bed, dirty rooms and poor service

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I checked in and was given a cottage, this made me think WOW a whole cottage for me? Then i got inside the cottage and it was old musky with damp smells. The kitchen absolutely stunk, i didn't even feel comfortable sleeping there. Went to go to bed and the bed was full of hairs! Told the manager who promptly checked the bed and confirmed my concern, then proceeded to take me to other rooms, which all had hairs in the beds! about 6 beds were checked in total before we finally found a clean one. The manager was very apologetic but with that kind of problem i would have expected a more amicable resolution..Wont be going back to this one. If you do go, make sure you stop in the main hotel and avoid the cottages like the plague!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable stay

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent value - good service and comfort