Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington De.

I've had better

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: I liked the indoor pool. and the air jets in the tubs in the room.
Cons: Better customer service, Upgrade cleaning crew, Upgrade free breakfast (add waffles)
Location: We went to Dorney Park, Perkins, Ice Cream World and Office Depot. We went past TGIF, Carriba's, and Weis
I visited this hotel from July 31th 2014 and left on August 3rd 2014. When I checked into the hotel the lady at the front desk was very rude. She asked me if I ever stayed w/ Howard Johnson and I told her no. She asked me again have I ever stayed w/ any of Howard Johnson hotel's and I told her no. She gave me a run down about check in & out, breakfast and pool hours. I asked her where my room was when she gave me my key and she said down there.There was two different hallways and she never said which one. I asked her again and she rolled her eyes and then showed me what direction to go in. I was the only person checking in so I don't understand why she was so short with me. We went to Dorney park Friday and stayed the entire morning, we got back at the hotel around 1pm est. and our room was still dirty. We checked w/ front desk and the cleaning people several times in order to get our room clean. We asked for an additional trash can since we are a family of 5 and never go it.The next day they did not come and clean up our room until after 3pm we had to create our own trash can. The free breakfast was terrible. I'm happy this Perkins is next to this hotel but disappointed because I had to dish out more money to buy breakfast which was suppose to be free. The bagels where too dry and the cereal was stale. The pool was dirty and not cleaned properly. On the last day there we found something brown in the bottom of the pool and not sure what it was. That was enough pool time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Alright, because of location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, lighting, better door locks, and more breakfast variety, like fruit.
Location: Restaurants, Dorney Park, Cedar Crest College, and Mall shopping are in walking distance.
Place has all the bare necessities required, but no gym available. Place could use additional cleaning of room floor (rugs appear stained and or dirty) hallway floors, and stairwell floors. Place could use brighter painting and or lighting throughout 2nd floor areas. Door lock was loose and door opened when visitor across the hall opened door. Doors also do not have adequate barrier or sweep at base of door to prevent air, noise, or critters from coming inside. Cove base and door entrance surfaces on toilet room floor were incomplete and not sealed properly. Free continental breakfast was somewhat limited, but appreciated, because it was better than nothing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

OK hotel.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and the bed. The room temperature was just like we like it.
Cons: The smoke smell removed, the showers updated and rooms a little bigger.
Location: Dorney Park, lots of restaurants, parks and beautiful country side.
We were expecting more based on the info and pictures put on the web site. The room was small. The shower head was nasty looking. The hallway smelled smokey as our non-smoking room did I'm assuming because of the hallway smell.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Average

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It was okay for the price...but the hotel needs a mayor updating. It was like going back to the 90's.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Dirty hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Close to Dorney Park
Cons: A LOT!
Location: Dorney Park
We were very disappointed with this hotel. It is very run-down with dirty carpet. There was no hot water for showers even after customers complained. The breakfast is very minimal with hardly nowhere to sit. The sink area is very tight and no counter space to put your things and no towel racks to hang your hand towels. Don't waste your money here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel for the family

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Suites are large enough to accommodate the whole family. Breakfast is rather weak. Furnishings are old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Room smelled like pure cigarettes. The wall paper was peeling. Bathroom was not cleaned. There were kids running and screaming in the Hall till 1am Staff was not friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Ohio

Dorney stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Closenes to Dorney and food establisments
Cons: hallway carpet and lamps.
An older Hotel. Some updates needed. Thin walls, but clean and cared for. Indoor pool floor is slippery and you should not let your kids alone on that floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brett from Newburg

Bad day !

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have reviewed this hotel twice and gave it a thumbs up. But!!!!! This time I was lied to . My daughter is Autistic and she loves the pool . I was told the pool would be open the next day from the clerk. No go and asked for a refund. As I watched the same clerk fill the hot tub that morning and not even get a apology . Called the site that I booked the room AND the clerk told them that they told me it would be a week till the pool would be open.