Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford, England

City centre business hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Central for sightseeing and eating out
Cons: In house dining- opening times of cafeteria and restaurant not posted and only room service available on Sunday evening.
Good as base for tourism; not so good when having time to spare- lobby internal and no outside view. No area to sit outside building except roof-top pool area which obviously could be windy. No street parking in central area- very efficient hotel parking system (own underground facility) but pricing to match.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A total disaster. 40 years travelling and first re

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Disastrous! 40c outside and no ac in public areas for 3 days. 30 minutes to check in. Single glazing and paper thin walls. Got to room and ac kaput had to wait for it fixing. Only tv espana. Then first night power off on our floor when got back. Almeria is very agreeable place with nice people but after 40 years travelling and first ever review avoid Marriot here at all costs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bevofrom uk

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The hotel was great and in a fantastic location. Plenty of bars and restaurants on your doorstep. If you fancy a walk it's on 20 minutes to the beach. The rooms were immaculate and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Very nice

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Had a wonderful experience with this hotel; great location and service. Close to good food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with pool in the middle of town

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Our room was spacious with a large bathroom. The hotel is right in the middle of town and all restaurants and places of interest are close by.
Location: Almeria is a lovely town and the Alcazaba is spectacular. The beaches are long, wide and clean.
We had a large room overlooking the front of the hotel which could be a bit noisy, especially the sound of the garage door and lift, but this did not ruin our stay. The pool was smaller than we thought from the photos on the website but the terrace surrounding was large. We never did discover how you got the pool towels although we know they were available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fredfrom Bradenton, FL

Great three star hotel - four star...no.

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon request, they readily gave us a room with a fantastic view or the Alcazaba! Internet was strong and free. Lots of outlets for our devices. Valet parking 16 Euros. Plain decor in lobby and bar. Soiled indoor/outdoor carpet. Had to carry suitcases up one short flight of stairs to get to elevator (no help with that).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BCfrom Washington, DC

Almeria getaway

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The AC Almeria is a very comfortable hotel, with a helpful staff, and it is located in a great neighbourhood. You can walk to many restaurants, shopping, and to the boardwalk along the Sea. It was a perfect location for our family and we truly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Doctorfrom Ramsgate

Tired Hotel Well Located

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good central location. Garage door was broken so secure parking was not available. First room smelt very strongly of cigarette. Staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by John_Rugby UKfrom Broadway, Cotswolds, UK

Dark, dismal, dreary

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Sadly, not a lot
Cons: Not a lot given space constraints. The public rooms will always be dark and dismal. But breakfast could be other than ham, cheese and fruit.
Location: Don't holiday in Almeria but visit the castle ('Alcazaba' - beware pickpockets!) and the Archaeological Musem. The beach at nearby Aguadulce is great
This place is OK for an overnight stay, coming from or going to the airport, for example. But not to stay at. The rooms themselves are heartless shoe boxes and the views from them are the fronts or backs of adjacent uninteresting residential buildings.When you enter them, the first thing you want to do is to get out. Few TV channels to interest an English guest (no Sky, ITV, or BBC except World News) There's a pocket-sized pool on a grotty roof which is OK to cool down in (but not big enough to swim in) and although you can see the Castle ('Alcazaba') walls, who cares? By the way, if you visit the castle (and I did, and spent a pleasant hour or so looking round), beware pickpockets: entrance is free, but I left about 50 euros lighter. My other gripes: 1. the public rooms (TV lounge and restaurant) are gloomy caverns: no windows, no light 2. breakfast is charged and is basic continental: not good enough for the price 3. parking is impossible in central Almeria, and the daily parking charge soon builds up I stayed 6 nights here because the VITA Gran Hotel, just down the road opposite the ferry port and in a great position with good, bright public rooms, good free breakfast, decent pool and drinks terrace with great views, was only available to me for my first night's stay in Almeria. Even so, at the height of the season (mid August) I was upgraded to a spacious suite where I could imagine spending time relaxing, reading, watching TV ... No comparison
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Normanfrom South Yorkshire, UK

Location with substance

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Loads of bars,cafes,shops on the doorstep. Courteous/helpful staff
Cons: Lack of sunbeds around pool area.No kettle
Location: Near to old quarter, easy to visit Alcazaba,Cathedral. About a 15-20mins walk to beach,which is great when you get there.
Perfectly adequate hotel, great location a tremendous positive.The pool area certainly could have done with a few extra sunbeds.The rooms are fine, large floor to ceiling window.Air conditioning preset at a comfortably cool temperature.Overall impression, would stay there again.