Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from UK

A gem - far from the madding crowd!

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: The location, The comfort of the hotel (less than ten years old), the staff. the food and the service. Free wi fi
Cons: No ATM machine (and there wasn't one in the surrounding area either!
Location: Right by the sea. 15 mins from Almeria airport (but no plane noise). Very quiet surroundings.
Well managed hotel - far from the usual tourist part of Spain. Superb buffet food, excellent drinks (San Miguel on tap with house wine around 10 euros a bottle). Large swimming pool plus three smaller ones. Lots of sun beds. Plenty of space. Right by the sea. Comfortable, room. Staff friendly and helpful. Not much going on around the hotel - so this is for lovers of the quiet life - and the sun! Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful - but no entertainment

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: position
Cons: lack of entertainment
Location: peaceful beautiful
Nice hotel but a few year solder than when we last went and things are a little jaded. Little entertainment during the week. Old hus tv's - however they replaced with flat screen ones the day before we cam eback............
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a long stay

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The surroundings are great and the hotel is very comfortable, with a wide variety of meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Hotel Barcelo de Gata, El Toyo, Almeria, Spain

Posted Jun 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a very good property for those looking to spend time in the Cabo de Gata area or are looking for an overnight property fairly close to the Almeria Airport. The Cabo de Gata lighthouse, Nijar, and San Jose are all fairly close, if you have a rental car. Distances further afield to Aguas Amargs / Playa de los Muertos and the nudist beach at Vera Playa are not that far away. El Toyo has some restaurants on the marine parade (malecon) so you are not limited to hotel offerings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Unless your really into the all-inclusive style...

Posted May 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It is far from any amnities,the water in the shower was connected the other way around not as indicated. And the hotel wasn't full, but they put me in between 2 families with young kids. Not the relaxing time I was looking for ! You'll be better of in San José !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beach resort in the middle of no where

Posted Jun 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
The Barcelo is a family oriented beach resort in a area of development with other similar properties. It is lovely but once you are there you are there. The beach is pebble and rocky. Great place to sit and do nothing at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Will be returning here

Posted Aug 5, 2008
This place was very good! I found all the staff to be very friendly with all the staff at the front desk able to speak English while most of the other staff weren't too bad at English either. Regardless, it definitely helps if you can speak some Spanish (or at least try to speak Spanish). The staff were all very enthusiastic and attentive. The breakfast was great, lunch was ok and the dinner a touch overpriced, there's a strip of restaurants a five minute walk away that are a better option for dinner in my opinion. With the more popular restaurants some of the staff can speak English so if you can't speak Spanish you should be ok but as I mentioned before it's a definite help if you can speak Spanish. The activities they run throughout the day (e.g., archery) are quite fun Although it was right on the beach, there are are far nicer beaches if you travel east along the coast. I would recommend this place to family and friends for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Keynsham

Nice hotel in a good but very very quiet location.

Posted Apr 12, 2008
We stayed the first week of April so maybe it was a little eary in the season. It was very quiet and the hotel appeared to be empty which served a purpose as we both had work committments to attend to. Limited on things to do in the evening, a couple of nice bars just up the road, La Travista was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tonbridge

Staff very unfrendley, do not speak English

Posted Jun 16, 2007
Maintenance carried out around pool alday upsetting guests. No member of staff able to speek English
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place, but understaffed

Posted Jun 8, 2007
This was a nice resort, however it appears understaffed and unprofessional - perhaps that's just because we visited in the non-peak periods. Don't go there expecting anything to be done for you in a hurry when you request it... but, for the off-season price it was probably fair value. Other than that, a great location and very good facilities (particularly outdoor/pool areas).