Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Vancouver

Excellent hotel but difficult location for cars

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very central and had good facilities
Cons: The hotel could provide a better map, perhaps as a pdf on its web site. There are one way streets in the old city so finding it is difficult.
Location: It is a good location to tour the old city and the fortress
The hotel staff were excellent and extremely helpful. We had difficulty finding the hotel in the narrow one way streets near the cathedral at night. Finding the parking garage was even more of a challenge. Unless you have a GPS in your car, this can be a challenging hotel to find. Everything else about the hotel was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent Staff

Posted Nov 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed just one night at Hotel Catedral. We were very happy with the service of the front desk attendants and restaurant staff - they were eager to help us and went above and beyond what was necessary to meet our requests and were very forgiving of our faulty Spanish language skills. The hotel is located pretty centrally. We were able to walk to the harbor and the main stretch of restaurants and shops. I read someone's complaint about the loudness of the plaza in front of the hotel - I could see how that could be a problem if you want to keep your window open, but we found that the windows were extraordinarily good at cancelling outside noise. My only complaint - which has nothing to do with the hotel itself - was finding parking. Be advised that if you do stay at this hotel, you should call ahead and ask for directions to the nearest parking structure. Unless you GPS system is better than ours was (which it probably will be!). Also, know that this is not a luxury hotel, but for its price and good location, is a very good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Malvern

Hotel Catedral - stunning location

Posted Sep 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel, lovely room with huge bed, overlooking the cathedral. Really nice food and very welcoming staff. A bit away from other attractions though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stockholm, Sweden

Small but exclusive feel

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
A very nice smaller hotel (20-30 rooms) located right next to the cathedral. During the evenings, the hotel bar is located on the small square where the cathedral and hotel is situated at. Almeria is on and off somewhat rough and climate is of course very hot during the summer which is nice to come back to the air conditioned and surprisingly large room which included not only computer and sitting area but also a full size bathtub. We ended up staying an extra night, thanks to the high standard of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great access to restaurants

Posted Jun 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel was good. Position is great and rooms nice and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from spain

weekend break

Posted May 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
lovely small hotel right next to the Cathederal, bells go every hout til 12,but its nice to hear. bit noisy at night as wedding receptions on both nights and now people have to smoke outside they were very loud, having said that i would still stay here again just ask for a room on the other side of the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Newport UK

Lovely little hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2009
Great hotel on the Cathedral square, very friendly staff, very clean and well maintained. The restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner though the latter was a bit expensive. The sun terrace was very handy if you dont want to trek to the beach. As with everywhere in Almeria a few words of Spanish make your life much easier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2009
I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews about rude and unhelpful staff. However, what I found was very different. I suspect the difficulty that other people have encountered is with the language. There is very little English spoken at the hotel. In fact virtually none. My spanish is not great but it was enough to get by and they seemed to appreciate the effort. A number of people mentioned breakfast as being a problem. Breakfast is a little early for those on holiday so I wonder whether it had perhaps finished by the time those that have complained had got there. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast - hot food / fruit / pastry / cereals - the list goes on. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. There is a computer in every room to chack emails. The service at the bar is often a little slow and there really was no English spoken so you will need to get your phrase book out there! We were in Almeria for fiesta time (27/8/09 to 29/8/09). It was a wonderful weekend where all the locals were dressed in traditional clothes. There were bands playing in the streets and even performers on stilts! The town was realy buzzing all weekend. I would definately recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Better than expected

Posted Aug 7, 2009 on Hotels.com
I chose Hotel Catedral because it was one of the lowest priced hotels in Almeria, but it also looked like it had great character and a gorgeous setting. I was very happy with this hotel. It was right next door to the famous Cathedral on a huge plaza. The restaurant had patio seating at night and an indoor bar and restaurant. The rooms were modern and spacious. Each room had a computer with internet access, but also wifi available. The hotel was clean, quiet, and had many upgrades. Free bottles of water on each floor, fresh flowers, many "pretty" things. The reception hosts did not speak strong English, but were able to understand my needs. My only concern was the neighborhood seemed to be a bit dicey. I don't know that it really was, but it wasn't in the hub of the restaurant and bar area. Since dinner/tapas at night doesn't get into full swing until about 10:00p.m., I had to walk about 4-5 blocks on empty alleys or streets. I never felt in danger, but did watch my surroundings. The walk to the main district is about 5-10 minutes. The cruise/ferry port is about a 5-10 minutes walk, and the beaches 15-20 minute walk. If I were to return to Almeria i would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Miserable staff...

Posted Jul 23, 2009
All staff were miserable, I haven't seen a smiley face throughout our stay(6 days). There was no one to ask for what they offered as freshly made breakfast. They didn't have tea for 3 days. We stayed on the top floor and couldn't sleep two days as there was a party on the terrace and staff cleaning it up made so much noise. I would never go back there again. Wrost customer service I've ever experienced!