Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The room was comfortable and be breakfast was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recollections of our stay

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The toilet was not cleansed following use that morning by the previous occupants. The person on duty was reluctant to come to deal with it "because we are too busy with a wedding on".
3 out of 5
by garryp

Good location but average

Posted May 5, 2014
Well located in Alnwick near to castle. Service good rooms average. Breakfast okay but again nothing special . shower poor.At £105 per nifht not good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Just an average hotel at a premium rate. The room we had was quite large but with no more in it than a premier inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolfrom Alexandria, Near Loch Lomond

An Olympic Dining Experience!

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: The dining room, the staff,
Cons: Shower curtain
Location: Right in the centre of Alnwick, a pretty little market town
We were advised on our arrival that we had been upgraded from the superior room which we'd booked to a suite. We think this was due to a very large and noisy wedding which was taking place. The suite was large and spacious and had lovely decor. The bed was huge. One complaint was the fact that in a suite, we couldn't fathom out why they were still using shower curtains instead of a screen. Also no extractor fan in the bathroom which made seeing in the mirror impossible, especially as there was a sign warning that the smoke sensor was so sensitive that steam would set it off, therefore asking us to keep the bathroom door closed after using the shower. The dining room is stunning and worth a look even if you are not dining in the hotel. It is the original panelling from the Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic, also the main staircase. Check it out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing family room.

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Everything else!!
Location: Great town centre locations and very close to Alnwick castle, you could leave the car and walk around the corner to it.
We were put in the attic spaces!! with no lifts available for luggage. The room was quite small and looked like it had been just painted over with a socket for the kettle not working, the kettle flex was dangerous and when asked for it to be changed took over an hour, when the hotel was quite quiet it seemed!! Poor excuse for a shower with a shower made for midgets to fit under the roof space. The only good side was the breakfast, which was very good. Overall a very dissapointing visit, if we were staying more than one night I would have asked for another room. or checked out and stayed somewhere else!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

OK for the area.

Posted Jan 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
Older hotel. Room was ok, but the only nighttime food found was at the bar next door. 2nd floor room had dips in floor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The White Swan in Alnwick

Posted Dec 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
Had a lovely stay, The hotel was very elegant. The bedroom was very comfortable and very warm especially in these weather conditions, however the breakfast was not tasty at all and very dry over cooked and microwaved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

White Swan -perfectly sited

Posted Nov 3, 2010 on Hotels.com
We came on recommendation and were not disappointed - excellent breakfast in Olympic Room, dinner better in Hardy's Brasserie - hotel ideally located, close to gardens, tourist info (where we got bus timetable) and bus-stops to fascinating surrounding community - the only thing I'd change is to have a slightly bigger bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wakefield - West YORKS

An hotel with a lot of character and characters!

Posted Oct 25, 2010
The White Swan was recommended by a colleague and is located very close to the centre of historic Alnwick town and within easy walking distance of both the castle and gardens. Stayed for 3 nights in room 9 which was clean with modern facilities including free wifi. Had dinner the first night in the hotel's bistro which was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast could have been better especially the black pudding.