Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Good hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cindy was very friendly and very nice. The breakfast had a good variety, and was hot. The coffee was good too. Very accommodating. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Super clean, convenient to town

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very nice room, it was absolutely spotless. The breakfast was very good also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

My Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2014
It was as an older hotel that was very clean but had old mattresses that were not very comfortable. It works for a quick stop to sleep but not to relax in comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Retired couplefrom Alpena, MI.

Really Enjoyed our stay! :)

Posted May 30, 2014
I havent stayed at a Best Western in a very long time. I remembeted my inlaws always stayed at Best Western so we decided it would be nice to try it again. We really Loved our room and we where very comfortable and most definitely will stay again the next time. Everything was clean. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool also!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jefffrom oh

Safe hotel near shopping areas and schools.

Posted May 19, 2014
Check in simple, room clean, no issues. Simple but adequate breakfast selection. Outer hallway transfers noise into room, even a simple conversation can be heard 6 doors down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel close to everything.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Staff was friendly/polite. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and had free wi-fi, cable, microwave & fridge located in the room for convenience. There was a pool & hot tub along with a weight room for guest and a nice continental breakfast area offering a wide variety of items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mattresses

Posted Oct 18, 2013
My stay at BW Alpena, worked well for me, all except the mattress on my bed in room 116. Over half of the mattress was collapsed and collapsing. Time for a replacement in that room, for sure. When I laid down on the mattress it tended to roll me out on the floor. The opposite side wasn't as bad, but I have issues with my one leg, requiring me to sleep on the bad side of that mattress to get in and out of bed. That's my complaint........bad mattress. Thanks for listening and sending me this rating form. William Hill
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JKfrom Boise, Idaho

Location not so great

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: They had a very good continental breakfast
Cons: Room size and location of motel.
Location: I was in Alpena for a funeral, so didn't do a lot of sightseeing. Fall colors in northern Michigan were spectacular.
Located across from a Walmart and Home Depot and near a very busy intersection (probably the busiest in Alpena). We had a room with 2 double beds and the room was pretty small. However, house keeping was very good and room was clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable. They had a very good continental breakfast. They also had a pool and hot tub that we did not use. I would rate it as a good motel, but nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanfrom Michigan

Site seeing

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Lots to do and hotel is right in the middle of it all.
Wonderful area to visit, lake Huron is beautiful. Ship wreck tour was amazing.