Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Sul Ross

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Cons: The bathroom had not been cleaned and was nasty
Hot breakfast provided, but it was served cold. Restroom had not been cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherry from northern WI

OK hotel next to a great diner.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable and the breakfast from the diner was substantial and filled us up for the day.
Cons: Pick up the trash around and in back of the location.
Location: There were things to do in Alpine that we didn't get around to doing. Fort Davis restoration and hiking trails were great. Observatory nearby also.
We stayed for 3 days so that we could travel to the Big Bend Natl Park and Fort Davis area...plus we have a dog. As we drove up and had to register in the diner, we had questions about how this motel was going to be. The room was relatively comfortable. There was a huge 'trashy' area in the back to walk the dog. And we got two breakfast passes. They were for the diner on the same property. The breakfasts and the staff at the diner were great and were worth the price of the room. My husband walked the dog out back several times a day and every time he came back in, he would remark about how much trash was in this field. It may be a never ending task, but it would be more eye pleasing to have all this litter picked up periodically.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lorenz from Zurich, Switzerland

Nice Surprise, highly recommended

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best (small) motel on my 6 week travel in west - far west texas. Very competitive rate, I did not expect the quality I met. Away from truck traffic at the interstate junction, but still optimally located. Calm, not overlighted at night like other motels. Charming details outside as well as in the room rejoicing the traveller. Helpful nice hotel staff. Yes, not quite in the center of the beautiful hill country roads (the three sisters), but between those and Fredericksburg, Comfort, Luckenbach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mac from Houston, TX

Very good value

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and comfortable and the diner very good value. I'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raju from A

Great place to stay in Alpine

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Room was clean and comfortable. The bed was good to sleep on. Reception for the hotel was in the diner next door. Hotel was quiet and a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danielle from Lubbock, Texas

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Oak Tree Inn was a surprising find. I received a great deal and the room was very comfortable and quiet. I really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the diner attached to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great deal

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
All the hotels are more or less in the same area so no point in paying for a place just down the street unless you really want a newer hotel. OVerall a good deal just visit Big Bend when its cooler in fall or spring and you won't have to fight with the bugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wigboy from Dallas

Price include daily hearty breakfast

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean and reasonable stay. You get daily vouchers for breakfast at the diner next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sasha

Great Place for a Cheap Stay

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a good place to stay in West Texas for the price. It is equidistant between many destinations including Big Bend and Carlsbad, NM. The diner provides $7.75 worth of free breakfast for every night you stay. The room is relatively cheap and the staff are friendly. The only downside is that they allow dogs and the walls are thin making it uncomfortable for someone like me who doesn't like listening to dogs bark in the middle of the night every time they hear a noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JPF from Pittsburgh

Good place

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place for an overnight on way to Bug Bend National Park.