Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SimpleMan from Colorado

Older motel with a facelift

Posted Dec 23, 2013
The Maverick is a typical old-style motel that has been fairly well-maintained over the years. Nice updated exterior, with original room interiors that have new flat-screen tv's and similar. Check-in was easy with parking right in front of the room. The room was fine, clean and nicely appointed for an older motel. Things of immediate concern for me were the beeping smoke alarm battery, and no toilet paper. I did not notice till later as in when I was climbing into the shower that there was no bath soap. The toilet also ran after flushing. No one item a big deal, just shows poor housekeeping and an awareness of things. The continental breakfast was nice with fresh local pastries and scones. One other note, they provided a nice selection of various flavored teas, yet no black tea! No biggie, just an observation. Overall, I would stay here again, though do feel for the price in comparison to other local properties, the management could make an effort to ensure these details are addressed and train the staff to be more aware. Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jan lair from midland tx.

great rustic room for the price

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved staying there. Would stay there again. Staff very friendly. Rooms had a great Texas feel ! Cinnamon rolls were awesome at free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deb from Mexico

Sticky Buns for Breakfast - Best Ever!

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Deby at the front desk made us feel like we should make ourselves at home in every way. The lobby was a nicely decorated and welcoming, coupled with a Tex-mex style breakfast room with an outdoor open-air seating area - all very pleasant. Nothing about this place is cooky cutter hotel style. We travel a lot and I am an avid baker. The morning sticky buns, muffins and breakfast scones which they get from Judy's bakery are huge and delicious. The home made granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, juices, and coffee/tea choices are better than I have had anywhere else. Well done! The room was comfy, fun and unusual too.....the life magazine book was a step back in time that was really fun. I wish I could find this hotel in every town I visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary from Texas

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice clean and comfortable just a little more rustic than I thought. We left at 7am and the office was not open for coffee or breakfast yet. Some people want an early start to drive to next location or in our case The Big Bend Park, but we had another breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Where its at!

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: everything
We have stayed at some of the chain motels/hotels in alpine. After staying at The Maverick Inn one weekend i was hooked. I will never stay anywhere else. This place just oooooooooozes charm. I have seen alot of negative reviews on how small the bathrooms are. This is true, they are small but do-able. Had no problem with it. We have been back three times now and many more to come i am sure due to the fact that our daughter is attending Sul Ross State University which is directly across the street. No need to drive as everything is located within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Maverick was a lovely and unique place with the nicest staff I have ever encountered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debra from Houston, TX

Close to the Mountains

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Bathrooms need to be renovated.
Location: Day trip to the Ft. Davis Historic Site, Davis Mountains National Park and McDonald Observation. Don't miss the scenic loop drive and the Marfa Lights
Somewhat outdated but comfortable. Convenient location to the Davis Mountains and Big Bend area.