Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Norma from Elmira, Ontario

Relaxing Getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: What caught our eye was the old historic manor. The antique furniture & the old word work, was very impressive.
The staff were all very friendly & very helpful. We made use of the fitness centre, steam room, whirlpool, and pool. It was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie & Debbi

Three nights with my wife

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Nice, secluded location; atmospheric rooms in the Manor House. Excellent service. Great lounge and dining room; expensive but worth it (almost).
Cons: More choices for breakfast. The 'one-size-fits-all' breakfast buffet meant I was paying $17 for a coffee and bowl of granola. Dinner was excellent.
Location: The out-of the-way location suited us just fine. The Alton Mill art gallery nearby is worth a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michele from Toronto

Great Romantic Spot

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: better mattress
Location: walk around, enjoy the sights. There is a great spa on site, however the masseuse I had wasn't all that great but my husbands was.
Had a great time there the staff were helpful, the room was gorgeous. We also went to the restaurant and it was worth every cent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Swansons from Toronto, Ontario. Canada

Just a couple of exceptions

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: I like the staff and attention to detail. The rooms ( we had two on this past occasion ) are well appointed and very comfortable.
Cons: The most important thing that needs improvement is the restaurant menu. We could not find anything suitable on the restaurant or bar menu.
Location: The location is very nice. We like that The Millcroft Inn is tucked away like a special little hide away. It was our second visit.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. We wanted a nice dinner with a few basic, meat and potato type of dishes. The Inn did not have a menu that was suitable. Even though there were two places to dine in the inn, they both had similar menus. Considering that the Millcroft Inn is quite out of the way of other eating establishments, it would be extremely helpful if the restaurant menu and the bar menu could be a little more varied in the entrees. Perhaps have some high end, gourmet items for those who prefer them and then have some more basic items for those of us who might prefer a lighter dinner. We also experienced a very embarrassing and rare late night activity. After we were dressed for bed ( after 11:00 pm ) the fire alarm rang. We spent 30 minutes in the lobby in our robes and slippers with the other guests. Fortunately, there was no fire, but it was really uncomfortable and so embarrassing to sit in the lobby, waiting for the Fire Department to come and turn off the alarm. I really feel that the inn should have compensated all of the guests in some way. It was tough to get to sleep after that experience.
4 out of 5
by Jack from London

Lovely historical building

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location. I would only recommend it to a friend if they would like the location, want a spa and didn't mind spending big bucks.
Cons: The food is over-priced and choice seems limited. Some rooms are too large for the small screen TV ... smallest I've ever seen.
Location: Good location with nice walks/trails and Alton Mill close by.
In our room in the main building, we could easily hear the ventilating equipment ... it was better to leave the window open and hear the roar of the waterfall all night. This stupid review form only allows one to say yes or no ... I'll mark no, but it is qualified below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Niles from Burlington

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was horrible. It had a stuffy mouldy smell and the nights sleep was very uncomfortable. I would very disappointed since it was an anniversary celebration and not what we expected. The dinner was good but not at the quality for what we were charged. For 600 dollars for one night with dinner you would expect something far better. I would not recommend this inn to anyone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by the Rosa's from Mississauga

overall experienc

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
positive notes, beautiful grounds and trails. staff was very friendly. dinner quality was excellent, wait staff very accommodating got a little too familiar but that was fine. chef was extremely accommodating to dietary restrictions as waiter was extremely knowledgeable and careful. but dinner was extremely expensive. 1 app, 2 entres, bottle of sparkling water, no desert or coffee, $125 with taxes. no alcohol! far too expensive for what we received. Room was disappointing. TV's in all rooms smaller than a laptop screen, no in room pay movies, no where to sit or eat in room. antique furniture not functional, bed was good modern bathroom. room was poorly lit. breakfast buffet was very modest and no options for dietary restrictions. we actually had to check out earl, leave and only had breakfast after a 40 min drive into civilization. for those negatives we would never return. after spending about $400 for one night, we left hungry and less than impressed. we have stayed at three other vintage hotels and this was not in keeping with the higher standards of the others. favourite is Queens Landing and stayed there a number of times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com