Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Bates Motel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The fact that I only had to stay there for about eight hours.
Cons: Nothing, unless you had a large wrecking ball. An empty lot would have been preferable, and perhaps, somewhat cleaner and more comfortable.
Location: Location is in Altoona, PA; 'nuff said. The only thing to do there was to leave.
The place looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since the Carter administration… and the sheets hadn't been changed since before that. My 7:15 AM wake-up call never came, and I woke up too late to get to a meeting. The pillows felt as though they'd been designed by the folks who brought you the Spanish Inquisition; but what the hell, they were cheap. At $90 a night, the lodging (and I use the term loosely) was hardly economic; it was over-priced by a factor of 10. In fact, if I'd charged them $90, I would have ripped myself off. All in all, this dump gives "shabby" a bad name.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impresse

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Renovate hotel and fix parking lot
This is a very old hotel. It is not in very good shape. Nothing more than a place to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Wonderful Staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: New carpeting and updated bathrooms.
Location: Lots of restaurants and stores.
Location was good, close to a lot of restaurants and shops. Staff was superb and very accommodating. Great to have a refrigerator and microwave. Older facility but comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Kensington,Pa

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: the workers
Cons: the room
Location: amusement parks
I had a mouse in my room and was not compensated for the inconvenience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Basic room amenities... Could use updating. Over all decent and clean .. Beds were very hard though. Front office staff very friendly
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from CA

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
There's a reason this is $70/night. Unclean and old rooms, but I knew it'd be like this. We checked in past midnight so we didn't want to pay for a nicer room that we'd spend very little time in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

.very nice lodge .

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: every thing, it was clean and neat
Location: close to every where I needed to go
I would recommend to anyone service was very good. liked the room, very clean and neat
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by bonnie from california

convenient to nursing home

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
TV is ancient and grainy. Not good stations. Soda machine not working. Room needs painting. Friendly front office staff. Plenty hot water in shower. Not sure when chairs/bed spread cleaned. No fruit in morning breakfast. Otherwise basic breakfast ok. Front office smelled on cigarette smoke. Felt I overpaid for night. Lower rates upon walk-in instead of booking online.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com