Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

settle inn

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: New TV, Clean Rooms
Location: across from casino, admusment park
Rice crispys in phone book, breakfast food on floor, penny on bathroom floor enen after 2nd day cleaning ? last year cob webs ! black an white tv
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Linda from Michigan

Very pet friendly!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The pet friendliness!
Cons: Better cleaning of the rooms, and non smoking rooms for pets.
Location: A lot to do nearby, unfortunately the amusement park was seasonally closed. Didn't make it to the casino. Many shopping centers nearby.
The staff were all very nice, helpful, and pet friendly. The room could have been cleaner. Furniture was dusty, and the carpet needed a much better vacuuming. It appeared that this was skipped by homemaking. It was disappointing to have to stay in a smoking room due to the pets. They were supposed to ozonate the room prior to our arrival, but it didn't help. My clothing still reeks of smoke from being in the room. When we opened the door to the room the smell of smoke was overwhelming. The continental breakfast was good, and the free coffee available at all times was a nice perk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Orient, Ia

We had a very positive experience!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The rates, the room was clean and we had mints on the bed waiting for us! :)
Cons: More outlets offered.
Location: We stayed there because we wanted to end our night at Prairie Meadows. Good location as far as food places to eat as well. And Adventureland!
We enjoyed our stay. They only thing would be - couldn't find outlets to straighten my hair besides in the bathroom and not enough outlets to charge phones. I would be nice to have an outlet by the mirror in the bedroom part so you don't have to do hair in the bathroom if someone is showering. Kind of defeats the purpose. Also had to hunt for outlet to plug phone in over night. Wanted it close to bed incase of an emergency phone call. I thought the room was clean. Lots to offer for breakfast, too. I would stay there again and I would recommend it to other people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to my event

Posted Mar 7, 2014
The place was okay. Clean and in a good location. Pleasant lobby. People were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jess from iowa

deer classic here we are

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: the cost and easy access
Location: Altoona Iowa and went to the casino, bass pro shop, and went to the deer classic
everything was great except the pool was down....we were looking forward to relax in the pool. This is one of the reasons I booked this hotel:(
2 out of 5
by Lyn from Madison, WI

Disappointed in Des Moines

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: The breakfast offerings were surprisingly good. And the other guests weren't noisy.
Cons: Staff de-activated our card because they assumed we were only staying one night -- didn't check our reservation.
Location: Adventureland was closed. Prairie Meadows was open. We chose the location because it's close to where our family members lived.
This trip was to deal with a family emergency; it wasn't supposed to be fun. But the last thing my husband and I needed was trouble with our accommodations, and we had that at the Settle Inn. Our biggest disappointments: 1. The "queen" bed was about the width of a full, and the bed was way too soft. 2. The two drawers were hardly adequate to store two people's clothing for a two-day stay. 3. Worst of all: The handicap-accessible shower (no tub) was separated from the rest of the bathroom only only by a wall 2 feet wide and 18 inches high, and a curtain that did not reach the top of the wall. It was impossible to shower without soaking the entire bathroom -- not that we wanted to shower long, because the water only warmed up to "tepid."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice close to everything we needed

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: the location was great
Hotel room was very comfortable. The only complaint was the bathroom was too small.
2 out of 5
by Disappointed

Hotel inside needs a facelift

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms were beat up looking and outdated. Bathroom floor sags. Carpet was old and not clean.
Location: Hotel was near the Prairie Meadows convention center. Many resturants nearby.
The hotel staff were very nice and efficient. The whole place could use some general updating. The breakfast was pretty basic...cereal, coffee, juice, waffles,biscuts& gravy, fruit and yogurt. I didn't have a chance to use the pool. It would have been nive to have a treadmill or bike. Big flat screen TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Des Moines, IA

Nice for the price.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Price, pool, and staff were very helpful.
Cons: Just really outdated.
Location: Good restaurants, Casino across the street, and shopping very near this hotel.
It is a bit outdated but for the price it is well worth it. Adults can enjoy swim time from 10-12p.m. which is good if you don't want to deal with children at the pool. Casino is across the street and there are many restaurants near by. I would recommend it to friends for sure as long as their prices do not go up unless they update the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Keokuk, IA

Nice hotel, great rate.

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean quiet room, breakfast, room rates.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Casino and Adventureland amusement park across street. Restaurants, gas stations and interstate 80 nearby.
Nice hotel. Priced right. Clean, quiet room. Nice, large clean breakfast room. Good variety of breakfast items. I always stay here when I'm in the area. Friendly, pleasant staff. Great location.