Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherokee Ia

Rude and discusting

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all....
Cons: not enough characters to even begin.
1st they wouldnt honor your rate, so we paid full price. next got to our room pubic hair in the bathtub long dark hair on bathroom floor so obviously no one cleaned the bathroom when we reported it she acted like it was a huge deal lady was so rude. switched rooms place was a total dive. Even the hot tub was broke down in the pool area. Will NEVER go back there again.And will be calling corporate on them. She also said she cancelled their contract with expedia months ago..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not a choice hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Breakfast wasn't so bad. Typical for a continental breakfast.
Cons: Get the hot tub repaired! Get the ICE machine fixed and add another! Fix the sink drains!
Location: Convenient location to Adventureland. Had to do a U-turn past the hotel to turn into the lot... that was not so convenient in traffic!
The hot tub and solitary ICE machine were both out of order during our 3 day stay. The sink was very slow draining and we got stuck in a smoking room when I clearly booked a non-smoking room! We travel to Altoona every summer, our regular hotel was booked, but I sure won't be staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
stay was ok due to price the hot was not working nor was there juice machine or the ice machine but it was still comfortable and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nana from Novi/Walled Lake, MI

Nice

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Good value; convenient; close to Adventureland and Prarie Meadows.
Cons: Make sure there is enough food for guests' breakfast; fix the hot tub.
Location: Close to lots of restaurants and shopping; Close to Adventureland and Prairie Meadows; many other family fun places to visit within a 30 minute drive.
Everything was nice . Nothing to cheer about but good. The complaints I would have is that the hot tub was out if order for our entire stay (5 days) and the breakfast was lacking .... Not enough food for those who came in later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Ozarks

Doesn't suck as bad as a lot of places.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Good location; clean with real towels & real pillows! Pool open until midnight!!! (Kids out by 10pm) Breakfast available; good? idk, running L8!
Cons: Counter space outside the bath. Curtain that comes close to the floor. Two brackets for the handheld shower- head: one for sitting one for standing.
Location: Casino; amusement park; very close to fairgrounds; not far from Des Moines.
We got a handicapped accessible room. We wondered if maybe all of the rooms were like that. It was kind of weird, because the shower shared space with the toilet & the sink & what SHOULD have been a counter area. There was a floor drain in the middle & a shower curtain that was about 2 feet off the floor. LOTS of water; NO counter space. I had to cancel our second nights reservation. I thought it kinda sucked, because the hotel staff 1) couldn't cancel it for me 2) couldn't tell me what I was PAYING for the room 3) couldn't care less. As it happened, it was fairly painless, but the kind of thing I hate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

settle inn

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: New TV, Clean Rooms
Location: across from casino, admusment park
Rice crispys in phone book, breakfast food on floor, penny on bathroom floor enen after 2nd day cleaning ? last year cob webs ! black an white tv
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Linda from Michigan

Very pet friendly!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The pet friendliness!
Cons: Better cleaning of the rooms, and non smoking rooms for pets.
Location: A lot to do nearby, unfortunately the amusement park was seasonally closed. Didn't make it to the casino. Many shopping centers nearby.
The staff were all very nice, helpful, and pet friendly. The room could have been cleaner. Furniture was dusty, and the carpet needed a much better vacuuming. It appeared that this was skipped by homemaking. It was disappointing to have to stay in a smoking room due to the pets. They were supposed to ozonate the room prior to our arrival, but it didn't help. My clothing still reeks of smoke from being in the room. When we opened the door to the room the smell of smoke was overwhelming. The continental breakfast was good, and the free coffee available at all times was a nice perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by amanda from des moines ia

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel to stay at and very reasonable in price. Will definitely go back again!