Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Laura from Frederick, Md

Old and smokey smell

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Needs updating. Hallways reaked of smoke. It was clean. I wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highway Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff was great!
Cons: The hallways did smell like smoke, but our room did not smell.
Location: There is a strip of fast-food and shopping nearby.
It was a nice, clean, cheap place to stay right off of the highway during our road trip. The staff was ready to check us in even though we got there close to midnight, and they were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Couldn't have asked for more

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, David, the front desk person, free breakfast, and the staff
Cons: I sort of wish the gym was a bit bigger but I am a gym buff and fitness fanatic and an Insanity fanatic so that's why I noticed the gym size lol.
Location: It is pretty centrally located I walked to everything the shops and stuff but, if you are not a walker I recommend just calling a cab ride
I am an out of towner from Philly who had never been to Altoona Pa. I was in town for the Miss Pennsylvania International Pageant. First of all, this is the absolute cleanest, friendliest, comfortable Motel in Altoona. First, the staff was absolutely patient, pleasant, and willing to help with anything you needed. I had a bit of a botched reservation ( which was my own fault) I was there for 3 days, but instead of staying for three consecutive days. I made two separate reservations in which I would have had to have checked out after day one and then waited around 3 hours for a new room to continue the rest of my stay. David, at the Super 8's front desk, was so awesome that he found me an-already-made-room so that I didn't have to wait around for 3 hours I just switched right over to the next room like that * snaps fingers. Secondly, they serve free breakfast and who doesn't love free food right? Thirdly, the location is a pretty centrally located Motel with a 24 clean-as-can-be although it is not very big just the basics gym, 24 hour front desk service, and all around pleasant staff. Yes, I would stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was fine for the price and overnight stay

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Continential breakfast was good for a light fare breakfast. My husband is a little larger breakfast person but this got him by until next meal.
I was somewhat caught off guard when I had two rooms with two beds rated for four person stay to find out that each person over 2 adults were assessed an additional fee. When I booked rooms, I booked 2 adults each as at the time that's all there were but we were going to a funeral and two other adults were able to come at the last minute so they were going to stay with us. That's when I found out there was an additional fee when we checked in and they were with us. One room got an extra key for the extra person and one room didn't. Also room key would not open back door near to our room and I found myself looked out at 7:00AM in 20 degree windy weather to walk from back to front of the building. I booked a nine day cross country trip with stays at various hotels through Expedia, I hope I don't get any hided surprises then. Otherwise trip was uneventful, had decent continential breakfast, and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joe from new york

Great value

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Very clean room. You can't beat the price. Request a third floor non-smoking room. Nice view of mountains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from PA

Okay Stay

Posted Feb 26, 2014
I had my boy friend stay there when he came up for a weekend to see me. It is in expensive and nice.. It is not a 5 star place but it was clean, everyone seemed very nice, and he enjoyed his visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

closed to highway.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
room clean and nice. staff nice. breakfast doesn't have much choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incompetent Staff

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: The only thing is convenient location to our meeting venue.
Cons: Educate your staff better, especially pay better attentive to registration details.
The staff were not very attentive to registration details. After booking for 2 nights through Expedia, called the hotel directly to book for the same individuals for an extra night. The staff got things messed up and even charged my account for the 2 nights that were booked & paid through Expedia. This was straightened out and removed from my card, but was frustrating to the point that I will not use this facility for lodging in the future.
3 out of 5
by Larry from Virginia

Easy exit, find breakfast elsewhere

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Smoke odor strong in hallways
East to find off of I99, some things nearby if you need shopping or fast food. It's a fine basic hotel but the hallways really smell of smoking. My non-smoking room was fine once I was in it but it's surprising how much order is in the hall carpets or something. Breakfast is the most meager of continental breakfasts (not even bagels, just plain bread you can toast), only two choices of cereal, etc. so you may want to find breakfast elsewhere. Staff is pleasant, room is clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel Room

Posted Jan 20, 2014
The staff were friendly. The room was clean. Easy check in / check out. No frills but for the price, you can't beat this hotel. Close to I 99 for easy access to the Interstate and Altoona attractions.