Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel with great view.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Great service and family is extremely helpful and welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Definitely would recommend it, great view and all was right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Pittsburgh, PA

Wonderful view of Med and Positano City

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: View, staff, location, charm, breakfast, modern bathroom.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved would be night lighting, but this is such a small issue.
Location: Great for staying in Positano. Venturing to nearby Sorrento or Almalfi may be challenging due to over crowded public transportation or costly cabs.
great view, great and extremely helpful staff, nice breakfast, good location to most shopping. A hill climb to beach...requires being fit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jmncook from santa cruz, ca

A nice place to stay

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time and loved the comfortable terrace overlooking the town and the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexis from Washington, DC

Great Location and Superb Views

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at Hotel California as the last stop on our Italy tour. The staff was excellent and overly accommodating. The hotel is about a three minute walk from one of the bus stops, which is huge. If you haven't been to Positano, you will learn quickly that the roads are insane. I'm not even quite sure how some of the people would get to their hotels and most of the roads don't have sidewalks. Hotel California did however, and it was an excellent location. It's another 2-3 minutes to walk down to the area of the main square, which takes you to the beach. Although the walk up isn't as fun as the walk down, the location couldn't be more perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Southern California

Best Value in Positano

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Before booking Albergo California, I looked at a lot of other options that were easily twice as much as this hotel. I am very glad I didn't end up splurging because this hotel had it all - great service, breathtaking views, private patio and a large room with a comfortable bed. The only downside is this hotel is at the top of Positano, which means its about an 8-10 minute walk down to the beach (although a beautiful walk). Being at the top though does give you the best view possible. It is also very convenient to the bus stop though for day trips along the coast. I would happily stay here again on our next trip to Positano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Samantha H from Ohio

Great location!

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved this hotel! Every room in this hotel has a balcony overlooking Positano. The hotel staff were wonderful! They lent us an umbrella, and even helped us change our rental car reservation. In my opinion, they went above and beyond. Our room was on the main level, so it was a little noisy at times as people were walking by, but the room was very large. Would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven from Melbourne

Excellent hospitality

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
My family and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at Hotel California. It was our 1st stop on a six week vacation through Italy and Croatia and one of the most memorable stops. We were there for 4 nights. John at the front desk and Antonio were great hosts and the rest of the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. My children loved the homemade bomboli at breakfast! The location is great and the restaurant (Bruno's) next door is amazing. We would stay there again and highly recommend others to consider.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TN from Surrey, England

Very pleasant 3* hotel with lovely staff

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff
Cons: Wider range for late evening drinks on the terrace.
Location: Slightly up out of Positano town but still within easy walking distance of the beach and shops. Closest restaurant right under the hotel.
Spent 6 nights in Positano at the Hotel California. The hotel is comfortable and clean with spacious rooms and good bathrooms. It's quite small so you do get good personal service, but it does not have a full restaurant or bar - drinks are available but the range is limited. However, that's hardly a problem in Positano! Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the harbour and the sea - a truly beautiful spot.