Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Positamo

Posted Jul 12, 2013
This hotel is ok, the room was spacious and clean and the view was quite goo. I found the swimming pool rules uusual, you must wear a bathing cap to swim and you can only enter the pool from the stairs, you can't just slide in from your lounge. The hotel could do with a makeover, i is quite dated and difficult t get around, the layout is most unusual.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Hotel needs some love

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we went to check in we were shown to a small dark standard economy room at the end of the hotel. When I went back up to the reception - and this was a long, long way, along endless tunnel like corridors, with very worn out carpets on the many stairs and hallways and paintwork dirty and flaking off the walls - I was told that was all they had. I pointed out that I had paid for a suite, but I was told that they keep those for families and that they had none available! So, I said ok then, I should only pay for a standard economy room and not the larger room I booked. The guy did the old 'tap tap' on the keyboard and said oh wait, there was one opening up in the morning. So we got the room we paid for the next day, but it took all the good out of it. The other issue is that the pool area appears to be shared with some sort of Timeshare apartment complex, so at times you were made to feel like you were in the way, when all the apartment dwellers came down to lounge around the pool. Finally, we had lunch at the pool area just one time - as it was very expensive. €14 for a simple parma melone, for example. We didn't pay that much for the same dish in the very nice Chez Black's down by the sea for evening dinner!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark from New York

Mediocre at best

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outdated furnishings, uncomfortable bed, poor wi-fi connection. Mediocre service. The swimming pool requires a bathing cap. It felt like travelling back into the 70's.
3 out of 5
by lindsay from houston, texas

Things they didn't tell us

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Everything mentioned in my experience
Location: You can walk down 400 steps to get to the city, which I enjoyed.
When I booked, it was because of the beautiful pictures I saw on Expedia of the views from the rooms and of the pool. Well, in order to get in the pool, you had to wear a swimming cap. Who wants to wear a plastic cap suctioned to your head when you just bought a new swim suit for this trip? Not me! Which explains why no one was in the pool. Then when I booked the room at this hotel, the site said they had free wifi. Oh, they had free wifi, but you could only use it in two-hour increments and you had to be down at the pool or reception area. Then they put my husband and I in a conjoining room with the loudest people possible. We could hear every bodily function and conversation they had in the room next to us. the people next to us even tried opening the door combining our rooms. Thank goodness it was locked. It was in a good location and that's basically all I can say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ali from Ohio

lots of stairs

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Positano is a beautiful place, but lots os stairs. Hotel was good, nice size room and bathroom, good pool area.Elevator only untill 3rd floor and then up or down the stairs with bags that was not good. The lobby is on 6 floor and restaurante on 4, so if you are on1first be ready to go up and down. To go downtown there is a bus every 30 min or use the 300 steeps from hotel to main street. Taxi was 20 ER from dowown to hotel, so steeps was the way to go. Rocks on beach not sand. $15 ER each for chair at main beach or $7 each for the small beach with bathroom and WiFi. just ask locals.
3 out of 5
by Anna from Atlanta, GA

Pool was the saving grace!

Posted Jun 24, 2013
To be honest, I was not impressed by this hotel in Positano. It was not kept up well for a hotel that I paid around $250 a night for. The carpets were not in good shape and my room felt like I was in a cheap motel. I had not internet access in my room and they placed me on the bottom floor next to the door out to the pool. To be frank, the pool was the only thing I will remember about the hotel. A very nice pool with a poolside café which was nice, but a lot of rules and regulations at the pool as well. Swim caps required, only one entrance into the pool, the pool was roped off, it was interesting. I truly won't remember much about Hotel Domina Royal in a positive manner. The weekend before I paid the same amount for an extravagant room in Amalfi, and was expecting the same this time. I would search further for a hotel if you are looking at this one to tell you the truth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauk from BC Canada

wifi complain

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Nothing stands out.
Cons: Wifi and comfort of the bed.
Location: Hard to take heavy luggage to your room because the elevator can only take you down to 3rd the rest is all stairs.
My one complain about the hotel is the wifi. The front desk, pool area and restaurant are all different SSID (hotspots). Everytime you wanted to connect you have to go to the front desk and ask a username and password. Also its only good for 2 hour or when you disconnect which ever comes first. If that happens you go back to the front desk and ask for another one.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whistler, BC Canada

Beautiful views, close to all must-sees

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a gem. The location was perfect, the gardens are beautiful, staff are wonderful, easy to get around, breakfast is really good! Loved it , would definitely rebook this hotel!