Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Norma

Posted Sep 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful view and service as well as ameneties. Will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exellent hotel, exceptional service, stunning view

Posted Sep 3, 2012
This hotel had a very prestine view, it was truely breath taking. The service was exceptional and a very friendly staff. The hotel room is very spacious and includes all the comforts one would expect, such as air conditioning , open patio doors with a personal balcony to enjoy the elegant view and a mini bar, room service, and a full over sized bath tub. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The only negative that I would mention would be that my room did not have wireless internet, but it is availabe in the main lounge and outside on the terris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from England, UK

Relaxing and peaceful, ideal for couples

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: I loved the solitude and relaxing feeling about the hotel.
Location: The location of the hotel is fantastic because you are away from the hustle and noise of Amalfi but close enough to see it from your balcony.
The Excelsior Hotel in Amalfi is perched up high in the mountains giving it the most amazing views. It is a little dated in style but I think this suits the hotel. It is very peaceful and the only noises you can hear are those of cockerels, church bells and toots from moped and bus horns as they travel around the meandering, and narrow roads.The rooms are clean, with the necessary air-con in the Summer and all have a balcony with wonderful views of the Amalfi coastline. The reception staff are polite and very helpful and speak English very well. The hotel also provides a free bus which will take you into Amalfi town centre and back, this takes approx 20mins and works off a timetable schedule which is given to you on arrival at the hotel. The hotel stands on its own, so there are no shops immediately around you. However you can walk up the road to the nearest village which will take about 10mins and there you will find a small shop and three restaurants all of which produce lovely fresh, tasty meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Turbo

Great Location for spectacle!

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Pros: Fansatsic view
Cons: Frinedly of staffs
Location: Good access by shuttle bus
Fantastic view either from room balcony or hotel lobby/everywhere. Shuttle bus is perfect to access center of Amalfi and it's very convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert

Grand disappointment

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
We thought Excelsior was average, dated & did not deserve a 4* rating but our main complaint was the disappointing food. Breakfast was almost inedible, we eventually gave up & went to Amalfi to eat. The ala carte was poor quality; small, over priced, dry and tasteless. View was amazing but definetly would not go back as the stay was not enjoyable! They were trying hard to provide a posh food experience but delivered the opposite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lucian from London

One of the best positioned hotels ever

Posted Jun 16, 2012
Pros: The stunning view and cleanliness.
Cons: Overpriced and disappointing evening meal service.
Location: AMAZING!!!
Located above Amalfi, this hotel's views are stunning. Every room has a sea view which is incredibly special. The hotel is relatively old, but kept in great condition and is spotless, adding to it's charm. Breakfasts are fine but I don't recommend the evening meals, they are over priced and bland. The courtesy bus runs frequently to the centre of Amalfi and it's really nice actually being outside of all the buzz. A great base for visiting the whole Amalfi coastline.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Once a 4 star hotel located 20 mins from Amalfi

Posted Jun 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
We booked based on the hotel being in close proximity to Amalfi, although within 2 kms (as the crow flies) it takes 20 minutes by bus to reach the town of Amalfi. If you dont have your own transport, please be aware you need to budget for an additional 15euro per day (for 2 people) for bus tickets as hotel shuttle bus is not overly frequent (did not operate between 11am and 3.45pm and to allow you to dine in Amalfi town and get back after 6pm. Room and furnishing was slightly outdated although clean. Great distant views of the ocean. Good private beach although needed to pay 10euros per person to use. Breakfast was reasonable. Staff were generally helpful. Perhaps more 3 than 4 stars due to ageing of hotel and its facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Grand Hotel Excelsior, Amalfi

Posted Jun 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had a terrific experience and would return in a heartbeat. I want to single out Annie, who truly went out of her way to make our stay memorable. I highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amalfi Excelsior hotel

Posted May 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not convenient for anyone without a vehichle, the room was average yet advertised as 4-star, the price was too expensive for what and where the hotel was located and for the convenience/quality of the room. Though the website listed the address as Amalfi, the hotel was not in the city limits or near any self-guided walking tours. The dining room was pleasant but the food was overpriced, due to the fact that there was no other place to dine unless you had transportation to try elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

Amalfian experience

Posted May 26, 2011
Amalfi is the best location to cover Salerno to Pozitano. The hotel, if you are taking a room with the sea view, is in an exiting location. However: 1. Don't take half board- the dinner is an expensive disaster. 2. Is too expensive even without the dinner. Good things, on top of the view: Shuttle to/ from Amalfi several times per day Stop of the SITA bus in front Parking Good and efficient reception people