Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Zurich

Scandalous staff behavior

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: At the end glad we did not stay at this place
Cons: Reading the 40 "terrible" ratings on TripAdviser, it tells it all.
My fiancee and I booked an October weekend at the Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi through Expedia travel service, with a non-refundable fare. 10 days before, my fiancees father suffered a heart attack, and it became unclear if we will be able to travel. I contacted the hotel to inquire if the hotel, in case we will not be able to attend the weekend, would be able to offer a voucher or similar, allowing us to postpone the trip. I was advised to write an email explaining the situation. Until now, I was not contacted back with a response. Despite the health situation of my fiancees father fortunately improved, with the stressful past days she fell ill, and a day before the departure to Italy I had to contact the hotel again to explain that we will have to cancel our trip all together. The telephone conversation (in Italian) with lady at the reception was the most appalling I had so far with a hotel staff (although being a frequent business traveler since 20 years): Me: “Would it be possible to attend the weekend at a later time? Maybe by issuing a voucher?” Receptionist: “No, we do not offer such a service.” Me: “Can you tell me a name of a manager I can speak tomorrow?” Receptionist: “No, just call the reception” Me: “Can you tell me your name for reference?” Receptionist: “My name doesn’t matter. You now called for the third time, but this is your problem, we cannot help you. I think you should not come back at all to our hotel”. WOW!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good views but...

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Reasonable price for the area
Cons: Food - nothing is fresh, general low quality
Location: About 4km away from the town Amalfi, there is a courtesy bus but becomes a chore to catch every time you want to go antwhere
Pros - good views, helpful staff Cons - terrible food, needs modernisation, a bit far away from anything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adriannafrom NY

Way up top but still convenient

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Grand Excelsior is way way way up the mountain so the views are outstanding. The other good news is, they provide a shuttle that runs numerous times a day into the town of Amalfi. So we didn't have to drive/park. Service was excellent. Furniture is a little dated but it's clean and the balcony from the room is huge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Birgitte Ollingfrom Danmark

Helt fantastisk beliggende hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helt fantastisk beliggenhed, med den flotteste udsigt. Et dejligt ældre hotel, som absolut kan anbefales! Der går en hotelbus ned i byen og til den private strand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scottfrom UK

Outstanding view over Amalfi

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unbelievable stunning views over Amalfi from this hotel where the staff are great but the hotel could really do with a refresh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Excellent choice of hotel in Amalfi.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Fabulous location, well priced, great fron desk staff.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: see comments above
We had a marvelous time on our week long trip and stayed at the Excelsior the enire time. The view was breathtaking from our lovely balcony. The daily shuttle to the private beach and city center of Amalfi was perfect. The mediterranean is so different each day sometimes calm sometimes big surf. The elevator down to the beach was very James Bond! You had the sense of adventure. Also if you have those OP beach shoes, wear them. They are perfect for the beach which is large smooth pebbles. There is a big difference having them and not having them if you are a baby like me. The Europeans don't wear them of course since they are used to it. There is a romantic sense of discovery everywhere and the view is hypnotic. We did everything! We went on a small boat ride to Capri arranged by Annie, the concierge at the hotel. It was out of this world to swim in the grotto and have your own boat to take you wherever you want. We had a cooking lesson too at the Carcara Restaurant which was another highlight arraned by Annie too. She was marvlous to us. We went to Ravello which was an easy city bus ride from the town center of Amalfi. Everything was very easy to figure out with her help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Évaluation d'Excelcior Hotel à Amalfie.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
C'est un hôtel qui demande d'avoir des rénovations. La piscine est extraordinaire. L'hôtel est localisée en montagne ce qui donne une vue fantastique sur la mer et les montagnes environnantes. Le personnel est très courtois et donne un excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vanessa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hôtel un peu éloigné du centre ville d'Amalfi

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: L'exposition, la Piscine et la Terasse
Cons: - Réparer les Portes de Placard - Refixer les Prises de Courant - Que la Femme de Chambre attende la réponse et ne pas sonner et entrer aussitot
Location: - Côte Amalfitaine - Centre Amalfi et ne pas hésiter à emprunter les étroites ruelles
Pour un Prix comme celui-ci, nous nous attendions à une chambre on ne peut plus confortable, avec un Bar que l'on peut ouvrir sans y mettre toute sa force
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal Canada

Incredible Views

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The views, the pool was out of this world and the balcony view was unbelievable.
Cons: The workout room was substandard.
Location: The location was not as close to the ocean as I believed; however, they offered great shuttle service and a private beach.
The views from the hotel were fabulous. We were greeted with a warm welcome and the room was great with an excellent sea view from a large balcony. It was very comfortable. The pool was excellent, set in rock and a great view. The shuttle service ran regularly to make sure that the guests had plenty of options to go and come from Amalfie and the private beach. We loved it and would stay there again.