Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Incredible Views

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The views, the pool was out of this world and the balcony view was unbelievable.
Cons: The workout room was substandard.
Location: The location was not as close to the ocean as I believed; however, they offered great shuttle service and a private beach.
The views from the hotel were fabulous. We were greeted with a warm welcome and the room was great with an excellent sea view from a large balcony. It was very comfortable. The pool was excellent, set in rock and a great view. The shuttle service ran regularly to make sure that the guests had plenty of options to go and come from Amalfie and the private beach. We loved it and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel fantastic views

Posted Jun 4, 2014
excellent hotel , best hotel breakfast choices ever had . evening alacarte rather plain . views of amalfi amazing . pool very good sadly shade after 4,30 pm .excellent van to amalfi,too far toowalk ,advise dont bring own car . amalfi rroads in area terrible todrive onnarrow twisty andarge coaches the other way.excellent showers. hotel rules some seem rather petty. for hygiene reasons visitors asked not to bring own food into hotel so you only buy theirs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

NOT SO GRAND EXCELSIOR!!

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Great View Staff were helpful Free Parking Free bus service down to Amalfi
Cons: Condition of exterior & interior of building Quality of breakfast Dry rooms out Jug etc to make hot drinks in room
Location: Great view Good walks
Didn't expect the Ritz but very disappointed with the general up keep of the hotel so much so we drove past the Excelsior looking for the Grand further up the Hill. ( It only has a sign with Excelsior on top of the Hotel ) Our stay was early May and we unfortunately didn't time the sunny weather we were hoping for so didn't use the pool. Disappointed the cave bar wasn't open due to maintenance. We were put down in the garden house which meant we had a plenty of space but the room was very damp so had that stale smell and the hotel staff couldn't get the heat pump going. We were not impressed with the quality of the breakfast with its processed produce and after what we had experienced at the other hotels we had stayed at in Italy we chose to skip breakfast after the 1st morning. If this Hotel rates its self a 4 star establishment I think they have to have a good hard look at their over all product because we would rate them a 2 star from the experience of our stay.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Kew, London

25th Anniversary celebration

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Terraces, views, bar and restaurant staff
Cons: Rooms, balconies need to be refurbished. Broken batyhrooms need fixing, terrace furniture needs replacing.
Location: Easy to get to Amalfi with the courtesy bus, Pogerola and Gerry's fantastic pub are up the road
We had stayed at this hotel before and had an excellent time. However, 7 years on and the hotel is in need of some improvements. We had booked a superior room and received a garden suite which we though was an upgrade. However, instead of having a larger bedroom, this was now very small with nowhere to out clothing. The shower was appalling, barely functioning. On the other level was a lounge with a sofa, chair, tv that didnt work, bathroom with jacuzzi but the plug was broken and so this was also useless. Even the mini bar had no bottle opener. Despite complaining on 3 occasions and being told that either someone would attend shortly or a colleague would be consulted, nothing happened and we gave up. Such a shame and almost ruined our trip. I certainly would not be staying here again, even though the veiws, terraces and restaurant/bar staff are excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yomel from Canada

Say Yes to this

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was high in the mountain with spectacular views. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was well maintained and clean and they provided a free shuttle to the city center was made it very convenient and free is always good. Breakfast was great and had quite a variety. There was only one elevator, which was very slow and small, but having travelled to several European cities, this is normal. Overall a very pleasant experience and would definitely stay there again. I highly recommend other travellers to do the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimmie from Waldorf, MD

Amazing View!

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Best thing about hotel us the view.
Cons: The only complaint would be that the beds were hard.
Beautiful hotel with amazing views. Not in the town but hotel provides a shuttle. The view is worth the small inconvenience of getting into town. Staff was wonderful and breakfast buffet was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henter from Grimsby Ontario

Gorgeous hotel with a beautiful view

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: peace and quiet
Cons: No
Location: 10 minutes by bus or taxi to center of town of Amalfi. Great location as boat and bus service is very readily available.
This hotel was everything we expected. Beautiful view, peacefull and quiet, great terrace's for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was excellent and dinners were as well. A short ten minute ride down to Amalfi with either the complimentary shuttle bus or the local Sita bus ($2.50 Euro). We walked to the little town of Pogerola (10 minutes uphill) were we had dinner a couple of nights. The restaurant (La Campannina) was beautiful as well as the food and service. Well worth the walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good place if you don't mind the daily ride.

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: The view was spectacular and the staff was very helpful.
Cons: Some remodeling of the rooms, definitely outdated.
Overall the hotel is fine but couple of things bothered me. First, the fact that on the website they don't suggest at all the idea, that they are not located in the centre of Amalfi but about 15 min away (driving), although they provide a shuttle service that goes up and down. The second thing that was a bit more disappointing is that we booked a suite for my in-laws, and their suites are built on two floors. The main floor where the bedroom is, was very tiny and then downstairs there was plenty of room (leaving room/TV area/terrace), which you really never get to use, unless you spend your day at the hotel. But i think a 4 star hotel should advertise clearly their facilities, because you don't expect surprises especially when you are paying more money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from israel

Great Location Fantastic Service

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
the hotel is located in the best location in amalfy. from the hotel you can see all the amlfy cost. The Staff at the hotell were so attentive rooms and grounds were fabulous great views there is a shuttle to the city. there is a fabulous private beach to the hotel. We had one of our best holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Spectacular views!!

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spectacular views down to Amalfi - great hotel, excellent staff and service.