Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dorset

Plain and simple, no frills, or style

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The shower head (even with the superfluous lighting)
Cons: The price point, and some individuality, and help with the bags. The porter walked me to my room but did not offer to help carry even 1 of my 5 bags!
Location: Ravello, Villa Cimbrone, Amalfi Paper Mill Museum
Coming to Amalfi after Positano wase a tough act to follow, and similarly the hotel I stayed in here did not compared to the hotel in Positano - The Miramare, which was cheaper and better in all areas. The surrounding area of this hotel is run down and shabby, and certainly not inviting. The hotel itself is clean, and simply furnished, but there is very little attempt to add any warmth or individuality to the corridors or rooms. The room itself was a good size, with a large bathroom and the large terrace. Sadly the terrace was not really private from the other terraces, which did not make it feel inviting to relax on. The mini bar is so well hidden I only found it as I was leaving the room ( hidden behind a grill panel without any markings). The bed (2 humped singles pushed together) tended to make you roll onto the join. All in all, a basic hotel being charged at a higher than basic price, so not value for money with breakfast, wifi, and parking all charged as extra's (to be paid in CASH ONLY) I would not want to stay here again. In fact Amalfi as a town, is more of a gritty cruise ship shopping outlet. The restaurants I was recommended were all closed, so the ones I tried were forgettable. You might get a better experience by spending time in the day here in Amalfi (venture through the town to the paper mill museum, which was the highlight for me), then head up to Ravello for a memorable overnight base, with stunning views and culture, and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by HRHElizabethfrom South Bend, Indiana

Sounds of waves & picturesque views

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, steps from the beach and marina and a 4 minute walk to town makes this hotel one to return to again. The comfortable lobby along with the kind and helpful staff was welcoming. Hearing the waves coming to shore lulls one to sleep peacefully after a day of sailing and shopping. The shower was small but effective. Sadly breakfast was not included but the stunning views of Amalfi were worth the extra cost. Truly a gem shining bright in Amalfi.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

写真のイメージに裏切られました!!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: フロントスタッフがそこそこ親切で英語が話せたこと。
Cons: 写真を加工しすぎています!写真にだまされないように気を付けてください。
8月に宿泊しました。ホテルの写真を見てとても素敵だと思い決めたのですが、実際宿泊してみたら1つ星か2つ星のホテルぐらいに、なんの飾りもないホテルで、部屋に入った瞬間にだまされた!!と思いました。他のレビューがほめているのが理解できません。オーシャンビューと言っても、海岸の端っこがかろうじて見えるだけです。ほんと、失敗したと思いました。詐欺ではないかと感じるほどです。決してお勧めできません!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nimes

hotel accueillant,en bord de mer

Posted Aug 16, 2014
une chambre confortable avec vue sur mer,une magnifique terrasse sous une pergola de verdure et de fleurs dominant la mer,un personnel aux petits soins qui a meme accepté de garder la voiture et les bagages 24h supplementaires dans le garage (fermé) de l'hotel un excellent point de départ pour rayonner, grace aux innombrables transports maritimes,sur toute la cote Amalfitaine et Capri ... à recommander
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carstenfrom Ribe Danmark.

Elsker det sted.

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Elsker det hotel eneste minus er det er ved at være ret dyrt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lima, Peru

Nice sea view far from the noise

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location, nice staff and service, nice and clean rooms with air condition, small tv, free wifi and frige
Cons: Needs a pool and the TV size can be increased
Location: Amalfi is a great place to explore all the cost and visit nearby towns like Positano and Ravello or to take day excursions to Capri
This hotel is walking distance from the city center of Amalfi (bioth bus stop and pier) in a quiet area in front of the sea. The oinly thing missing was a pool given that beaches in Amalfi are small and overcrowded
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester UK

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly service, especially from the expat Boltonian, comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast coffee could be stronger.
Location: Amalfi cathedral is interesting and quite spectacular, especially the cloister. The paper-making museum is modest but good. Ravello beautiful.
We enjoyed our stay at Aurora. It is at the quiet end of Amalfi, ten minutes walk from the centre but away from the bustle. It is right by the large breakwater which offers a pleasant and interesting walk over the harbour and looking back to the town. Hotel very welcoming and very helpful with information and travel tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great location!

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for two nights in June 2014. Hotel is very conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal, but a flat 10 minute walk, not up the steep hill like so many other hotels. We had a small terrace with a view of the ocean, which was fabulous for evening cocktails. There is a small refrigerator/mini-bar to keep things chilled. The shower is the smallest I've ever seen, but it got the job done. You have to turn sideways to get in and out of it. Our room was on the top floor, which was not served by an elevator, so we had to carry our bags up one flight of stairs. The staff were always helpful, and the maids kept the room clean. Beware opening the door to the terrace in the early evening lest mosquitos invite themselves in. All in all, a good hotel in a great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Greater Manchester

Ideally situated hotel which met our requirements

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The location first and foremost (one of the reasons we chose it). Five minutes gentle stroll to the middle of Amalfi, along the front of the Marina.
Cons: Upgrade the bar area and it seemed underused and a little forlorn - which was a shame as it was a nice area which could be so much more appealing
Location: Superbly located - boat/scooter hire very close, short walk to town centre and many more eateries. (Recommend Andrea Pansa for pastries - delicious!!)
After battling with the Italian Public Transport System (largely due to inaccurate information in all the guidebooks and online) we finally arrived in Amalfi some seven hours or so after landing at Naples. A bus to Naples Central Station, the Circumvesuviana to Sorrento, and then a two hour bus ride were the modes of transport utilised. Ideally situated along the seafront from the bus station, meaning no hills/steps to negotiate, we easily found the Hotel Aurora. The welcome, after a somewhat tiring day, was just what was needed; genuinely warm and friendly, and also in English. Andrew (I believe his name was) advised that our arrival was timed excellently as we could freshen up, get some dinner (perhaps at one of the several establishments with which the Aurora has agreements), and (if we could stay awake) a free firework display in the harbour. Our arrival coincided with the feast day of St Andrea, the patron saint of Amalfi and there was a festa in his honour that evening. The welcome pack from the hotel was very useful, containing information about the Hotel, Amalfi itself and some of the excursions which were available and could be booked through the hotel. All of the staff spoke English, to varying degrees (thankfully, as neither my wife or I are big Italian speakers) and always had a Buongiorno or Bon Sera for us. Without sounding trite, they made you feel like part of the family, so much so, we didn't want to leave. It was a very good base for excursions.