Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Fantastic location and service... but those steps!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: 1) The position 2) The service and attentive staff 3) The ambience 4) The breakfasts - superb
Cons: 1) Bedroom light switching was slightly mysterious, probably advanced, but maybe too advanced for me 2) Hand held shower 3) Difficult to find
Location: Maiori is well placed to visit the coast (Amalfi Positano) but the coast road is not for the timid driver. Pompei's a must but take an organised tour
The hotel is cut into the side of a high cliff among terraces of lemon trees and is approached by it's own funicular. It has several terraced cactus gardens and an "infinity" pool overlooking the bay. Standing on the terrace or on your balcony the views are unsurpassed. We had a very pleasant stay in the Botanico for my wife's special birthday and the staff couldn't do enough for us. It has an intimate, comfortable feel and breakfast on the terrace was an experience to be remembered. Our room had two French windows leading on to each side of the large wrap around balcony. Hot water is always instantly available and towels and bedding were frequently changed. The staff are obliging and helpful and every whim is attended to, sometimes before you're aware of it yourself. However, I would not recommend it for anyone with a disability or limited mobility, as above the funicular there are a further 74 steps before you reach reception. Thank goodness for the willing help with suitcases. I guess that's the price to pay for the views. The food is excellent, although the main restaurant is expensive. Food is also available on the terrace or in the hotels own pizza restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro in Maiori

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Excellent hotel with beautiful views of the sea. Three restaurants to chose from onsite all of which had great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 night stay

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Good clean room with large balcony and truly brilliant views over the Amalfi coast. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Signposting to the entrance. Hotel is at top of a hill with no road up. You need to go in thru' road to another hotel and take llift/funicular up
Location: Just off coast road through Maiori. Local twon is nice as a base. Trips by cab to nearby, Amamfi, Ravello etc are expensive but worthwhile
Very happy with the hotel, staff and location. Exceptional views and quality of room and service. Nice swimming pool. Only negative is trouble finding it. Hotel Botanico is halfway up a cliff with no road up. You need to go in through a road to another hotel (Pietra Di Luna) round the back of it and then take llift/funicular up to a further set of steps to get to reception. Havingsaid that any trouble finding it pales into insignifigance when compared to all the positives. I highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pradeep from London

Superb service

Posted May 20, 2014
Cons: Directions to get to the hotel need to be made available to expedia bookings. The shower in room 204 doesnt work very well.
Great views, small but comfortable rooms, outstanding service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise and Nick from UK

Excellent Hotel for luxury break

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: excellent breakfasts and very friendly service. swimming pool also lovely.
Location: Great bus service to Amalfi or Salerno - boats also available weather permitting. Lovely walks along the coast and into the hills/mountains.
We had a fabuluous holiday in this hotel. The staff are really helpful - especially the breakfast team who helped make our stay a really wonderful experience. The surroumdings are beautiful, infinity pool the most relaxing experience and the location is ideal for exploring the whole Amalfi coast. We would thoroughly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel & location

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: The staff - the gorgeous view and the breakfast
Perfect location to relax and enjoy the best Maiori / Amalfi coast has to offer. The staff were super friendly and always approachable. Also as everyone have already mentioned the breakfast was great. One of the few places/hotels that I would gladly return to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Boston, MA

Lovely lovely relaxing stay!

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: The balcony, the staff, the robes and slippers and the breakfast!
Cons: the steps up, but they are building an elevator
Location: Maiori is a small town right on the sandy beach that has access to boats and busses to Amalfi, Positano and Capri. Really a great escape!
This was our second stay here. Everything was as lovely as we remembered. Room was prefectly clean with large fluffy towels, robes and slippers. Large balcony overlooking the water and town. Huge breakfast buffet had lots of cheeses, grilled vegetables, fresh eggs made to order,and also delicious sweets. Amazing views. This hotel is getting an elevator this summer! The staff is really friendly and kind. We asked for a tour of the other rooms, and wow, all the rooms we saw had the amazing water views, balconies, unique tiles, pretty color schemes. My fiancee went for a swim (April!) in the infinity pool while I lounged. Certainly a first class property. This town is a break from the touristy noise of the other Amalfi towns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SJG from London, UK

Lovely hotel but with some reservations

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: Location, quiet, cleanliness, decor, beautiful gardens
Cons: Inexperienced waiting staff
Location: The hotel is in the beautiful village of Maoiri, up 210 steps. A fairly quiet resort frequented by many Italians and not over touristy.
This is a very pleasant, quiet, beautifully decorated, spotless hotel in a lovely location (up 210 steps) but I am not sure it warrants the 5 stars it professes to be. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as it is expensive and the food for breakfast was varied but the same uneaten cakes seemed to reappear for several days. Also a cooked breakfast is available but there is no menu and what you are offered depends on who serves you. Drinks are offered at the swimming pool but on a rather adhoc basis. Most of the staff try their utmost to please but there seems to be an overall lack of management supervision and direction particularly with regard to some of the restaurant staff who are young and inexperienced. However when we complained about the restaurant service and issues with the tap in our room which the hotel failed to repair after several requests the manager was most upset and upgraded our room and could not have done more for us. The owner owns a restaurant and hotel in the town and spends most of his time there - I think the hotel would benefit from him being around more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Boston, MA

Beautiful property with many thoughtful details

Posted Aug 3, 2012
We had the most amazing stay here. The room was superbly clean, linen sheets, large fluffy towels, Frette robes, flat screen TV with Sky satelite, WIFI and a large balcony with water views. The service was very polite, the outdoor patio with views was amazing at breakfast and in the evenings for cocktails. The infinity pool overlooked the water and had large towels, lovely white chairs and cocktail service. Finally, we ordered massages on our balcony, what a treat. You really should take advantage of this on your first morning and relax your way into vacation, you will not regret it. The therapist brought in the table and did a great job. The only downside to this property was the inital walk up from the main street, but they had guys to carry our luggage and after the first time, it seemed shorter and like a nice way to close out the day. In addition, we had our small dog with us and they were very kind to him, which goes a long way in our book. 100% we would recommend this hotel and plan to return.