Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Brilliant location and staff!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast. The lovely terrace. The balcony sea view. The hotel staff (Luca and Anna, and the kitchen staff!!)
Cons: Perhaps having wifi in one's room (if being fussy) - there is wifi in the foyer though. A kettle in one's room (again fussy).
Location: A roughly 20min walk from the town centre (and a shuttle service exists from the hotel), lots of restaurants, cafes, shops, and a few beaches!
This hotel made the Amalfi experience amazing. The location is literally a less than 20min walk to the beach, the view outside of the window is simply breathtaking and never gets old. I highly recommend getting a sea-view room, as it makes all the difference in the world to step onto your balcony and see the ocean. I'd say for the location and the service, this hotel is a fantastic bargain. It's quiet, safe, and a joy to be in. The furniture is super quirky, but the whole hotel had a character about it, a feeling of being in someone else's family home, which to me was perfect! Highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anne from carlton mn

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: The view, the rooftop terrace, the delicious breakfast, the comfortable bed, the congenial staff, and the location because we love to walk.
Cons: On the website the description of the Mediterranean garden view cloud be less misleading---it was a wall of vines. Could be disappointing.
Location: Less than a mile from Amalfi town and beach. Pleasant walk. Bus service. OK pizzeria and and excellent restaurant with breathtaking view close by.
We stayed at this hotel on our trip to Amalfi in mid-October. I booked it online. I was a little nervous when the bus dropped us off at night in front of this place that didn't exude charm. We were welcomed by a man who spoke little English which happens in a foreign country! And the daytime staff was much better in that department. I was holding my breath when we were directed to our room desperately hoping we had the sea view I had requested. I was not disappointed. We could throw open the windows and drink in this amazing view that far surpassed what I had seen online--the sea, the mountains in the distance, the little town of Amalfi tucked down at the base of the tall rocky cliff off to our left. The view was even more amazing from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was perfect---cappacino! The less than a mile walk to town was a pleasant one. The price was right. Don't pass this one up! We loved it!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by janae

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiwi backpackin from S

Beautiful view of the ocean

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Great friendly staff, excellent range of breakfast. Rooms are nice with great view of Amalfi. 10mins walk to centre of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The view is fantastic. Patio is wonderful and is in a good location for going to central and other cities if you have a scooter or car.
Cons: Would be nice to have wifi in the room and variety in the breakfast served.
Location: rent a scooter with delivery and go all over!
There are great views from the balcony, it's unbelievably beautiful in Amalfi. The shower is small, but the place very clean and comfortable. Free breakfast. No wifi in the room, only in the lobby. Also, you must walk to get food during the day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing coastal views

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Coastal views, Helpful staff, close to Amalfi centre
Cons: Because we were a couple the single beds stuck together were a little uncomfortable.
We stayed at Hotel De Cavalieri during our stay in Amalfi. We woke up to the most amazing views of the ocean every morning and had a private balcony with sun beds. The hotel was perfectly placed with only a short walk into the main centre of Amalfi. The hotel staff were very helpful inparticular the gentleman at the reception who was always very helpful and went out of his way to make suggestions of what we need or give us the right information. The hotel is a perfect stay to feel like your in an authentic Italian home and central to everything you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London

A Hotel to recommend.

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Everything except the pillows!
Cons: Yes, change the pillows to softer ones.
Location: Easy reach for buses, boats and a reasonable walk to the town centre. The description on the website was accurate about the length of the walk.
Friendly staff, well- appointed, nice aspect, plentiful breakfast and, overall, great value for money. Our only point about room comfort, and what has led to our lower rating on that aspect, is that the pillows were rock-hard and nothing could be done about them. We asked for second pillows and they were just as hard! A small point but the difference between a good night's sleep and difficulty in resting properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Sydney

Hotel Dei Cavalieri - Seaview Room with Terrace

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: The location was great and the staff were really helpful. I loved that my room had the terrace where I could just walk out and look at the view.
Cons: The shower was luke warm in the morning, cooler at night, not hot & the bathroom small. Wi-fi service was a bit poor and my room lacked a fridge.
Location: On the main road, nothing specific at this location but an easy walk to Almafi with a vast array of buses, ferries, tours, beach, restaurants & shops.
After a week in Tuscancy I wanted to stay somewhere close to Almalfi town, near the water but not up high with hundreds of steps. I paid extra for the 'seaview' room and after I booked, contacted them directly and requested that my room open out to the terrace which they easily accommodated and I wasn't disappointed! The view was exceptional!! As far as you could see was the Almalfi Sea and sky!! The easy 15 min walk into town was a pleasure, otherwise if you timed it right, you could take advantage of the free shuttle service. They only catered for breakfast, however, could help order pizza for you if required or you could just walk into town with tonnes of restaurant options. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and it was a pleasure to stay there. I went alone and I felt very safe. They also accommodated my late check-in on my arrival night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Location and old world charm
Location: Easy walk to Amalfi or the bus stops out side the front door or use the hotel shuttle
The hotel was a delight, not 5 star but the staff made up for that, nothing was a trouble. We were given a villa on the coast side overlooking the Amalfi coast. The pluming was a bit noisy but the villa was 400yrs old with cathedral ceiling, balcony and a bed sooo big. We loved place and will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jj from cleveland

Gorgeous Amalfi- hotel was okay

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay at the Hotel dei Cavalieri for 3 nights in August 2013, The location is about a mile walk from downtown. The walk down isn't bad, but the walk back up the mountain is brutal. A taxi ride is $15. Staff was pleasant. The rooms were clean but TINY. The shower was a horrible 3x3 stall with a shower curtain. Breakfast was good.