Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Old World charm, in an old hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. And solid WiFi (in the room).
Cons: Wiring must be 50 years old. Restaurant poor: Breakfast OK, dinner disappointing; house wine tasted like Mogan David...unforgivable on Amalfi Coast
Location: Enjoy the stunning beauty of the Amalfi Coast, the ever-winding streets, the buildings clinging to the sheer embankments/cliffs, and the Limoncello!
Situated on perhaps the finest piece of waterfront property in Amalfi, with a view of the harbor and just a three minute stroll along the boardwalk from either fine dining or shopping, the Hotel La Bussola is a first timer's delight. Bussola means compass in Italian, and either they've lost theirs or the aging owner has hidden it. WiFi works in the room and across the street (!) but not in the (so-so) restaurant. There's only one spare outlet, and it's in the bathroom. A shakily translated note (dog-eared) in the Welcome binder states that 'large electrical apparatices' are not to be connected. So, no surprise: there is no teapot. If you want coffee before 7:30 you have to walk into town. A lovely three minute stroll; but still. But wait! All is not complaint. The view through the french doors leading out to our small balcony were gorgeous, the sea breeze invigorating, and our bathroom had not only a shower but a jetted bathtub too! I tried to use it one day, drew a bath and slipped into the warm water. Only then did I discover it wasn't actually wired in. No large electrical devices, remember? Dad should turn the reins over to someone who will sink some money into re-wiring the place and hiring a new chef.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Amalfi Adventure

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Bathroom Shower.
Location: Short walk to the Plaza, Tour Buses, Taxi and Bank. Book a tour or catch the Ferry to Capri.
Our hotel was located directly across the harbor. We were fortunate to receive a view room with a balcony. The only exception was the bathroom. The shower was so small that if you dropped anything you would not be able to pick it up. The hotel breakfast was adequate with cold cuts, cheese, juice, fruits etc. The plus on this hotel is its location. Walking distance to the Plaza and to tour buses. Lunch at Da Maria Pizzeria and Marina Grande on the beach was delightful. Our 4 day stay in Amalfi was great. A city built on the side of the cliff landscaped with lemon orchards. Be ready to walk alot of steps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cardiff

Hotel in great position

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Positioned overlooking harbour, lots to see with a room sea facing. The breakfast was basic but adequate. It felt as though the hotel could have done more to sell itself. The staff throughout were helpful and friendly. The general decor in the public areas appeared a little dated, but we would return due to position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie Rossiterfrom Warwickshire

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms abit dated beds very uncomfortable aswel as pillows aircon not very good . But cleanliness service was excellent .location was fantastic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

Emplacement idéal

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Personnel sympathique, à l'écoute Chambre petite, salle de bain petite douche étroite
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rana Besadafrom Dubai

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a perfect location !! The view from the room is spectacular and amazing . Can't be described by words . The location is close to the port and the main square of Amalfi . Can't be any better. The Service was amazing , the reception ladies are extremely helpful and informative. The drawbacks are as follows , the bed was soooo uncomfortable, the rooms are very old but that is the trend in all Amalfi. They brought two single beds and attached it together which was so uncomfortable and the bathrooms were soo small. Otherwise everything else is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ontario, CA

It's just ok. Staff is very nice n helpful

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Staff is extremely nice n helpful, n guided us a lot. We had 2 rooms. One was terribly laid out, n one was ok. U feel u r in a camp not a decent hotel. Cost is too high for the quality u get. Breakfast is limited variety.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jasfrom GB

Great service with a good location

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful and friendly staff. Bent over backwards to deal with my wife's gluten allergy. Buffet breakfast was fine. We tried the set evening menu a couple of times and it was good value. The location was excellent, next to a harbour and a short walk into town. A little noisy in the evening so be aware of that. The room had a nice sea view and free wi-fi. We had some issues with the air-con at the start but the staff advised us on the knack of getting it to work. Would use the hotel again if we come back Amalfi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bertilfrom København

Flot velholdt hotel med gode forhold.

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Meget venligt personale og hotellet nyt og rent. Det ligger tilpas væk fra Hovedgaden med alle restauranterne så der er roligt om aftenen. Vi havde en dejlig balkon med havudsigt og hotellet har egen badebro som dog kunne være lidt svær at få plads på hvis ikke man spærrede ligestole med håndklæder fra formiddagsstunden. Der er en mindre strand ikke langt derfra. Vi kan anbefale båd til og fra de andre byer frem for bus. Alt i alt en god oplevelse men måske lidt i den dyre ende. Morgenmadsbuffeten var i øvrigt fin nok uden af at være prangende.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Helt okej men inget extra

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helt okej hotell utan det lilla extra. Bra läge om du ska bo i Amalfi, men deras egen "strand" var inget vidare. Trevlig service, rent och fräscht rum, okej frukost.