Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlos from Mexico City

Very good experience, and specialy de service

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The view, the high quality service and the facilities
Cons: None
Location: There is a lot of small towns near by and you can use this hotel a your base
This was our first time in this town, and this was the perfect hotel for our plan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeannette from New Orleans, USA

Nice hotel on the Amalfi Coast

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location
We really liked this hotel, they provided a shuttle to town, and that was very helpful. The rooms have a great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and excellent food.

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Location: Vietri sul Mare very quaint and friendly. Coast road round to Amalfi, Ravello and Portofina quite challenging but beautiful. Pompeii day trip.
Fine. A good holiday. Weather very warm for October/November.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by LSchnarr from Vancouver, Canada

Need to up their game

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel because it wasn't in the touristy areas of Almalfi & Positano. It is about a 40 min. drive on a very windy stretch of road to Almalfi. This hotel has lovely dining patios and a good breakfast but they need to up their game in several areas. i.e. improve the bedding & pillows, improve hospitality services, keep their patios cleaner and neater, refresh the outdoor fitness area, keep pool towels available for morning swimmers (they were not available until 11: am) and improve their menus. When we arrived in the mid afternoon there was little food available. It would have been wonderful to sit on one of the patios, soaking up the gorgeous views while sipping on a drink with something other then french fries. Antipasto would have been perfect with some cheese & fruit. Nice pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anna from Oregon

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel overlooking hillside town of Vietre Sul Mare. Staff was helpful with printing out train and bus schedules. Breakfast ample, excellent coffee, attentive waitstaff. Fabulous view from terrace. Nothing to walk to but there is a hotel shuttle into town and to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Swan from NY

Breathtaking view hotel that needs a facelift

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Views and food
Cons: Guest rooms, in general
Location: Take ferries to explore towns along the Amalfi Coast
Great location on the cliff offers the hotel breathtaking views of the Mediten Sea from almost anywhere. Excellent food and warm servicing staff. If only they could give the guest rooms a good facelift, provide more higher quality bed linens, and actually have wifi work in the guest rooms too, this hotel would be a piece of heaven.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NK from UK

3 Star Standards, 5 Star Prices

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The positives about this hotel are the ease of which the hotel can be accessed from the motorway from Naples, the proximity of some key tourist destinations including Pompeii and finally the stunning view over Vietri and Salerno, although this is not unique to the Hotel Raito. The negatives are many. If you benchmark this hotel against most true 5 star hotels in Europe and the US, Hotel Raito falls well short. The vast majority of staff in the pool side bar, the outdoor grill and the restaurant, with the exception of Giovanni, were poor. They lacked attentiveness to guests and in many cases lacked anywhere near the style of service skills and proactiveness with guests one should expect from a 5 star establishment, with virtually non-existent management presence. As for the bedrooms, they are very basic and lack any high quality refinement, which is also true for the public spaces. The room quality better reflects a 3 star standard. The spa at the hotel is below the expected standards. The member of staff that we had the misfortune to deal with was rude, abrupt and had clearly missed her class on guest etiquette and the quality of the services that they offered was rushed and below sub-standard. In summary, the hotel appears to be relying on the scenic views to deliver their guest experience but the standards they offer really let them down.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Very poor hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel offers laundry service but when you submit for service you are told it cannot be done. Shower drains backup. Electrical outlets in rooms do not work. A mess!
2 out of 5
by SM from UK

The ONLY thing 5* was the view

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: The view and the room service breakfast.
Cons: Beds, staff, food.
Location: Be warned, taxis are extraordinarily expensive. For example, the 5km trip to Salerno to take the ferry was 40 Euro....100 Euro to Amalfi.
I did read a few reviews before booking this property that mentioned the beds were uncomfortable....my word I wish I'd taken heed of these comments.....if a decent night’s sleep features on your agenda for a relaxing stay, you need read no further, just book elsewhere. We had a room in the Serene wing and the bed was beyond uncomfortable. On a positive note, the view is beautiful, utterly beautiful and the room service breakfast was exceptional....the quality, quantity and selection of food were all fantastic. Lunch at the casual pool/beach restaurant has views out over the sea but the food and beverage selection is very limited.....I asked for a wine list "We don't have one, we can offer you a glass of local white, red or rose, which would you prefer?" was the response. There was no children's menu either. We opted for fish (came simply grilled with no seasoning or dressing for the salad) and pasta, both was fresh and simple....if you like your food plain you would have no complaints. I've read a number of reviews that mention great, friendly service....unfortunately this wasn’t our experience. It varied from indifference to Faulty Tower’s style unwelcome entrances into the bedroom! After 3 sleepless nights and no joy in resolving our problems with the hotel we contacted Expedia. The customer service we received was exceptional and a refund for our remaining nights was agreed. Thank you Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: There were really good facilities and a fabolous view
Cons: The food was average to good and maybe this needs to improve
Location: There are a lot of activities such as boat trips, swimming and good restaurenst nearby
A really nice hotel, a little far from the town if you do not have a car. The food was expensive