Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dermot & Jacqui from Belfast, UK

Excellent vacation

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and very good food
Cons: Extra charge for sun beds not made clear - we only knew as we had read a previous review and checked when we arrived.
Location: Excellent location. Easy access to the beach and close to the harbour to catch a water taxi to Amalfi or further. Nearby Ravello really worth visiting
Really nice friendly hotel only a very short distance from the beach. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels provided daily. Good selection of food available for breakfast. You should be aware that the hotel charges €10 per person per day for sun bed and parasol on its private beach but to be fair they didn't charge us for every day and the beach attendant, Angelo, deserves a medal for the way he maintains the beach and looks after everyone - always with a smile on his face. Also worth mentioning is the Kiosk San Francesco just above the beach run by the excellent host Franco - try one of his pizzas or one of his salads for a real fresh, tasty and inexpensive treat - brilliant spot for lunch! Franco and his glorious food really made our holiday very special indeed. All in all the hotel and the nearby facilities added up to an excellent vacation.
3 out of 5
by Mary from Manchester, UK

average

Posted Sep 3, 2011
The hotel location was quite nice as there was buses etc just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The beach was okay but one had to pay for the beach if we wanted to use it, but was not told about it when we checked in, was presented with a bill at the end. The hotel is not at all 4star , but a 3 star maybe 3 star plus, definitely not 4 star. The service was good, staff friendly. Overall ,it was just an average hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over-rated 4 Star

Posted Oct 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
Location: Positano and Ravello, 2 very beautiful towns with amazing views
We decided to splash out on a 4 star hotel and to be honest, the only difference from our lovely 3 star that we stayed in the same week, was the breakfast and a bigger lobby. The hotel was in a souless location. The nice part of the town was the seafront and that was it. The hotel was pleasant but did not warrant a 4 star. The rooms were good size but the toilets, room and the corridors had a horrible drain smell. The meals in the hotel were very expensive if you were not part of a package deal. It was nearer to Salerno and the train station if you wanted to travel to Naples, Pasteum or some of the little towns of Amalfi and Ravello. Other than that, not much to do in the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Hotel San Francesco

Posted Oct 6, 2010 on Hotels.com
This was a very well kept, clean hotel close to the beach in Maoiri. Breakfast was okay, but nothing out of the ordinary. Staff were, in general, polite, but much more friendly to Italian speaking guests than English speaking. There is a charge for wifi like most places in Italy. Also, they attempted to charge us for use of the beach at check-out, though it was advertised as included in the price. After explaining this, the charge was waived. In general, a nice hotel, but I'm not sure if it is really worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Somerville, NJ

Great Hotel

Posted May 12, 2010 on Hotels.com
The room was very nice, comfortable bed, nice view of the ocean from the room balcony, convenient parking in the hotel basement, convenient wireless internet from the comfortable hotel lobby. Their breakfastys were fine with cerials, coffee, juices, breads cold cuts, hard boiled eggs and fruits. Everything was fresh and tasty. Being close to Amalfi was nice but being away from all the parking difficulties and conjestion was better. Fine local restuyrants within walking distance. 2 english language channels was nice as I don't understand Italian. The hotel personel spoke English quite well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Swindon

lovely elegant hotel - extreemly clean - go for the suite

Posted Oct 26, 2008
Brilliant. Everything about this hotel was perfect. Lovely location, very clean and pretty hotel and helpful staff. We only used the restaurant once, but this was ok, and we found enough interesting restaurants in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from norwich

very impressed

Posted Jun 9, 2008
It was a great pleasure staying at the hotel.As a family we were treated extremely well the staff simply could not do enough for us.The hotel is ideally placed for the beach(it has its own)& the town of Maiori.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Value for Money

Posted Oct 4, 2007
We stayed at this hotel during Sept 07 and were pleasantly surprised on first impressions. The room was large and had an additional separate single bed with overall good facilities, a large balcony and options of a ceiling fan or air conditioning. A safe was provided on request to reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a continental buffet with a good selection. There is undergound parking and the car will be collected on request. The location is ideal for the private beach which is 75 metres away but there is an additional daily charge for using the beach. We didnt eat in the hotel but the menu was on display in the reception and looked good for lunch and dinner. The hotel is also at the right end of town for catching the ferry. No real negatives to report.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Even better than we expected

Posted May 30, 2007
Faultless - we were collected at the airport by Luigi the manager - arrived to find hotel spotless and comfortable and very central - can't fault the hotel in any way , we were more than satisfied. Staff friendly and helpful - this was our first proper holiday for 20 years - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Outstanding in Every Way!

Posted Apr 21, 2007
A friend and I just returned from a week on the Amalfi Coast. The Hotel San Francisco in Maori was our base. We chose this hotel because of its location, price, website presentation and the reviews of former guests. It lived up to its accolades and surpassed our expectations. Our third floor room had a private balcony large enough for a table and chairs with an unencumbered view of the beach and the magnificent Mediterranean. It was large, finely decorated and immaculately clean. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. Our day began with a fine breakfast of fresh fruit, ham, cheese, rolls, croissants, yoghurt, juice, choice of tea, coffee or cappuccino in the lovely dining room set with linen cloths and napkins. There is also an outside veranda dining area on the beach side. The front desk staff helped us with taxi service from the airport as well as whatever tour and travel arrangements we needed. They were all friendly, courteous, and gracious. An altogether wonderful holiday made so much better because of the quality of our accommodations.