Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eddie from y

For an incredible experience and luxurious views

Posted Oct 29, 2013
From the moment we arrived it felt like a special place, but it wasn't until we settled in and had a quick walk around did we realise how extensive this hotel is. They have immaculate gardens and views of the sea to die for.
2 out of 5
by Gerald & Sue from Bath, UK.

Hotel Saraceno is not worthy of five star rating

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Very little, bathroom was acceptable, room generally clean.
Cons: Generally everything. Much more consideration should be given to service, lounge facilities unacceptable, dull and uncomfortable, very tired.
Location: Good wonderful panoramic vista. Nothing locally except one very good restaurant nearby. Bus service available to nearby towns stop running at 9 pm.
Very average shabby four star hotel bedroom furniture very worn and generally the hotel needs a major refurb. Majority of guests shared same opinion, staff although polite and tidy were mostly abrupt general attitude given was that they were doing you a favour, rarely smiling. Dining facilities were poor especially during our weekend visit when two weddings clearly took priority and we were squashed into smaller dining area. Food served was below average, no ambience whatsoever. Courtesy shuttle runs to suit staff ie. last bus from Amalfi, 2.5k away was at 8 pm. A taxi from Amalfi to hotel costs 25 euros! No tea/coffee facilities provided in bedroom, pillows very hard, wi-fi only worked in reception area, NOT in bedroom as advertised. Generally this hotel gives impression of age with history when in fact it was built in 1960! Passing tour boats list this as a Saracen fortress, nothing of the sort in fact it is more of a 'folly', not what it seems. Trip Advisor may be interested to read our comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Mediterranean

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Location, views
Cons: The quality and make-up of the rooms needs to be updated. The facilities could be second to none if more attention was paid to the actual room.
Location: Town is only 2km away, and the beautiful scenery will leave you breathless. The driving on the cliff-like roads will likely scare you to death.
The hotel and its location were beautiful. Such history in the hotel, and the dramatic views to the sea, and up the cliffs were incredible. This was just out of tourist season, so there was limited dining options available, but nonetheless, you are paying for the location and the views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy from London

II Sarencena Hotel, Amalfi

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Cons: More choice on the restaurant menu would have encouraged us to eat more in the hotel
Location: Good base for visiting to other touristic places such as Capri, Sorrento, Solerno, Pompei, Positano etc.
We are family of four (2 teanagers)and stayed in the Quadruple Room which was 2 large separate rooms which was perfect. Parking facility is excellent - from the moment we arrived by hire car to the last day the staff parked and brought the car as required In our view the hotel beach is the best.in the area and the hotel has excellent restaurants nearby. The staff were extremely friendly and we loved the style and comfort of the hotel. This together with the unique architecture and history of the hotel made it memorable and special for this first visit to Amalfi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from England, UK

wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: the hotel building was remarkable, I loved it
Cons: nothing at all.
Location: So beautiful, wonderful views
The hotel was fantastic. The views were breathtaking, and the hotel building was truly unbelievable. It is built from an old fort, and has been so cleverly done, the attention to detail was outstanding, really beautiful fixtures and fittings and pieces of furniture.The building is full of tunnels on different levels, the gardens were beautifully maintained, and the hotel always spotlessly clean. The staff were so attentive, but not obtrusive in any way,and were extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely go back to this hotel, and would recommend it. The only people this may not suit is people with young children, as there are a lot of stairs, or lifts to navigate, and the pool is quite deep, but for my own family with older children, it was perfect.
1 out of 5
by Jasmin from new

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at......OLD!!!!

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Everything
Location: You have to take a shuttle to everything
The only thing this hotel has going for it is the view. The hotel is in desperate need of updating. Except for your room the whole hotel has no air conditioning (not pleasant at the end of July) the thread count on the sheets were 0 and the blanket was like a paper towel. This hotel should be rated as a 2 star and not a 5 star. There was not even a small gift shop for incidentals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiki from Los Angeles, CA

Old world glamour.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: The vintage atmosphere. The excellent service.
Cons: The food in the main dining room was terrible. many things came from the freezer. Fish and veg not fresh.
Location: Hang out on the beach. Go to town in the evening, Shop. Enjoy a cocktail on the veranda at sunset. Relax.
We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Il Saraceco. Excellent service and old world glamour. The rooms may be a little dated, which for us only adds to the vintage feel. They're well appointed, clean and very comfortable. The staff bends over backwards to accommodate your every need. Weather its on the beach catering to your every need. Or in the evening on the veranda sipping a Negroni and watching the sunset. Weather a romantic getaway or a family vacation, I would highly recommend a stay at Il Saraceno.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn from Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK

Great hotel to rela

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Own beach and pool. Convenient for Amalfi.
The hotel is handily placed just outside Amalfi with shuttle buses allowing regular travel in the morning and evenings. The hotel itself is quirky, being upside down like many of the hotels in the area but has great styling and decor. One of the best elements is the fact that the hotel has its own beach and also a pool, both of which can be accessed by a lift. The only real criticisms I would have would be that the food menu at lunchtime in the beach bar is limited and sometimes service in the main bar at early evenings was a little slow but these are small in comparison to the qualities of the hotel. I would recommend the hotel to anyone although it is not ideal for those with difficulty in mobility and there were no children when we visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic

Posted Jun 24, 2013
BeUtiful setting, friendly staff, very nice terrace resturant overlooking the sea. Easy access to beach by lift. Car space available. Lovely gardens, Romantic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shell from Hillsboro, OR.

Ideal vacation spot

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: We loved the location and charm of this hotel, it's just a few miles out of town, it has it's own beach area, pool, and nice morning buffet breakfast.
Cons: This is an older hotel and while I believe the guest bathrooms have been updated the rest of the guest room area has not.
Location: Visit Amalfi, and Positano for shopping, site seeing and restaurants, take a boat ride to the Island of Capri
Our family stayed here in early June. The weather was perfect, the hotel's semi private beach is absolutely stunning. The location is something out of this world! The old stone walkways and terraces, and it's fabulous views of the water give this hotel so much character. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, they gave us info on local buses, boat schedules to Capri etc. We loved using the hotel shuttle van that goes into Amalfi and the driver was very friendly.