Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eddie from y

For an incredible experience and luxurious views

Posted Oct 29, 2013
From the moment we arrived it felt like a special place, but it wasn't until we settled in and had a quick walk around did we realise how extensive this hotel is. They have immaculate gardens and views of the sea to die for.
2 out of 5
by Gerald & Sue from Bath, UK.

Hotel Saraceno is not worthy of five star rating

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Very little, bathroom was acceptable, room generally clean.
Cons: Generally everything. Much more consideration should be given to service, lounge facilities unacceptable, dull and uncomfortable, very tired.
Location: Good wonderful panoramic vista. Nothing locally except one very good restaurant nearby. Bus service available to nearby towns stop running at 9 pm.
Very average shabby four star hotel bedroom furniture very worn and generally the hotel needs a major refurb. Majority of guests shared same opinion, staff although polite and tidy were mostly abrupt general attitude given was that they were doing you a favour, rarely smiling. Dining facilities were poor especially during our weekend visit when two weddings clearly took priority and we were squashed into smaller dining area. Food served was below average, no ambience whatsoever. Courtesy shuttle runs to suit staff ie. last bus from Amalfi, 2.5k away was at 8 pm. A taxi from Amalfi to hotel costs 25 euros! No tea/coffee facilities provided in bedroom, pillows very hard, wi-fi only worked in reception area, NOT in bedroom as advertised. Generally this hotel gives impression of age with history when in fact it was built in 1960! Passing tour boats list this as a Saracen fortress, nothing of the sort in fact it is more of a 'folly', not what it seems. Trip Advisor may be interested to read our comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Mediterranean

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Location, views
Cons: The quality and make-up of the rooms needs to be updated. The facilities could be second to none if more attention was paid to the actual room.
Location: Town is only 2km away, and the beautiful scenery will leave you breathless. The driving on the cliff-like roads will likely scare you to death.
The hotel and its location were beautiful. Such history in the hotel, and the dramatic views to the sea, and up the cliffs were incredible. This was just out of tourist season, so there was limited dining options available, but nonetheless, you are paying for the location and the views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ann from Sarasota

Fabulous views!

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel had fabulous views from all rooms and a very handy shuttle service to town every 1/2 hr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the Stay!

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was awesome. People were very friendly and helpful. Since it is a little far from the town of Amalfi, they run a free shuttle hourly during the day. When we missed the shuttle, the driver just gave us a separate ride! We had a room with a beautiful view... only one thing was the AC was broken the first night. But when we called for the service, they could fix it pretty quickly. Wi-Fi was spotty and weak.. but I think that's same for most of the hotels there (or even in other cities of Italy). It's a bit away from the downtown but it has its own private beach which was a big plus for us. And the hotel building is just breathtaking. We had dinner one night and it was good too. We truly enjoyed the stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellen from Short Hills, NJ

Beautiful View, right off the road of Amalfi Drive

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful setting, spacious room and friendly & informative service (They recommended Da Gemma Restaurant in Amalfi which was wonderful!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from Chicago

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location with spectacular views. Food was good and the entire staff was so pleasant and helpful. We had a terrific vacation thanks to Saraceno. Our room was very large with balcony and views of the sea. I would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by tom k from denver, co

visiting the amalfi coast

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
ok hotel, internet did not work all over property including in common areas as advertised. Room was clean and neat. Mattress need upgrading. Nice breakfast. Staff helpful and knowledgeable. Beach had many stones and cold not access water without watershoes. Needs boat shuttle service to support ride into town or trip to other hotel /restuarants that would be best accessed by water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy from London

II Sarencena Hotel, Amalfi

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Cons: More choice on the restaurant menu would have encouraged us to eat more in the hotel
Location: Good base for visiting to other touristic places such as Capri, Sorrento, Solerno, Pompei, Positano etc.
We are family of four (2 teanagers)and stayed in the Quadruple Room which was 2 large separate rooms which was perfect. Parking facility is excellent - from the moment we arrived by hire car to the last day the staff parked and brought the car as required In our view the hotel beach is the best.in the area and the hotel has excellent restaurants nearby. The staff were extremely friendly and we loved the style and comfort of the hotel. This together with the unique architecture and history of the hotel made it memorable and special for this first visit to Amalfi.