Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relax

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were very attentive and helpful
Location: Check out water taxi and local bus routes to get the most out of your trip
The hotel has lost the shine of the 5th star but was still made up for by the attentiveness of the staff. Further out of Amalfi than we would have liked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel is in a beautiful location with great views, but the room was incredibly small and accommodations felt dated. Without a car it was incredibly inconvenient to get around given the location and limited service of the shuttle service. We had mixed experiences with the staff, some of which were incredibly accommodating and others acted as if we were a burden when we called the concierge. We chose the hotel because it was one of the few hotels in Amalfi with a private beach. Unfortunately, when we went down for a swim we were told where we could sit based on the amount of time booked at the hotel. Guests who booked 3 months got an opportunity to sit in the front row, while I was told I had to sit in the last row (we booked 5 nights and 4 days). This is an outrageous policy for a paying customer. Overall, the experience was disappointing and would be hard-pressed to say the hotel lived up to it's "5 star" title.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire england

the views and private beach were wonderful

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: the beach and the view from our room. The room was spacious and comfortable and clean.
Cons: no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The tea and coffee at breakfast was luke warm. Breakfast did not vary/hot option was same everyday.
Location: not walking distance to Amalfi or other areas, needed to drive and parking in Amalfi was expensive. shuttle bus stopped at 8 o'clock in evening.
very pleasant stay at this hotel. the staff were pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views, beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Nice beach setting with cocktails served, pool and whole setting described above
Cons: The rooms should be updated with bedding and d├ęcor.
Location: just on edge of Amalfi but shuttle to town every hour where some cute shops
Loved this hotel. Our room was sparse, could have been updated but spacious and bathroom nice. Staff was wonderful, helpful but the best part was the setting and views - so beautiful, the hotel lobbies, walkways canopied in flowers. Our room opened up to a large stone patio with a beautiful view of the Amalfi and the sea. Ate at the restaurant which was expensive and the food not very good but the view and setting were spectacular!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking views and stylishly decorated place

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Professional and helpful personnel combined with skilfully decorated public areas and breathtaking scenic views helped create a very relaxing and plea
Cons: somewhat dated air conditioner in the room which was rather noisy and not very impressive food quality/menu in the restaurant.
my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Il Saraceno. Professional and helpful personnel combined with skilfully decorated public areas and scenic views helped create a very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Private beach helps create a bit of exclusivity, one doesn't have to squeeze into overcrouded public beach. Hotel offers a shuttle bus to Amalfi with its numerous restaurants. Overall, an enjoyable stay, wouldn't mind coming back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sal from New Jersey

Hotel with a great view, but VERY outdated

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location Bed Room Size Decent free breakfast
Cons: Hotel needs a major renovation, including all the decor and furniture. Very limited AC in the bedroom No AC in the bathroom area
Location: Ten minute drive from the center of Amalfi, close to Positano and a ferry ride from Capri.
This was our first trip to Italy. We toured Rome for a couple of days and then traveled down to Amalfi. We picked this hotel based on the ratings and the view. After my stay, I would not consider this hotel as a four star hotel. One thing I realized is that there are a lot of hotels in Amalfi with a similar view along the same cliffs. The hotel needs major renovation. Its decor consists of a medieval Moroccan theme and the furniture is very dated. With that said, one of the things that distinguished this hotel from others is that it did have a PRIVATE beach with a working elevator. Not all of the hotels have a private beach and or elevator. So that can be a major factor in choosing your hotel. IThe n some cases, it can be difficult to walk up a flights of stairs. At the same time, you're not going to Italy to stay in your room or around the hotel the entire time. So, the hotel can probably meet your immediate needs, but just don't go there with high expectations. The staff was very helpful and were accommodating. Also factor in travel costs to Amalfi. For us, we took the fast train from Rome to Naples, which cost us $84 Euros. However, it cost us $130 Euros from Naples to Amalfi via taxi or private car service. There is public transportation via train or bus, but when you have a lot of luggage, I would not recommend it. Definitely consider staying in Positano, also another great tourist town. Also recommend visiting Capri.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carole from Reading

Excellent hotel, on the beach, fantastic views

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The structure of the hotel and the way it was decorated. Very rustic and atmospheric. Topped off with fantastic views.
Cons: For us it was perfect just the way it was.
Location: Location was 5 minutes drive away from Amalfi. Other areas easily accessable via taxi. Excursions run to Capri, Mount Versuvius and Pompei
The Hotel is built into the hillside and very quirky. Lots of nooks and crannies with fantastic decor and views. It was lovely to have the option of sitting by the pool or sitting on the beach. There are lifts which go to the pool and the beach but I would say that people with mobility concerns may find it difficult, though not impossible. The food was delicious, a little expensive but worth it. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and really appreciate it if you try and speak Italian - great for stiking up a relationship. The Hotel operate a shuttle service to Amalfi and back which was really useful and only takes 5 minutes. The scenary was outstanding. You can make the holiday as relaxing or as busy as you wish. The Hotel offer information on excursions and are happy to help you book whatever you may wish to do. We would not hesitate to go back to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OM from New York

Outstanding property

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: outstanding property, excellent view from room, bathroom is fine
Cons: beach and pool hours should be extended to later hours
Location: Breathtaking location. Free shuttle to Amalfi. I suggest guest to spend a whole day just exploring anf enjoing vast hotel property (garden, beach...)
While room was a bit outdated - antic furniture, the location, garden, decorations, beach, facilities were outstanding. Breakfast was fine. The breakfast terrace is breathtaking - I never had breakfast with such a panoramic view. Restaurant is fine. The property - garden, beach, etc.- is outstanding. Staff is great. Free shuttle to Amalfi - works like a clockwork. The only issue was some loud bunch of guests discussing the arranged marriage problems next to my window for hours - perhaps hotel staff should be more alert to stop this annoying behavior.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Decor was vintage, but walls were very thin, which allowed all noises to penetrate. Didn't get much sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MUKESH from SURREY.ENGLAND

ITS A GREAT HOTEL AND GREAT VIEWS OF THE SEA

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF AND HOTEL WAS IN A GOOD LOCATION AND BREATHTAKING VIEWS ,VERY SCENIC AND ROMANTIC
Cons: THE FURNITURE WAS OLD BUT REFLECTS ON THE ARABIC THEME ,ROOMS COULD DO WITH A BRIGHTER MAGNOLIA PAINT
Location: GREAT LOCATION AND DID TWO WALKS FROM AMALFI TOWN AND ALSO VISITED POSITANO AND ALSO DID A DAY VISIT TO POMPEI /VESUVIO.GREAT PLACE FOR 5 DAYS
THIS WAS AN EXPERIENCE AND A GREAT TIME.LOCATION WAS GOOD FROM AMALFI AND THE FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE WAS HANDY AND WE TOOK THE LOCAL BUSES(SITA) AND HAD TWO GOOD LONG WALKS IN 3 DAYS AND ITS ALL SCENIC ,BUT WE FOUND THAT FOOD WAS EXPENSIVE ,EVEN THEIR LOCAL DELICACIES AND OVERALL WE HAD A GOOD TIME AND FLET THAT WE SHOULD HAVE STAYED FOR 5 DAYS TO EXPLORE THE AMALFI COAST