Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lesliefrom Vancouver, BC

Incredible Experience!

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyone at the the Hotel La Bougainville was a pleasure to deal with and the location could not have been better. My only grievance was the beds were a too firm for my liking but I find this to be the case most places in Europe. Would recommend to everyone to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richfrom Chicago

Fantastic Location, Great Service, Decent Room

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at Bougainville is excellent - very attentive, polite, and helpful. The location couldn't be beat. Just far away enough from the beach for some quiet but not too far that you can't take a 10 min walk down there. Lots of restaurants nearby that were delicious as well. The breakfast was good, lots of good options (some days there were eggs!) - my wife loved the nutella and croissants. We even got a room with a little terrace that was pleasant to sit and read on. There are two "negatives" in our opinion: the a/c barely worked (they claimed it was on, but it really never cooled off) and on occasion our room was still a little dirty (the sheets had stains on them) after the maids turned down the room. It isn't enough to deter me recommending this hotel - I would just double check the a/c when you get in to the room to be certain if you are like me and cannot sleep in the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very friendly hotel in Positano

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at the hotel was incredible helpful, making bookings for us, giving us towels to take to the beach, etc. Our room was nice and clean. The view was not as great as we had hoped- we did not have a view of the sea, could only see part of the town. But there may be rooms available with a better view. The location is perfect, right next to the street to walk down to the beach, shops, and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel- it is a good value for Positano, where hotels are generally very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

amazing staff

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The staff Excellent room, especially for travellers e.g. hanging and storage for luggage Comfy bed Great location - 10min walk to the beach
Cons: Housekeeping was often lateafternoon - would prefer morning
After missing our train in rome, the hotel staff were fantastic in giving advice on the most efficient way to reach positano, even organising a private car to the hotel from the train station. friendly staff at breakfast each morning, and the english spoken was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location near the beach.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: It was very Well located
We love the place, the staff, especially Andrea.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham England

Wedding Anniversary trip

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The only plus point for this hotel is it's location.
Cons: Breakfasts and not to be told that there was no help for the cases.
Disappointing The breakfast - all of the bread and croissants were stale The only access to the hotel is via a flight of steep stairs, so carrying heavy cases if not advisable, when we asked for help we were told there was no porter available. Thankfully for us the guy who did the breakfast and rooms helped us, as we are not as able as we were when we were younger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small boutique hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Greater selection of savoury breakfast items would be welcome.
Location: Quite central, and convenient for most Positano sights.
Our room was very small with a double bed made of two singles attached together. The window looked into an alley with no view. However, as we were only staying one night the accommodation was adequate. The price was high by normal standards but very good for Positano, and the location of the hotel is ideal, with good access to shops, restaurants and the beach. There is no car parking at the hotel but there is a garage immediately opposite. Just be sure not to miss it or you will have another long slow drive round the one way system. Also bear in mind that the hotel is located up a steep flight of stairs, as is common in this town, so be prepared for a bit of physical exertion when carrying bags. The hotel staff were very pleasant, and the breakfast was better than I had expected having read previous reviews. That said, the choice was mainly sweet items (chocolate cake for breakfast!) with only a small selection of meat, cheese and bread. More than enough to eat though, and it was very tasty. If staying longer, you might want to go for a sea view room, but for a short stay this is a good little hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lyon

Hôtel calme, centre ville, plage a proximité

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Réception accueillante, souriante, serviable et de très bon conseil. Chambre correcte et calme. Seul bémol: le petit déjeuner pas au niveau du reste même si la vue est agréable.