Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Visitorfrom UK

Great Views

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great views. basic but perfect. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Nice family run hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Car parking, lovely dark, spacious, cool and quiet room.
Location: Central location to all things on the Amalfi Coast.
We stayed 5 nights. Handy location to path way to the beach, local transport and walk into Praiano. Stunning views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family-run hotel with great food

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Restaurant - Views and food.
Location: Nearby beach is fantastic for a swim or even a whole day by the beach. The restaurants near the church boast lovely views and fresh fish for dinner.
Located in Praiano, this is a quiet stop between Positano and Amalfi, closer to Positano. The food is fantastic and beaches close by. We were here in high season - August - so getting around was not easy. The buses were always full. And if you're prone to motion sickness, get your meds ready before traveling to Amalfi on the Sita bus. The views are stunning from the windy roads but not the most pleasant if you have a sensitive stomach. The hotel is basic, no fridges and you have to carry your own luggage to the second floor - but that's reflective of the affordability. The staff is extremely helpful and as mentioned, the food served at the restaurant fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dundas, Ontario

Hidden Gem on the Amalfi Coast

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: It's a small boutique hotel that has friendly owners who can speak a number of different languages.
Location: Walk down to the beach, visit the bars and restaurants along the path, see the wonderful ceramics in the nearby shops and enjoy the panoramic views.
Open Gate is a lovely hotel just outside Priano, about half way along the Amalfi Coast. It's spartan but still quite appealing, with an excellent outdoor patio and an even better restaurant. Breakfast is included and it's excellent, with lots of different options and delicious pastries. Dinner is amazing, from the wood-fired pizza to the seafood platter, it was by far the best meal we had in Italy. The owners are charming, very nice to talk to and get tips from. The beach is a short distance away, a nice downhill walk. Our room had a lovely patio, with lots of shade and a nice breeze. A great place to stay - quiet and peaceful, with wonderful views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pietrofrom Ariccia RM

Ottima scelta per un' amena vacanza.

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Il panorama, la posizione e la cucina
Cons: Nulla da segnalare
Location: Praiano, che si affaccia sulla costiera amalfitana, domina il panorama da cui sono visibili Conca dei Marini e Positano.
La posizione dell' hotel, con ampia vista panoramica sul mare, ci ha permesso di poter raggiungere facilmente ed in pochi minuti le località più note della costiera come Amalfi, Praiano, Positano. I servizi sono risultati di ottimo livello ed il personale molto cortese. La cucina del ristorante e' da consigliare, in particolare i menu' a base di pesce.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peratoner

Gute Busverbindung auch Bahn zu anderen Orten

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Der Aufenthalt war sehr angenehm. Sehr familiäre Atmosphäre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Mysigt familjehotell

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Är väldigt nöjd med min vistelse på Open Gate. Personalen var otroligt vänlig och hjälpsam. Hotellet var rent och fint och frukost ingick. Fin utsikt och varje rum har en egen liten terass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Open Gate hotel, Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Posted Apr 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
A very friendly family run hotel in a beautiful location on the outskirts of the town. It was therefore a 15 minute walk to the town centre. We were made to feel very comfortable and the only criticism is that the bed was very firm. Food was good and there were a good selection of reasonable local wines. All rooms seem to have a balcony. We were on the second (top) floor and had stunning views out to sea and of the local coastline. The location is good for the Amailfi coast. We had a hire car and Sorrento (for Capri) and Amalfi itself are within easy striking distance. If you are looking for a very lively nightlife then it's not the location for you. Not a 5* hotel, but I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to explore the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great ocean views

Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very easy to find. Off street parking most welcome. Bus outside the door going to all villages along the coast. Not easy to get to the beach, which actually is more of a fishing village but truly worth the walk down to experience it. We stayed at the end of the peak season and the hotel lacked some atmosphere. Despite great terrace eating area there were no other guests dining. Service was friendly from the staff but the owner seamed a bit grumpy when the staff were showing some interest in us. The room was adequate, but the food could benefit from a little more quality. Breakfast was a little on the just okay side; cereal and one croissant, no meats or cheeses. Overall, it was just achieving its star rating.