Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the views from the terrace in the room. Also, right by great restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Panoramic Views. Calm and welcoming ambience. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: We were sad to find the gym was no longer available. Please bring it back. Otherwise cannot fault.
Location: Positano offers a wide variety of boat trips and plays host to some fabulous restaurants Great destination to visit Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento & Ravello
This is one of the loveliest hotels my husband and I have stayed in. Very clean with an old fashioned but elegant charm. Perfect hotel for relaxation but also very convenient location to sight see from. Attentive, happy and helpful staff. The view from our room was amazing. We would highly recommend, we hope to go back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Houston, Texas

Unforgettable views!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Small, charming, quaint
Cons: One of our rooms was a bit noisy, but it was close to an exit by the street.
The hotel is charming and offers spectacular views of the Positano coast. The hotel staff are especially helpful and attentive without being intrusive. It is located about half-way up Positano so you have relatively easy access to the beach - 8-10 minute walk using the stairs or a 20 minute leisurely stroll using the main walkway, BUT it is up high enough to enjoy the beautiful views.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Thomas D. Williams from Rome, Italy

Ruined by pettiness

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. The view overlooking Positano is spectacular and the pool is convenient and fun. Unfortunately, we were left with a very bad taste in our mouths after our otherwise lovely stay because of the behavior of the manager. We had reserved two rooms for a total of five people, and it turned out that our eldest daughter was able to join us at the last minute. They told us that there was not enough space in the room for a rollaway bed, so they asked us to take a junior suite, for €200 more than our original room. We accepted this, but the at checkout they wanted an additional €80 for the rollaway bed in the room where my wife and I were staying with out 11-year-old son. Since everything had been prepaid, it seemed absurd that they were going to insist on still more money for our child, who had originally seemed to be free. When they refused to budge on this we simply paid, but the joy of the experience was dampened by this unpleasantness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancy from New York, NY

Boutique Hotel in Positano

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location and charm of the place.
Cons: Tiny elevator !
Location: Terrific restaurants nearby and great shopping right outside the hotel door or just 5 minute walk to tons of stores near the Marina.
Very charming hotel in a great location. Near restaurants and stores. Can walk out the door and stroll around in either direction for beautiful views of Positano. Helpful staff; great breakfast buffet; terrific terraces overlooking beautiful Positano. Nice pool and deck area, too! We would definitely stay here again. Local Positano bus that tours throughout the village stops just a few steps away, as well. Rooms were comfortable and not tiny (not huge, either) but fine. Bathroom size was better than most, also. Tiny elevator or take lots of stairs to get to your room. This was a house originally and they turned it into a boutique hotel. Really enjoyed our 5 nights here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trixie from Kent

Excellent friendly hotel with spectacular views

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Great position, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful terrace with pool, clean and spacious room.
Location: The Amalfi coast is dramatic, and the views are spectacular. Visit Amalfi, Ravello, Capri, Pompeii and Herculaneum.
Wonderful hotel with friendly, helpful staff, all of whom spoke good English. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking Positano and the sea was a perfect start to the day! Our room had a sea view with balcony. We spent 4 days in Positano, one of them just wandering around the town and its many boutique shops. We were not the only tourists; it became quite conjested on occasions! Driving in Positano is an experience, the lanes being so narrow with tourists wandering everywhere. Nevertheless, there were lots of little cafes with tables outside from which to watch the world go by! There are local buses which serve the town and surrounds, but we had hired a car so that we could go further afield - to Herculaneum and Pompeii, both of which are worth visiting. The hotel charges Euro25 per night to park your car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Ottawa, Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Had an excellent view of the Mediterranean, nice pool and outdoor bar area and an excellent restaurant. The included breakfast was excellent also.
Cons: Hotel was totally satisfactory.
Location: Good location about half way up the mountain. You can walk to the beach in about 15 minutes. A few good restaurants nearby.
I do not hesitate to recommend the Poseidon Hotel as a place to stay in Positano. It is well located about half way up the mountain and our room had a superb view of the Mediterranean Sea. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the restaurant was excellent. In addition there are a few good restaurants within easy walking distance. If I returned to Positano, I would stay at the Poseidon again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Val from London

Superb views of Positano

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: views, friendly staff, a good terrace area and a very good breakfast comfortable rooms and balcony furnished with table and chairs
Cons: towel heaters turned off too early in season May can be cold otherwise all was well
Location: we just stayed in Positano as we have been to area before so it was a relaxing break
Very good position regarding views of Positano but not for elderly or unfit as quite a trek from seafront back to hotel. Hotel boasts a magnificient terrace where weather permitting breakfast is taken overlooking the sea albeit very high up but stupendos views, very nice hotel furnished in traditional style. Although could have done with heating in bathroom as heaters had been turned off. Very nice break weather for 2 days was a bit dodgy but we still enjoyed walking around recommend restaurant on sea fron fish is supurb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brittany from Charleston, SC

The BEST place in Positano.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The furniture is beautiful and the rooms are grand - even the standard ones. The staff is equally great!
Cons: I could have had an extra week on my stay ;o)
Location: Exactly where you need to be to enjoy all of Positano.
The view from the terrace is so beautiful. The staff is wonderful and caring. If you are planning a trip to Postiano this is the place to stay. Hands down one of the best places I have ever visited. Our room was "standard" but had an amazing view from our terrace - I was so happy! Exactly what I was hoping for and more. I love hotel Poseidon.