Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claud from Fairhope AL

Great Staff!!! They made our stay wonderful

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the time we were greeted until we departed, the staff was wonderful and treated us like family. The guest relations coordinator took time to call her uncle in another city to set us up in his restaurant. The weather was chilly, the bad waiter lit the fire and kept it going for us. The view from the room was A+++. This is not a cookie cutter decor. I saw someone complain that the decor didn't match... Those are real oriental rugs and antiques.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liza from Hungerford

The best view in Positano with kind gentle service

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food and the views.
Cons: It seems very petty but the orange juice at breakfast was made from concentrate which seems odd as we were walking past orange trees.
Location: The position of the hotel afforded spectacular views. A short walk to the harbour for boat trips to Amalfi and Capri. Lovely walk up to Montepertso.
We spend 4 nights and still didn't have enough of the beautiful view. The staff were very helpful and kind. Breakfast was made perfect with delicious Italian pastries & lemon cake! We didn't get to use the pool as it was too cold over Easter but eating breakfast on the terrace with the sea view was very relaxing. The room had lovely high ceilings and was spotlessly clean. The window shutters kept the room nice and dark at night though ear plugs helped mute the sounds of passing Vespa's and the church bells ( it was Easter!). I would absolutely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Much too expensive for the quality of the room. Very dingy red, green and yellow brocade in our room unlike the pictures online and in the brochure. Also, our balcony was hardly a walk out balcony...actually unusable. Odd layout of the hotel. The common areas were several floors up. Nice balcony and room for breakfast and lovely breakfast. The location was not very convenient. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Ferris

Charming Hotel, Good Location and Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location and Charm. Great Staff.
Cons: Beds in the room were 2 single beds pushed together (not great on our honeymoon). Mattress was the hardest I had ever used and pillows werent great
Location: Beach is a 10 min walk down hill (I wouldn't recommended for older travellers or those with arthritis)
Nice Hotel in a charming estate. Staff were great. Breakfast was included and was more than sufficient. Free Wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from London

Very friendly hotel in the heart of Positano.

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Location: In the heart of Positano with excursions to Amalfi, Capri. Sorrento and Naples.
Very friendly hotel in the heart of the most stunning resort of Positano. Good value for money in this normally expensive area. Lots of excellent local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from New York, NY

Lovely hotel in town

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Location, view, staff
Cons: Internet service, automatic closures on the interior elevator doors!
Location: Shops and beach are a 5-10 minute walk downhill. Nice restaurants uphill within 3 minute walk, all with great views of town and ocean.
Stayed for four nights. The hotel is half way down hill into town so it is convenient to everything up the hill and the shops and beach down the hill! Staff were wonderful...Veronica at the bar and Angelo at front desk.. The view from the hotel is amazing. Great breakfast and pool area with lounge chairs and a view! ... Bar at night for a glass of limoncello and musicians playing. Only hiccup is internet as you can only really access it in public areas. In the rooms it is spotty service. Would love to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Place on Earth

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Cons: The showers are a little awkward, but its an old hotel, so its to be expected.
Location: The hotel sits up on high and so you are not right on the beach, however, the location gives you an amazing view of the water and the city.
Positano is an amazing city and the Poseidon just added to that experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was inviting and the view was incredible. We cannot wait to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Positano Classic - perhaps showing its age

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lots to recommend this place - great location, good service. It is perhaps showing its age now - so be prepared for a classic 1950s style look at times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Rye NY

Superb location, service and staff

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Angelo and Marco. They checked us in quickly and efficiently, told us about the hotel and got us into our room. Views from our terrace were super. We dropped off our luggage and headed to lunch in the hotel restaurant situated adjacent to the pool. More beautiful views and the food was delightful. Proscuitto and melon, pasta, fish of the day, neopolitan night, pizza - the only bad news I can pass on is that this restaurant is unkind to your weight if you follow the apetizer, primi, secondi, dolci meal progression!!! I gained a few and that included my wife and I swimming every day and walking up to Montepertuso one evening for dinner (1200 steps straight up the mountain!). Poseidon Hotel is well located - it is 350 steps up from the beaches, which takes all of 8 minutes to traverse down and a bit more up. We welcomed the walk back up as a mini workout to amp up our appetite just a little more. We sampled different restaurants for lunch but found the Poseidon restaurant to be a cut above on food and service, plus it was a welcomed respite at the end of each georgeous day at the beach or touring around. Ciao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com