Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet, beautiful views,

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Location: the coast road is "hairy" to drive, but better than over the hills from the motorway - this road is also scary and winds through bad neighbourhoods
useful parking in Ravello, quiet, beautiful views, good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gut gefuehrtes Hotel in toller Lage

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Nachteile sind die nicht gegebene Erreichbarkeit mit PKW (aber guter Gepaeckshuttle zu Parkplatz bei naechstgelegenem Hotel), Hotelrestaurant mit wenig Auswahlmöglichkeiten
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom Bakerfrom Somerset

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We first visited this hotel about 20 years ago and we would not normally return as when you have had a great stay you compare and often it not as good BUT this hotel is as good as our first visit and we intend to go back in 2015 IF YOU want peace, and stunning sceneary visit this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful view. Poor food in snack bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dakar

séjour excellent , cuisine trés fine

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: l accueil la restauration et la vue magnifique
Cons: la taille des chambres et la douche trop petite
Location: village typique italie du sud perché sur une montagne
la visite du potager un véritable trésor , un accueil exceptionnel par une équipe souriante et trés proche de la clientéle, une cuisine raffinée et recherchée tout en gardant le coté gout régional et le chef passionné par son métier et toujours en recherche de la perfection , passion oblige
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful views, friendly staff, crazy parking

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at Villa Maria. Our room was quite spacious and had amazing views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is adequate but at least, like everywhere else in Italy, the espresso is great. On the less positive side, the one dinner we are in the restaurant was nearly 3 times the price of the meals we ate in the town and we enjoyed the town restaurants more. Second minor negative is that the parking is insane. The local I asked for directions described it perfectly "when you turn the corner it looks impossible but it's not." As a North American I have a hard time adjusting to driving on what looks like a sidewalk. All things considered I would still enthusiastically recommend Villa Maria as a great base for exploring the Amalfi Coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancyfrom Los Angeles, CA

A gem worth your consideration

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: We love just about everything. The furnishings in the main hotel area, the restaurant, the terraza for lunch and drinks. We also loved the quiet.
Cons: Hard to find fault with anything. This is a wonderful and relaxing spot.
Location: Visit Ceramiche Cosmolena, Ravello, for beautiful and well made/hand painted pottery.Take the local bus down to Amalfi and then the ferry to Positano
Villa Maria is in the perfect location. A bit off the main Piazza in Ravelo which means it is quiet and tranquil, yet near enough to be close to restaurants and shops. You do have to have mobility as one cannot just drive up to the entrance to the hotel. You park in a car park just off the Piazza and walk about 5 minutes uphill. At first that can be a bit daunting, but assuming you are in reasonably good shape, you will soon find the short hike just part of the ambience. Someone will bring your luggage up for you so you don't have to drag it with you. The effort is well worth it. The hotel is lovely and has a wonderful terrace with an amazing view of the Mediterranean. Try a Negroski or Negroni while there. The restaurant is excellent, and most of the staff are friendly, resourceful and accommodating. Our room (103) was comfortable and had a large window looking out over the hotel garden, vineyard and ultimately down to the Sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter Kostmayerfrom NYC

Amazing place win amazing views

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very charming with amazing views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely spot on our Honeymoon

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: The cooking class
Location: At the top of the hill, so a bit of a hike, which was not a problem for us.
Stayed for 4 nights on our 14 night Honeymoon. Ravello overall was great and we had a great experience with Villa Maria. The restaurant is world class and not to be missed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire

Fabulous setting, disappointing details

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Stunning location
Cons: Poor interior
Location: Set high in the mountains overlooking the Amalfi coast, right on the edge of the hillside. The hotel is slightly out of town, peaceful and beautiful.
Having paid 260 euros and chosen the hotel for its swimming pool and its rave reviews, I would expect the hotel to be quite special and have a swimming pool! However, the pool had no water in and the hotel, whilst being in the most spectacular setting, fell short of expectations. There were holes in the curtains, the mattress and pillows were really uncomfortable so I hardly slept, the shower was an attachment over the bath - and the sides of the bath were so high I could hardly get in! The building itself was absolutely beautiful and the setting was stunning, it was just let down by the lack of attention to detail indoors. I know it is a historical building, but it is still possible to have good facilities and curtains without holes in. The staff were very friendly but seemed to have strange suggestions. We ended up in a completely empty restaurant in another town, on our only night in Ravello, at the recommendation of one man, and another man said it would take 2 hours to get the airport. It takes one hour, so we could have spent longer in the very beautiful Ravello.