Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tim from k

Close to the freeway

Posted Jan 24, 2014
After driving for 6 hours we stopped by candle wood for the night. At first I was annoyed because a trainee probably on his first day was checking me in. The manager about to end her shift had two of kids pretty loud in the back. It took awhile but it's ok with me. The washer and drier is free but buying detergent is 3 bucks for a load. Overall it's well managed and clean facility.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DMTM from Fort Worth

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Coffee is complimentary, but you have to open the cafeteria door with your room key to get to it. Only 2 coffee packets in the room: regular and decaf. No cream/sugar packets. Coffee maker did have old coffee grinds caked on the part where coffee packets are inserted for brewing. Beds hard as the floor - felt like sleeping on concrete slab. Full size fridge was making loud noises throughout the night with the tone similar to high pitched voice of donkeys. Minimal complimentary toiletries: 1 bar of tiny soap, 1 bottle of shampoo/conditioner combo. Despite being presentable on the outside, inside the feel was more like the truck stop, with not really clean feel to it and "funny" smell in the rooms (rented 2 and smell was same). Perhaps carpets cleaning would help to eliminate the smell.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by traveller

Not quiet

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms are large and well-equipped, staff is friendly and accommodating, but the walls are thin, not only between rooms, but between floors. They do not have breakfast, as do most other hotels in this price range. Which didn't really bother me so much since there are nearby restaurants, or you can make your own in the kitchenette, which is what I did. And why I will not stay here again, is that someone left a barking dog in their room while they abandoned the dog in their room until after 10pm on the 3rd floor, while I was on the 4th floor one room over from above the barking dog, but it sounded like it was in the room next door! I had been driving all day across country, was dead-tired, but could not sleep because the dog barked from after 8pm until 10pm NON-STOP until the couple returned. The desk staff offered me another room, but ON THE 3RD FLOOR just 4 DOORS DOWN from the dog! As I was moving to my new room, I realized the dog was on this 3rd floor as it yelped loudly, and the couple returned at that moment after 10pm, so I went back to my original room upstairs on the 4th floor, and it did not bark again that night. I will NEVER again stay at a hotel that allows dogs. After all, this is a HOTEL, not a dog kennel! People pay good money to SLEEP at hotels and enjoy quiet surroundings at these prices! Hello?!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room

Posted Dec 23, 2013
the room itself was clean but the bathroom was very dirty. There was hair in the sink, toilet and tub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Came in for a quick stay with my dogs, got a dog room for an extra $30 a night. Good value with a clean room
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deb from Colorado

Great central location

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very pleased with Candlewood Suites, it was clean, spacious, comfortable bed and furnishings were very nice. When I stay in Amarillo for an extended period, I will stay here. Hopefully they will keep the rooms as nice as they are now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by rebecca cook from amarillo tx

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything about the hotel is perfect. My only issue this trip was I never was able to gst housekeeping to come give clean towels and make beds when leaving request magnet on door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Clean and spacious
Location: Plenty of places to eat near by
Nice, newer feel. Clean!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice extended stay hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Rooms set up nicely, all the comforts of home.
Business Trip for a week in Amarillo. Great location, great staff, great hotel!