Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Amarillo.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Even as the best hotel in Amarillo, it's looking a bit tired. The staff was accommodating in giving me my preferred room location. And the bellman are lovely, friendly gentlemen. I stay here about 6 times a year, and have yet to have a room thermostat that works.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in Amarillo

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Clean and spacious room
Cons: Breakfast included in hotel room
Location: Big Texan Steak House, Palo Duro Canyon State Park
For the price breakfast should be included. Good bar on site
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else if possible

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Hot tub wasn't working. The room was shabby. Enough said.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Night Stay

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Just dropped in overnight due to a cancelled flight. Everything was excellent, neat and friendly staff. Customer Service was outstanding.
1 out of 5
by Linda from Pasadena, Ca

Hotel Disaster

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: zip
Cons: Close it.
Location: Keep driving through Amarillo. Do not stop.
Checked in. 55 degrees. Went up to 60 degrees in 5 hours with someone working on it. Never got above 62. It snowed into the window which was supposed to be closed. Woke up to no water. Room service was horrible. Room was unclean and sheets were worse than a Motel 6. Read other reviews after and this appears to be common. Also, note that it is REALLY the Ambassador hotel. What a disaster. I refused to pay and Expedia helped me. I would not recommend this hotel to an enemy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for our meetings.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Price was very reasonable.
Because of the ice and snow I did not have to venture out as everything I needed was present.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Greeley, CO

Nice hotel close to the highway.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Staff was very nice. Nice inside and the atrium was really nice and had a player grand piano for music. Room was clean. Hotel was just bought and maintenance of rooms will be done. Vents in our room were bent but didn't effect the heating of the room. Lounge/Bar served good, fresh food. Drinks and beer was good. Breakfast was in the atrium and made fresh. Good experience all around and we will be back.
2 out of 5
by Lynda from Dallas, TX

Convenient for meetings

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: It felt secure; it was convenient to my meetings; the room was quiet; maid service was good and the coffee shop food & personnel were very good.
Cons: The issues mentioned above need to be addressed. The rooms need to be updated and cleaned up.
Location: Good central location and fairly easy to access.
The Ambassador Hotel in Amarillo is looking very "tired." This was my second stay in a 3-week period, and both rooms evidenced the same issues. The commodes barely worked (mine quit working totally during my last stay). The sink did not have a stopper, the furniture was worn looking, walls & wallpaper dirty and peeling, rubber bathtub mat was curling and peeling; no radio in the room during my first stay. The internet in the business office would not connect; therefore, I could not print out my boarding passes. The front desk personnel indicated the internet was very slow and they had been having trouble with it. The heating/AC control did not seem to respond to adjustment; however, the temperature remained comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Hotel has changed name and is in need of upgrades. Some furniture is worn but room was clean, bed was comfortable, and staff is courteous and friendly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jen from Amarillo, Tx

DON'T STAY HERE!!

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was nice. The hotel is run down and the halls stink! The room is way outdated, small and very uncomfortable. It used to be the nicest hotel in Amarillo. It's now just another run down hotel. I will never stay here again!