Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Va. Beach

An upscale Econo Lodge

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: cleanliness, comfort, price
Cons: hair dryers in the bathroom
Location: the location was near Longwood University
We found this hotel to have a clean atmosphere with granite countertops in the bathroom, in-room refrigerators and coffee makers, flat screen TV's and free internet access. All the staff whom we had contact with for our 1 night stay were very friendly and helpful. The only negative was that there was no hairdryer in the bathroom. For one night that was not a big deal. If I had known, I would have brought my own. Overall, it was a great place to stay for the price and we would recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jacfrom pennsylvania

Affordable

Posted May 30, 2014
Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews. It's not a 5 star hotel, obviously! But everyone was very nice, my only complaint is the smell of the food they were cooking everyday, in the late morning, made me sick to my stomach, and we could smell it in our room. But yes I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean. Was fine for one night stay.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Room was clean. Location was good for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near event

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Smooth check in
Location: We were in the area for a specific event and did not take part in other activities. There is, however, a real nice antique store in Amelia Court House
The best part of this stay was the pleasant, helpful nature of the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI.

I think they are having problems there, we

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Convience
Cons: Stay on top of what is going on in the Hotel.
Location: We liked the location, because we did not want to stay in Richmond. We met friends there.
We had mixed emotions about the place. There was no hair dryer there. They did not come in and make our bed the first day, We had to ask for more towels, which there was no problem getting them just didn't think we would have to ask them for it. The room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by visit familyfrom g

Visit family in farmville

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Room was ok. No cleaning maid for 4 days. Needed to ask for towels and soap....needed to tidy up all weekend especially knowing our aunt was picking us up...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but a little dated.

Posted Jul 28, 2013
There was significant language barrier with the staff. The WIFI was non-existent outside of the lobby and it was impossible to explain this to the desk staff. The rooms were only cleaned at check in and check out. My husband had to seek out towels everyday and as there were 5 of us we gave up and brought our beach towels in to use. Our room was clean but my sister checked in and her room was not yet cleaned! The plus side was it was very close to my brother's and we were in town for his wedding which was lovely! However, when my brother and his wife tried to block rooms for the wedding they refused, this was disappointing as there were about 25 of us staying there for three days......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's the only place in town

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Cons: Floors, cleaning, AC units.
Location: It is at least in a plaza with Food Lion, a sub shop, and Macdonald. Down the street (next to the gas station), is an awesome little cafe.
Okay, there are a couple bed and breakfasts in Amelia CH, but they are not available on the major booking systems. But I hear they are great. EconoLodge is okay. What makes this hotel a massive disappointment is the price tag. Outdated rooms, stains, dust spewing AC, and garbage on the floor, is completely overpriced. I would pay much less and be content that, "this is econolodge, this is what you get". But for nearly a benjamin a night in rural Virginia? Are you kidding. I am not happy with the place and will obviously never go there again. So will most people. We go there for a wedding or event and never again. I don't think there is any real incentive to provide good quality rooms at the price they charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could use a major upgrade

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: New carpets. Upgrade beds and bedding.
Location: Mario's Pizza was great.
There was a terrible smell, the carpet had stains, the television was from the 70's and the bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The tub drain wouldn't close. The complimentary breakfast was a joke. Stale cereal and old muffins.
2 out of 5
by Frankiefrom Manassas, VA, USA

Just say No!

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: the lack of attention
Location: It is only 6 miles from the venue of the wedding and the only one within 10 miles.
We were checking out the hotel because my son and his fiancee are planning a wedding in Sept. and we wanted to block rooms for the wedding guests most of who will need a place to stay since they mostly live in Northern VA where we live. First of all, the people registering us took about 15 minutes to do so because of their limited use of the English language. Next, along with the fact that they were always never available, my son't room bathroom door was missing a door know on the outside making it impossible to close the door since you would not be able to open it again. They were not able to move them to another room because they said they had not vacancies, but said they would fix it immediately. As far as I know, the door is still not fixed. I didn't want the pain of complaining to them because they didn't see to care and woudl not understand anyway. Also, the "continental" breakfast was very limited, and the coffee was only slightly warm.