Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Won't be staying here again.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendly staff, clean rooms and better breakfast arrangements.
Location: The location is great, but people either go to AMES or nearby Railway museum for activity.
The pictures that were shown at while I made my booking was quite deceptive. The rooms were cramped, the bathrooms were narrow and has no exhaust. The telephone in our room did not work. The breakfast that was included were below standard and no staff to even fill out empty juice container. The room carpet seems that it is in dire need of a steam vacuum or some serious cleaning. and there is no elevator. Lastly, there is no elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robinfrom Minneapolis

Great Stop Halfway Btwn Kansas City & Minneapolis!

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was a spontaneous overnight stop due to anticipated bad weather. I booked online very late the night before and was shocked to get such a great deal. As it turns out, there was an error in the price listing. The hotel honored the rate and the customer service was outstanding. I wasn't able to take advantage of most of the amenities, so I can't speak to the condition of the pool/whirlpool or continental breakfast. The room was very clean and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. (There's a 24-hour Walmart located next door so I was able to pick up any overnight items I needed there.) The small fridge in the room made a loud noise, but I was able to quiet it by sliding a thick piece of cardboard under one of the corners. My only criticism is that the mattress was much too firm for MY personal preference. (I have chronic lower back pain and own a Sleep Number bed, which I keep between 35 and 45 on a scale of 1-100, with 100 being maximum firmness.) I found it extremely difficult to sleep comfortably, as my hip and back pain was already aggravated due to a long drive.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family weekend

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Family weekend. Rooms were to small. Hot tub out of order. No fan in bathroom. Would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Waynefrom Kansas City, MO

Baymont Inn- Boone IA

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hot tub has not been working for three months according to staff. Only one of two pool heaters worked during our stay. Staff also sounded like this is not unusual. Pleasant people- poor maintenence.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Dec 1, 2014
I have never written a negative review, but this was a terrible experience. Housekeeper attempted to check us in, key cards hardly ever worked, broken hot tub, cold pool area, heater in room was acting up, breakfast was extremely minimal. I would not recommend this hotel. So glad when we checked out of this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Experience

Posted Nov 3, 2014
All the reason we will NOT stay at the Baymont in Boone IA again: 1. The Front desk person was not able to figure out our reservation in a timely manner. 2. The front desk person unfortunately had a runny nose and instead of excusing herself to blow her nose just sniffled and wiped it with her hand and proceeded to work on computer, paperwork and room keys. 3. Handed us rooms keys for rooms that had yet to be cleaned. 4. Breakfast area had not been cleaned and at 7:30pm, had to ask for a rag and cleaner to clean ourselves. Floor was disgustingly dirty. 5. No washcloths or linens for pull out bed. 6. Coffee maker broken, pieces left sitting on the tray. This has to be the worst hotel experience I've ever had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Thomas Kroonfrom omaha

Boone Railroad

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was alright
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The check-in process was laborious. It required significantly more time and tedium than should have been required. This wasn't because there was a long wait. It was due to the inexperience and inefficiency of the desk personnel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cherylfrom Nebraska

Necessities are taken care of...

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean & well maintained. The location was great. One of the unnecessary items that were a problem was the Breakfast room was not maintained, frequently out of coffee, food or serving supplies. Also, Internet service was very spotty and not strong enough to connect.