Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014
I booked last minute on a university graduation weekend, and was a bit apprehensive. I was pleasantly surprised. Nice accomodations, great staff, and above average breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by val from s

Good.Kids love the pool I like its only 5ft deep.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
We had some loud neighbors but the overall hotel and staff were great. Breakfast was good. Kids loved the waffles and yogurt parfaits. The carpet in the room was a little dirty but it's winter and I'm sure a lot of snow got tracked in. This is our pick to stay at in Ames.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer service. Do what you say you will do
Location: ISU football game/college
They didn't have the room available that we booked and said it was because Expedia overbooked the room. There fore we didn't have enough room for everyone in our family to sleep in a bed. I was told a manager would contact me about it and he never did. We over heard them say the same thing to another family, so really wonder what the truth is. Since it was college family weekend, they where completely booked and didn't even have a roll away bed. They gave us extra bedding to have kids sleep on the floor. The hotel was clean enough and the breakfast ok. I would not stay there again because mainly because we are not certain that they where telling the truth and the manager never called us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Chicago

Best Hotel In Ames!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The staff. Very friendly and happy.
Cons: Maybe breakfast????
Location: Never far from anything in Ames, especially in and around the campus.
The staff at the desk were So helpful. Answered all my questions and helped in any way they could. We are planning on staying there again soon. Already booked our rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie from Spokane, WA

Nice Hotel, Convenient Location

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Convenient location, price.
Cons: Hotel and rooms are a little tired looking.
Location: Close to ISU campus and convenient to the highway.
This Best Western was fine for our 2-night visit. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We had a small refrigerator, desk, and WiFi. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. It was reasonably priced for the value. We didn't get to use the pool or workout room so can't comment on those. It was very close to the campus and Green Hills Retirement Community where my parents live.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lindi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by denise from illinois

Best Western Ames is our choice!!

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We always try to choose a hotel location that offers FREE Breakfast! It saves us time and money. The price for this hotel is always competitive. Well kept, courteous staff and clean rooms. Decor and linens are up to date. Pool area is clean. Breakfast is very adequate - coffee, juice, waffles, eggs, sausage, fruit, cold cereal, yogurt. Staff allowed us to eat after breakfast hours. Very nice experience. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Near ISU

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
ISU alums who stayed one night to see the campus. Hotel was set up well for parents and a small child--there was a divider between the child's bed and ours so that we could stay up after he went to bed. Staff was friendly, and accommodations were everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel in quiet area

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Evening hotel staff at check-in very helpful and pleasant. Had a small pet with us, not a problem at all. Room in very good condition and clean.
Cons: Breakfast until later on weekends would be better. Hard to get the kids up early for breakfast on a Saturday.
Location: Easy to locate right off of State Hwy 30. Quiet and safe. Not a lot of highway traffic or trucks. Not in the middle of the University area.
Nice hotel in quiet area. It is on University but south of Iowa State and all the student activity. I have 2 young children, so perfect for a family. Further west of the I-35, Hwy 30 intersection where many hotels, motels are located. Because of this it is quieter, safer with less traffic. We have stayed several times in the other area but prefer this hotel even if it cost a little more money.