Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value and location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It was clean, my room included a small refrigerator and microwave and the free WiFi was fast. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious.
Cons: The only reason I gave the facilities a 4 was some remodeling work being done to the meeting room. Once completed, it would merit a 5.
Location: Convenient to the interstate and state highway. Only a few minutes away from ISU and many restaurants
The hotel was very pleasant, clean and had easy access to the main roads. The welcoming cookie and fruit was a nice touch and as with many Country Inns, the "living room" style foyer also added to the experience. The staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palmyra,IN

Always A Pleasure at Country Inn and Suites

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!
Cons: During our stay all bases were covered.
We received fast and courteous check-in service. Our room was spotless and well stocked. The staff was always courteous and strove to please with every request we had. Breakfast Bars were stocked and appealing. The breakfast staff was on the spot as items were needed. My daughter will be going to Iowa State and I will be staying at this wonderful hotel MANY times in the next 4 years.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom davenport Ia

Very basic.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
In need of many updates. Seemed like staff was annoyed and bothered by request. We wont stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We met some friends for a basketball game and really enjoyed the reception room and complimentary drinks after the game. It was a nice place to gather and catch up before we went out to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Debra P, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa. Warm Regards, Debra Pratt General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
This hotel is starting to show some wear and tear, especially in the common areas. Decent breakfast and kind staff. Fine for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We are in the process of updating and some renovations. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. Debra General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The free cookies and beverages in the lobby 24 hours and the 2 complimentary beverages for adults like mini "Happy Hour"
Cons: The heating/cooling unit in our room made some strange noises when it was turning on...that's about it.
Location: We were there for a college visit so didn't really do much else.
We were in Ames for a College Visit. The hotel met all our expectations. We asked the Front Desk for a recommendation for dinner and she recommended Hickory Park and WE LOVED IT! Great for a family with children of any age!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Debra, Hotel Management
Thank you for you comments! We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to Ames. Debra General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good Location, Good Price, Great Stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Keithfrom NORTHWEST IOWA

JANUARY STAY

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
WE STAYED 2 NIGHTS IN A ROW, WITH THE FIRST NIGHT BEING BOOKED THROUGH YOU. WE GOT THERE LATER EVENING AND OUR DAUGHTER & SON IN LAW ALSO HAD A ROOM. THERE WERE NO TOWELS IN THE HOT TUB AREA AND WHEN THEY ASKED THEY SAID THEY WERE IN THE LAUNDRY. THE BREAKFAST WAS OKAY WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE FRESH MIXED FRIUT THEY SERVED,NOT GOOD.THE NEXT NIGHT THE ROOM WEHAD WAS NOT VERY SOUND PROOF. YOU COULD HEAR IN THE HALLWAYS & ABOVE US EVERY STEP THEY TOOK.