Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Check under the bed! Dirty.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff at the front desk was nice.
Cons: Clean the rooms, spruce up the place. Breakfast was not worth staying for.
Location: Near ISU college.
Room was kind of dingy. Checked under the bed....bottles caps and paper. No one cleans under the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Comfortable, but needs some improvement.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Bathroom had no hook for hanging clothes while showering and no towel racks for hanging towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Musty rooms

Posted Jul 10, 2014
To begin with, my room was terribly musty smelling (even with the air conditioning on all day). And, even though we were there for three nights, never once did house keeping come to clean our room, replace our towels, or take our trash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 day stay, 2 people

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pretty good for the price. The Breakfeast is decent, and the workers were nice. They made the bed and changed the towels when we were gone. I was scared that their wasn't a bathroom because there was no pictures of one but their is one. There is no mini fridge or microwave in the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony from Avoca, IA

Two Night

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place was clean and is what it is, a place to sleep, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cyclone fan from Kansas

A good deal in Ames

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place has had a little updating and the owners and staff seem to work very hard. This is a decent deal in a very expensive town. Nothing fancy, but a good place to sleep and get on the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Angie from Shenandoah

Great service, great price

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very pleased with my stay here, and surprised by all they had to offer! There's a pool and sauna, plenty of ice and vending machines, and the breakfast had biscuits and sausage as well as waffles. The staff was very friendly, bringing up whatever I needed to my room. My only negative: I had to pay $10 for a roll away bed that couldn't even open in my room...I ended up taking the mattress of the frame and laying it on the floor. I'll bring a sleeping bag next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Chicago, IL

Good room for the price

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: It was a good price
Location: Close to Iowa State University
We just needed a no frills hotel and this was great for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In town for daughter's graduation

Posted May 15, 2014
Cons: See all comments above about condition of the room, carpets, etc
Location: The Cafe -
Right from the beginning I was apprehensive about the condition of the hotel. It seemed run down and slightly untidy. This was somewhat of a working vacation and I was unable to connect to wifi using any of my apple devices. Though the front desk staff connected me with an IT service, it was to no avail. When I finally connected using my windows laptop, the connection was slow and easily disconnected my vpn link. Bed - uncomfortable Pillows - horrible Carpeting - throughout the room, hallways and stairs - filthy Saving grace - bathroom was clean Tried to get an ironing board and iron. Got the iron but no board till the following day. First iron did not work. Check out time - the clerk accidentally gave me a copy of the receipt and I saw that by booking thru expedia I paid $75.00 more than what I would have been charged had I booked directly with the hotel. I paid $382 - bill she started to hand me was for $307. I questioned that and she quickly took the bill back and said, "you shouldn't have even seen that" No kidding, talk about rubbing salt in the wound. After not sleeping well, this was like a huge slap in the face.