Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Close to campus, comfortable rooms

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, has a restaurant and swimming pool. Quiet
Cons: Elevator could be updated.
Location: Very close to Iowa State University 1 1/2 miles away.
wanted something close to Iowa State Campus and this was only about a mile and a half away. Too far to walk. Nicer than staying at a Fairfield etc. would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cyclonatic

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Nada
Location: Ames Iowa is quickly becoming a destination. Come see...
Great Rooms, nice folks. A definite return here. Good food, nice atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OVERBOOKED???

Posted Aug 25, 2014
When we arrived tired and exhausted from a long trip from San Juan, Puerto Rico,,with a reservation ( proof of it, had all the papers printed ouf from the computer) and assuring us late arrival, we were told the hotel was OVERBOOKED , they insisted y That they knew we had a reservation but still insisted it was overbooked and we were sent to another hotel ..Never had an experience like this. We think this was completely disrespectful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for visiting ISU parents.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Enjoyed the morning buffet and liked the large parking lot. Well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Freshman trip

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The walls with ISU pictures and information about many traditions
Cons: Somewhat slow service at breakfast one morning. not too bad
Location: Blocks (3) from main campus.. nothing nicer that close!
Stayed at Gateway as part of Freshman move in process. What a nice facility! Added to our pleasant stay and move expierence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Great Location Good Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The rooms are large enough to spread out. The baths is nicely appointed
Cons: A fan in the bathroom to clear steam. More light in the hotel room doorway
Location: Very convenient to the Iowa State University.
This is my second visit to the Gateway Hotel. I did not use the spa or restaurant but the room was comfy and well appointed. A few small things that I noticed was the apparent lack to details that do not cost much to remedy but make a big difference. First of all only one elevator was working during our stay. The maintenance engineer took a guest elevator with his paint spotted cart. There were scratches on the walls by bell carts and general wear and tear that had not been retouched. Worst of all and the most egregious issue I might have was that the housekeeper and maintenance folks I passed in the halls did not great me with a good morning or hello. That doesn't cost a thing but shows poor staff training. Yes I'm picky. I am in the business and I notice things like that. Most folks wouldn't notice but simple small things like that make a good hotel great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Farm smell came through the vents on saturday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We arrived sort of late, had only to go downstairs to have an excellent meal in the Iowa Stater restaurant and bar. I noticed a small kitchen garden outside which always seems promising. The room was very comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Finished with a great breakfast. The wifi works without problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Check-in was easy and quick. The room was very nice. The caulk around the bathtub really needs to be replaced it is discolored and has some mold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by james Davis from Ames Iowa

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
i liked the hotel. However on first night the bedsheets did not appear to have been changed as my wife and i pointed out to hotel staff.