Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The housekeeping and restaurant staff was outstanding.
Cons: When you tell a client that you will report back, then REPORT BACK!
Location: Easy access to just about everything that Ames IA has to offer
Lets start by informing of what went great. The check in and amenities offered were outstanding. The hotel was centrally located and had easy access to everything I needed to accomplish. The restaurant was outstanding in every way. The room was very clean. The television did not work properly and the internet was non existent. I informed the front desk staff on two occasions and was told that they would get back with me (never happened). I was even told that I could come downstairs and use the wireless in the lobby. I chose this location based on reviews and could not believe that a facility that is part of a major educational institution would be so inept when it comes to fixing tech issues. Just getting back with me would have eased my frustration. I travel a lot with business and the internet is extremely important to me. My college alma mater was playing in the college world series and I had to drive to another establishment to watch due to television issues encountered. Definitely not a restful 3 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Pleasant Stay

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Nearly everything.
Cons: Microwave and fridge in room.
Location: Just off Hwy 30 and only a few minutes from the campus.
We were very happy with all aspects of our experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Iowa State Bound

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Nice hotel but restaurant was ok but breakfast first day was not much to care for from menu and had buffet second day and it was cold. Staff was friendly but food was below average. Will stay there again but once we know Ames a little better we will check out more local restaurants. Always like having convenience in hotel of getting a nice meal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good choice while visiting Iowa State.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location to Iowa State
Cons: The PILLOWS!
Location: Not much to do in Ames IA except visit Iowa State
Hotel is one of the better choices in Ames, IA. The beds were nice but the pillows were terrible. The room was clean, but the air conditioner was so loud it made it hard to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zion, IL

Easy access to and from Hwy, close to ISU. The Hot

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The Hotel and rooms were clean, the surrounding area was beautiful to walk around and the staff were very pleasant.
Cons: I would like to have seen a small refrigerator in the room.
Location: The best part was the easy access to and from the Hwy! We were close to ISU campus, restaurants, gas station and stores.
This was a wonderful place to stay for anyone traveling! The place was clean, had beautiful landscaping and interesting facts strewn all around about ISU! The restaurant is pricey for dinner so we chose to eat lunch there instead and the amount of food you get was a great value for the price and was terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hurst, TX

Convenient to Iowa State

Posted May 9, 2015
Friendly staff, clean room. We only stayed one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Older hotel,but updated and very easy to get to. Nice restaurant with full bar right inside. Very close to the university of you need that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Cons: Wi-Fi
WiFi was terribly slow.. They run on an unsecured network.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Stayed for business in the Executive Center, very nice big room, and fairly quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Our favorite!

Posted May 4, 2015
Beautiful and convenient to Iowa State! Nice walking paths around the hotel. Pet friendly!!! Our favorite hotel in Ames!!