Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend tournament stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Proximity
Cons: updating of some of the furniture.
Location: Many things nearby.
Easy check in, clean room, close to stores and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We had a nice big room with two comfortable beds. Having a laundry in the hotel was very convenient for long term travelers like us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Great staff, clean, pool open from 6am-midnight and decent breakfast. Good for families trying to save a buck!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Manhattan KS

Best Hotel for Quality and Value in Ames

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Suite like but not so large that I paid for space I didn't use.
Cons: Pastry quality for breakfast was typical, but upgrading it would be noticeable and welcome.
Location: Superb on Duff Avenue for all kinds of entertainment and services; centrally located for access to ISU and Ames overall.
Over the past three years I have stayed in Ames occasionally for visits to friends and for work at ISU. This location and value are really high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great stop on our trip!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
We had a great time there! The room was nice, clean & roomy for our family of 3. The pool was small, but nice. They have lifts to assist persons that need assistance to get in & out. Breakfast included sausage, waffles, pancakes & French toast. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is attached to an Old Chicago, which we enjoyed. We will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kimberly from MIlan, IL

Nice!

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice stay. The walls are a little thin, but it wasn't a big issue for me. It was great for a relaxing night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable room at a good rate!

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive to my needs. The continental breakfast was delicious and featured a wide variety of items to choose from. The neighborhood was safe and well lit at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krista from Fulton

One night stay

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
I would have preferred two beds or a king size bed. It was spacious, but not for four people. The bathroom shower was awkward and I ended up flooding the floor with water from the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Jean, Hotel Management
Krista, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at GrandStay Ames. All of our rooms are furnished with either one or two queen-sized beds, and couch that converts into a full-size bed. With four people, you may have been more comfortable in a two bedroom suite or a two bed studio. Please request that the next time you make your reservation and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs. I appreciate that you let us know there is a problem with the shower -- we will have that remedied so the next guests do not have the same experience with a flooded floor. We sincerely hope you will choose GrandStay again the next time your travels bring you to Ames, IA