Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too expensive . No amenities

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: kerig
Cons: include breakfast with cost of room
Location: Not much to do near by
Breakfast cost was extra. Room was ok, but nothing special for the cost of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ames,Iowa

friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2015
very friendly experience. clean and comfortable place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago IL

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Gave us great recommendations for places around town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Dani, Thank you for the 5-star review. We're happy our staff was able to help you find some great places to go around Ames. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha Ne

Worst bed I have ever slept on.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: hot tub clean, towels available
Nice and clean, but worst bed I ever slept on. My family as a whole could not sleep on the beds. Disorganized front lobby. Couldn't tell where the lobby ended and the restaraunt started. Breakfast too expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that our adjustable beds did not suit your family's needs. We hope you took the time to speak to our management team on how to get the best rest possible on them. We hope that you will reconsider and visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

college student visit

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Convenience.
We love this hotel. But most of the time it's booked or very expensive compared to other hotels in town. Stayed over Sunday and Monday. Place was nice as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Mauri, Thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate your wonderful comments. I apologize that you were dissatisfied with the rate. We hope to have you as a guest again soon. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom apple valley, mn

Relaxing couple of nights

Posted Feb 13, 2015
I was impressed. Coffee and water selections in the lobby was very convenient and nice. It snowed several inches during our stay and a staff member watched for when guests would leave and would then shovel us out of the parking lot space. Very helpful on a day when it just wouldn't stop snowing! Comfortable room, overall a worry free and relaxing two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, regardless of the large amount of snow we received. We're happy our staff was able to help shovel you out! We hope to see you again soon, hopefully there will be less snow! Thanks, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 4-star review! We hope to have you as a guest again soon! Thanks, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

It was a nice hotel and close to downtown Ames.

Posted Feb 7, 2015
My wife and I had a very welcoming and nice stay. The hotel and our room really clean and the staff was wxtrey pleasant and nice. I will be staying again next time I am in Ames.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit! Thanks, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Madison WI

visiting Ames

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Room was really big and comfortable
Location: Iowa State is a really nice school
Great room really friendly staff!! Highly recommend this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you Matthew for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your room and our staff! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quad Cities

Great hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The room was nice and big, the temperature controlled digitally which is nice. Bed was cozy and they have 4 pillows on the king size soft and hard which is perfect comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you Gabi for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfy variety of pillows. We hope to have you as a guest again very soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager