Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Great staff. Terrible beds. They HAVE to be replaced. Totally worn out mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize you had a poor experience with our beds. I'm not sure if our staff made you aware but our beds are all adjustable. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff. We hope you give us another change in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not what you would expect from Hilton.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: It is a beautiful building that is in desperate need of repairs. Carpet was nasty, scratched and dings in the halls throughout the building.
Cons: most everything could be improved.
Location: not much on a weekend.
The carpet in our room was badly stained. My daughter keep teasing me that someone was probably killed there. The restaurant and bar were very disappointing. Only had a handful of items on the menu, and the bar was simply 4 stools next to the check in counter. I was looking for a weekend of not having to leave the hotel, but I was mistaken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay. This is certainly not our standard and I hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very nice- clean - quiet and relaxing . Would recommend to everyone to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Hi Jen! Thank you for the great review and for the recommendation! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Business stay. Hotel was quiet, clean and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're happy you enjoyed our hotel while on business travel. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keystone, IA

Business Stay in Ames

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Just off the highway, not far from campus/downtown, and nice, quiet location.
Cons: Beds are just "okay" but the shower heads could be classed up a bit.
Location: 8 minutes from campus, 10 minutes from Duff (lots of shopping and restaurants, and right off highway.
Stayed in town for a business trip. Most of my time was spent on the Iowa State campus, which is about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel, depending on traffic. The hotel is right off the highway so access to a main road was nice. The hotel was clean and simple. It seemed to be fairly busy, but it was quiet at all times of the day/night. The only complaints I have is the bed and the shower. I have stayed in different Hilton Garden Inns before and they all have the beds with the adjustable softness/firmness. I know everyone likes their mattresses a certain way so I understand the appeal, but the bed is never soft enough for my liking. Not a big deal though. The shower head needs replacing/fixing. The shower head is a cheap looking replacement head. Yes, it has several settings, but it just looked cheap to me. Also, when I adjusted the setting the entire thing would move side-to-side. The pipe is not really secured properly so I thought I was going to break something.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Hi Tyler! Thank you for the 4-star review. I apologize that you are not a fan of the Hilton Garden Inn adjustable beds. I also apologize for the issue with the shower head. I hope you reported it, as if there is an issue, we appreciate the opportunity to correct it for you and make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Hotel room was clean and the staff were friendly. Great place to stay; above expectations!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review. We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too expensive . No amenities

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: kerig
Cons: include breakfast with cost of room
Location: Not much to do near by
Breakfast cost was extra. Room was ok, but nothing special for the cost of the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
I apologize that you felt there was no value in your stay. We have an onsite restaurant for breakfast and dinner, a pool, whirlpool, fitness center, onsite guest laundry, and more! I apologize if you felt there were no amenities that made our hotel stand out. We hope you give us another chance to wow you in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames,Iowa

friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2015
very friendly experience. clean and comfortable place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Diane, Thanks for the 5-star review. We're happy you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nancy from Faribault MN

Upscale service

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk staff were very professional and courteous. All staff greeted us while in hallways, elevators which felt like many upscale hotels I have stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Nancy, Thank you for the great review. We strive to have the friendliest team in town! I'm glad you found our team to be great. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rebecca from Minneapolis

Lovely hotel. will stay again

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
this is a beautiful hotel. The room was great. Bed was a little firm for my taste, but I slept fine. Service was superb. bathroom was very clean. coffee was great. Easy to get to.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Rebecca, Thank you for the 5-star rating! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you didn't find the bed to be as comfortable as you'd have liked. I hope our staff made you aware that they are actually adjustable! We hope to have you as a guest again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager