Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Madison WI

visiting Ames

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Room was really big and comfortable
Location: Iowa State is a really nice school
Great room really friendly staff!! Highly recommend this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you Matthew for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your room and our staff! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quad Cities

Great hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The room was nice and big, the temperature controlled digitally which is nice. Bed was cozy and they have 4 pillows on the king size soft and hard which is perfect comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you Gabi for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfy variety of pillows. We hope to have you as a guest again very soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Overall nice stay. Very nice staff! Bed was supposed to be adjustable but was not and was hard. Not comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4-star review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Each bed is adjustable in our hotel, and I apologize if you were unable to locate the dial. It does take about 15 minutes to adjust to the firmness it is set at. We hope to have you as a guest again so we can show you a 5-star experience. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The help was extremely friendly and helpful
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stay at this hotel when we are visiting our daughter at Iowa State University.
This is my favorite hotel in Ames. It is always clean and the help is very friendly. They have coffee, tea, water, and hot cocoa available in the lobby plus you have a Keurig in your room. I also like having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The hotel has a restaurant and bar that is nice as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to be your favorite! We strive to provide excellent service to earn our guests trust and loyalty. I am happy that we have become your go-to hotel in Ames. We look forward to having you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Convenient

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Continental breakfast would be nice included in the price of room
Another visit to Ames to see family. the Hilton Gardens is clean and conveniently located. I did notice the carpets in the room are showing wear and need to be freshened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College Visit

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Rooms okay , a bit expensive for Ames,Iowa ... $109.00- $129.00 would be a good price, not $149.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review. Our rates vary day to day, and the further in advance you book the lower the rate! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicagoland

Great location in Ames, IA

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. The employees were all very helpful.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was not included with the room price.
Was here visiting my son who attends Iowa State University. The hotel is in a location that has easy access to everything in Ames, yet right off highway 30.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We look forward to having you as a guest again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good looking hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room nice staff was friendly Did not use the pool or resturant
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to see you found the room nice and staff friendly. We hope to have you as a guest again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AllisonMfrom Topeka, KS

Perfect simple getaway

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Modern, clean, no concerns, and this is coming from a picky person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you Allison for the wonderful review! We are happy that we made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you as a guest again! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by tim florerfrom ames

tim

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
great, no toilet paper refill- and low the whole time, otherwise clean hotel, modern
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review, despite our downfall in replacing toilet paper. I have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper for them to look into and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to have you as a guest again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager