Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The help was extremely friendly and helpful
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stay at this hotel when we are visiting our daughter at Iowa State University.
This is my favorite hotel in Ames. It is always clean and the help is very friendly. They have coffee, tea, water, and hot cocoa available in the lobby plus you have a Keurig in your room. I also like having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The hotel has a restaurant and bar that is nice as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to be your favorite! We strive to provide excellent service to earn our guests trust and loyalty. I am happy that we have become your go-to hotel in Ames. We look forward to having you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Convenient

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Continental breakfast would be nice included in the price of room
Another visit to Ames to see family. the Hilton Gardens is clean and conveniently located. I did notice the carpets in the room are showing wear and need to be freshened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College Visit

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Rooms okay , a bit expensive for Ames,Iowa ... $109.00- $129.00 would be a good price, not $149.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review. Our rates vary day to day, and the further in advance you book the lower the rate! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicagoland

Great location in Ames, IA

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. The employees were all very helpful.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was not included with the room price.
Was here visiting my son who attends Iowa State University. The hotel is in a location that has easy access to everything in Ames, yet right off highway 30.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We look forward to having you as a guest again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Excellent experience

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I had an excellent experience at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ames. The hotel is relatively close to town, just a few miles west. The hotel was very nice, and looked almost new. The room was very nice and clean. I have not one negative word, and one comment: it would be nice if breakfast was included with the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mitch, for the 5-star review. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast. Hilton Garden Inn is able to offer lower rates by not bundling in breakfast with the room. Those who wish to have breakfast can, but those who do not don't have to pay the extra amount. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

nothing like any other hilton

Posted Sep 22, 2014
room not same as advertised does not have seperate living room also was dirty.ice cream in fridge,kleenex's in chair,popcorn in bed,carpet not vacumed,dirty coffee cup. i complained and took cup to front desk they really took care of me i got a free bottle of water from their pantry!!! yes!! no i will not stay again i visit family in area twice a year ill never stay there again. the help didnt even seem to care like it happens all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. We sincerely apologize that we fell short. You booked a two queen bedroom, which does not have a living room space. Our King Junior suites and Deluxe Suites do have a living room area. We appreciate your feedback and this was discussed with our housekeeping manager to prevent this from occurring again. We do hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Supernationals stay

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: I liked the room I had and the location of the hotel. Was there for supernationals in Boone and it was right off the highway.
Cons: Notify guests of the adjustments of the beds either at check in or have a sign on the bed with directions. Lower price of breakfast buffet or free.
I enjoyed the hotel while I was there. The room was very nice and spacious. The hotel staff were very nice. The only complaints I have is the bed was as hard as a rock and at checkout I find out you could adjust the bed to whatever firmness or softness you wanted. Would have been nice to have been told that at check in or at least have a sign on the bed with directions. The other complaint is having to pay almost $11 for breakfast that you get free at most hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We're sorry you missed the sign on the front desk about our GSS mattress system. Your comments regarding the adjustable bed have prompted us to re-issue signs for every bedside table to avoid this issue for future guests (of which we hope you'll be one). We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Terry Jfrom Plymouth, mn

Ames Hilton

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was dirty- dust and cobwebs on ceiling the mirrors looked like they hadn't been cleaned. Waited along time to have some one wait on us at breafast our waitress was talking to a table for over 15 minutes. Also bar was out of many types of liquor and bar tender seemed not to know much about making drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star rating of your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that is was not a perfect 5 stars. We appreciate the detailed information you've given us. It will be shared at our next staff meeting to ensure that these issues do not arise again. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to "WOW" you on your next visit to Ames.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I reserved a room with 2 Queens, when I arrived they had me in 1 king. I was traveling with my 19 yo son, so wasn't that big of a deal, but to offset my displeasure, the receptionist gave us 2 free breakfast buffets. That was very nice and we appreciated it, as they didn't have to. Excellent service all together and nice people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 4 star rating of your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Ames. We always love to hear when our staff provides great service. We look forward to getting you into your correct room and earning that 5 star rating on your next trip to Ames. Do follow us on Facebook (AmesHGI) and Twitter (@hgiames) - we've got some great specials and promotions coming soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anthony

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by HGIAmes, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review! We hope to see you again.