Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Very nice surprise

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Driving through Iowa on our way home from Canada fishing trip. Nice comfy good clean nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Started out good but...

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Hotel maintenance.
When we first entered our room we were impressed. Room was clean and smelled really nice. Sleeping is where it went down hill, it is a hotel after all, a place to sleep. My main issue was with the air conditioner. It is in bad need of maintenance. The thermostat was way off and some of the functions did not work. At times it became so loud that it sounded like a jet engine only to shut off completely and plunge us into silence. I like it cool while I sleep and it never was very cool even though the outside temperature was not hot. Not a peaceful night sleep. It was late, we unloaded all our stuff and we were really tired or would have asked to change rooms. A few other details I could nit-pick about are the attention to detail in the bathroom, like tile needing replacement and new grout, terrible patchwork on the wallpaper. Obviously those are not deal-breakers since it was otherwise clean. I forgot to tell the front desk about the air in the morning so hopefully no one else has been in the room yet, poor souls. Breakfast was decent. Overall this rating would have been much more positive had I slept. It was well past 2:00am before my body gave out and eventually went to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a quiet and very nice place to stay.
2 out of 5
by Pat

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Location to which I need to be close too
Cons: Cleaner rooms, update rooms, provide better housekeeping cleaniness
Room in need of updating and repairs. Tiles missing from Bathroom walls, cracks in tiles, room smelled of moldy odor. Wallpaper coming off walls in Bathroom. Windows dirty, along with winddow sills. Curtains dirty and torn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Comfort!!

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel - great bed and pillows, WONDERFUL breakfast. Only complaint was that even though we booked a non-smoking room, the room smelled very smokey. It wasn't a deal breaker for me, but if I (or anyone with me) had bad allergies to smoke, it would have been a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary O. from Chicago

Would definitely stay here again.

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were just staying for one night, and this hotel was an unexpected surprise. The location was terrific, service was lovely, room was clean. The next time we are in Ames, this will be our first choice in hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vicki from Iowa

Very comfortable with lots of extras

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Comfy beds
Cons: Breakfast could have some fresh items like eggs and bacon.
Location: Near the interstate. We stayed here because of an activity at the university. It was about a 15 minute drive to the campus. Visit Reiman gardens.
Our room was very nice with comfortable bed, microwave, coffee pot and small fridge. There was even a roll of paper towel. The room was a nice size and quiet for sleeping. It was full the night we stayed and I didn't hear anything. Everything was clean and the staff was nice. There was a breakfast included which was mediocre. Everything was processed and prepared somewhere else and heated up except for the pancake machine. Since this is the only downside I am giving this an excellent rating as everything else made up for the breakfast. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Location: There weren't any places to eat that I could go to a drive thru. It would have been nice to have direction on how to get to some restaurants.
I like that it was easy to find off the intrastate. Clean and quiet.