Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great inn right on the edge of Iowa State campus

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The Iowa House was wonderful--quiet, friendly & helpful front desk, beautiful rooms with excellent beds, and lots of unique furniture. Jacuzzi in the tub! Delicious big breakfast. I would come again any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Will definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ron from sacramento

Great Stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Add elevator
Super location and great breakfast. Great opportunity to visit with others. Only drawback was no elevator and we were on 3rd floor.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Madison

Disappointing

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The inn is a large B&B. It is very quiet in a suburban area close to IA State U. It is not always easy to find staff and there was no effort to help the guest feel welcome. My room was in the basement. It was quiet and quite well decorated - at first glance. But it smelled of smoke and mold and had some damp damage. I personally did not find the bed/pillows comfortable. The breakfast was so-so - more similar to a motel than a traditional B&B. Again, the service was minimalistic. Overall, it is not terrible, but I had hoped for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig N from Iowa

ISU Visit

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice B&B. The morning breakfast made to order was fantastic.....best part of the stay. Room was comfortable but small. Didn't like the vanity sink being next to the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flash from MN

Room 303

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Proximity to downtown
Cons: Electronic locks
Location: This is on the west edge of campus, so there are tons of things to do nearby.
Nice place, but the loft is only a bed and a TV. You don't need it if there are just 2 of you staying there unless you don't like each other very much. Check-in and out was super easy, the breakfast they serve was pretty tasty, and the house itself is super cool. If it isn't booked they leave the doors open to the vacant rooms, each of which has unique furnishings which is pretty neat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim from Washington, DC

Convenient, quaint, and quiet

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Iowa House is a nice place to stay for anything that would bring you to Ames. The rooms were small, but clean and nicely-furnished. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal for alumni -- just a few blocks from campus and only a block from Welch Avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adam T from Ventura, CA

Great inn, OK hotel.

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were great, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location was very convenient for my convention at ISU. The neighborhood is typical college town: cheap eats, bars, lots of students (there's a frat or sorority a few houses down). I was a little apprehensive, but there were no noise issues during my stay. Some typical hotel amenities are missing--no room safe, no do not disturb sign, you have to ask for an iron--but the friendly attitudes, delicious complimentary breakfast, and great rate more than made up for these things in my eyes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from River Falls, WI

Awesome

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I wasn't able to figure out how to run the shower so I took a bath instead. Maybe a nice sign for people like me? :)
Location: Perfect for staying while visiting students at ISU.
We were fortunate that there was 1 room available to stay here while we were in Ames. We will be staying here again in th future. It was lovely!